host2 www.parkslopeparents.com
serv2 www.parkslopeparents.com

South Slope Pediatrics

https://www.parkslopeparents.com/media/com_jbusinessdirectory/pictures/companies/6324/1386648146_logo_DrCao-Southslopepediatrics.jpeg
South Slope Pediatrics

Description

We don't have a description for this business. If this is your business and you'd like to find out how to improve this page, please get in touch.

Reviews (140)

  • Tween/teen Pediatrician recommendation?

    As a practice, I cannot recommend South Slope Pediatrics enough. Not sure if that will work for you location-wise, but the practice is top-to-bottom excellent.
  • Pediatrician Recommendation?

    We ended up at South Slope Pediatrics which is not close, but our experience there has been so much better. Our original SSP doctor is now with a new office of Juno Medical on 4th Ave.
  • local pediatrican that takes GHI/Emblem

    South Slope Pediatrics takes GHI (city insurance). They’re on 5th Ave and 12th street (give or take a block). Office staff is amazing!
  • South Slope Pediatrics Review

    My husband and I had an absolutely horrible experience with Dr. Cao. Not only was he and his office manager consistently rushed and dismissive with us, but he consistently blamed us and his staff for everything that went wrong. At one point our son's health was nearly compromised by these interactions.
  • LGBTQIA-friendly/knowledgeable pediatrician recommendations

    South Slope Pediatrics!!! Adore them for many reasons, but it’s very maturely ran by a husband/husband team and I think they might be exactly what you’re looking for.
  • Finding a Pediatrician?

    We are a South Slope Pediatrics family at the suggestion of friends in the neighborhood. For us in KWT is requires a short drive but the practice is well-organized and doctors have been good. Lots of familiar faces on staff.
  • Pediatrician and pediatric dentist recs

    We live in south slope. All these years, we highly recommend South Slope Pediatrics (Dr. Cao, and sometimes other practitioners there are all very good).
  • Pediatrician and pediatric dentist recs

    We go to South Slope Pediatrics and really love it (so much that we trek there from Bed Stuy!). We primarily see Dr. Cao, but have seen the other doctors as well multiple times and they’re all wonderful.
  • Pediatrician recommendations

    We have been very happy with South Slope Pediatrics. They are on 5th Ave and 12th St. We love their warm, thoughtful, and inclusive approach. They will do a virtual meet and greet with you which I found very helpful.
  • Opinions on the new docs at South Slope Pediatrics?

    Our daughter (2 years old) was also a patient of Dr. Cooenhaver’s and we were bummed because we liked her as well. We have seen Dr. Aurigemma twice now though and he’s great! Very personable, sat next to my daughter on the table and she really liked that. Straight forward and obviously knowledgeable, etc. I’d recommend him!
  • Opinions on the new docs at South Slope Pediatrics?

    My teenage son has been a patient of Dr. Cao since he was born in 2005. I always try to schedule his annual physical with him but I waited too long this year and Dr. Cao was booked. He saw Dr. Kaeya Choksey instead and she was caring and thorough. She engaged with my son and we didn't feel rushed. He said that he liked her and felt comfortable with her. I think Dr. Cao & Matteo invest a lot of time in finding staff who fit into their culture, so hopefully no one has had a bad experience there. And Nurse Taima was there, too. I think she will be at SSP for the duration!
  • Opinions on the new docs at South Slope Pediatrics?

    Actually just got home from our 1-year appointment with Dr. Kaeya Choksey -- she's great. Friendly, informative, doesn't rush through visit, and is thorough. We happen to have also had a telehealth appointment with Dr. Aurigemma last week, and he was lovely too. So, both wonderful as far as I can tell!
  • Pediatrician recommendation?

    Recommended without full review
  • Pediatrician Rec

    Another recommendation for South Slope Pediatrics. We switched from Tribeca on Cortelyou in February of 2020 and have been thrilled with that decision. They have been wonderful with our 3 year old and our new baby! We have seen Dr. Cao and Dr. Aurigemma and really like both. Our 3 year old (who can often be hesitant with new people and changes) left her first appointment with Dr. Aurigemma singing his praises and asking if she could see him the next time she was sick. Haven’t seen the other new doctor but I am sure she is lovely as well.
  • Doctor Recommendations

    My wife and I are big fans of South Slope Pediatrics, particularly Dr. Cao. Our daughter is 15 months and has been seeing Dr. Cao since she was born a preemie. He is very kind, knowledgeable and up to speed on the latest COVID guidance. Their front office staff is also very welcoming and responsive.
  • Doctor Recommendations

    I love South Slope pediatrics.
  • Doctor Recommendations

    We love Dr. Acosta at South Slope but just FYI we've been told she's leaving the practice this month! They are currently experiencing some doctor turnover, it seems. Still love the practice as a whole, though.
  • Doctor Recommendations

    We've had a really good experience with Dr. Acosta at South Slope Pediatrics. They've been really responsive and great.
  • 2 year blood test recos?

    We use South Slope Pediatrics, and they gave us the option to go out for bloodwork or to pay $50 and have them do a thumb prick in the office with immediate results. I opted for the thumb prick and it was so quick and easy. I’m not sure if they would do it for kids who aren’t patients there, but maybe other offices have that option too if you ask?
  • Looking for pediatrician knowledgeable abut gender identity

    I'm going to second the recommendation for South Slope Pediatrics. I'm not sure how knowledgeable they are about such issues but they are very supportive and accepting of all identities. I would suggest staring with Dr. Cao, the lead physician there, and talking to them. My kid is gender fluid, and although we've had no specific questions come up about their gender identity, the practice was quick to accept their pronoun choice of "they".
  • Looking for pediatrician knowledgeable abut gender identity

    I don't personally have experience with a gender-expansive kid so I'm not speaking from experience. However, our pediatrician's office is very outspokenly lgbtq-friendly and may therefore be a good place to look into. It's south slope pediatrics. They have a good website but also an instagram account if you want to check it out. They also require meet and greets before accepting new patients so you would get a chance to meet the doctors before committing!
  • ISO Primary Care Physicians in Park Slope

    We recently moved to Park Slope and started using South Slope Pediatrics at the recommendation of the family who were moving out of our unit. We've been super happy there - they seem warm and lovely and responsive, and it's been easy to get appointments (at least easier than our pediatrician on the UES, who took months to find an open slot with). We got a chance to meet all the pediatricians and they seemed lovely - we went with Dr. Cao and had a great first appointment experience. Two things to note: first, they have you interview before you're admitted to be patients at the practice. We didn't know what to expect here, but basically they give you a lot of space to meet all the doctors and ask questions (we didn't really have any, honestly, and they seemed fine with that, but I did get the sense that other parents ask more things...). They also used this time to convey practice rules and make sure we were on board with getting our kid his vaccines on the recommended schedule, which works for us as we very much want all the vaccines. They do seem very strict about the vaccine schedule, so if you're hoping for flexibility this might not be the practice for your family. Second, they asked for full medical history with notes, which was difficult to get from our old pediatrician. South Slope can't be blamed for this, of course, but something to be prepared for - we were allowed to join the practice, but then couldn't book anything until those records came through.
  • Pediatrician

    I would highly recommend South Slope Pediatrics. They are wonderful!!
  • Any recommendations for a good pediatrician in South Park Slope?

    South Slope Pediatrics, again. It's a beautiful office. Their doctors are excellent and their staff always friendly. They seem to have great Covid precautions too.
  • Any recommendations for a good pediatrician in South Park Slope?

    Ditto!! We have been seeing Dr Cao for more than 5 years and he and the practice are wonderful!!
  • Any recommendations for a good pediatrician in South Park Slope?

    We absolutely love South slope Pediatrics! Everyone there is so warm and welcoming. We have Dr. Copenhaver , Dr. Acosta and Dr. Cao and they have all been wonderful and helpful.
  • Any recommendations for a good pediatrician in South Park Slope?

    Re: South Slope Pediatrics -- we actually had a very negative experience with Dr. Cao when our son was a newborn. We found him to be rushed and abbreviated, and he gave us hasty and partial information and recommendations. Perhaps he's better for older kids. That said, I've heard good things about the other doctors in the practice.
  • Any recommendations for a good pediatrician in South Park Slope?

    South slope pediatrics! We’ve been with them since my son was 4 and even though our beloved Dr Wilson-Taylor left the practice, we’re still very pleased with the care and attention kiddo gets.
  • Any recommendations for a good pediatrician in South Park Slope?

    We are big fans of South Slope Pediatrics. Dr Cao has built an amazing practice with absolutely wonderful doctors, nurses and support staff. We see Dr Copenhaver and LOVE her.
  • Pediatrician recs please!

    We had a quite negative experience with South Slope Pediatrics with our then-newborn, with one of the doctors, and have spoken to another family who did as well, in similar ways. Happy to discuss if it would be helpful for anyone to hear a different experience.
  • Pediatrician recs please!

    South Slope Pediatrics is a wonderful place, if you are anywhere near South Slope/5th Avenue. Everyone there is so friendly and nice!
  • Pediatricians

    We've been at South Slope Pediatrics for three years since bringing home our 32 weeker in 2017. We've been happy with all the doctors there but especially Dr. Copenhaver and Dr. Cao.
  • Pediatricians

    We do South Slope and are happy with it!!
  • 2020 Review

    We have two boys under 5 years old, and both are at South Slope Pediatrics. We could not be happier with this doctor's office and strongly recommend it to others. We chose this office because we felt it was able to provide a really high level of care while keeping a small town feel. The staff clearly enjoy working together and are organized and responsive, especially with school forms. Both of our kids see Dr Wilson Taylor, whose calm, unhurried demeanor has always worked for us. She's been great about responding to phone calls as well as messages via the portal. We've had our share of emergency after hours calls as well, and the doctors have always been reassuring and informative, taking the time to explain things and answer questions. We have friends who love Dr Cao, and we've seen Dr Copenhaver on occasion and loved her as well. Could not recommend highly enough.
  • Pediatrician In Park Slope Recommendations

    South Slope Pediatrics on 5th Ave at 12th St is a great group practice. Dr Copenhaver is terrific but will be on maternity leave for a few months. We've also seen Dr Wilson Taylor who is wonderful. You can't go wrong.
  • Pediatrician?

    We go to South Slope Pediatrics and LOVE them! We happen to have Melanie Wilson-Taylor as our go-to and we are very happy with her. For sick visits you can be placed with any of the doctors (Cao or Copenhaver - and I believe they have added a 4th who we haven’t been with yet) - they are all excellent. They are located on 5th ave betw 12 and 13th. They aren’t super laid back about referrals to specialists and will advise you if you need follow up testing rather than taking a wait and see approach. I like that they are on top of development and err on the side of caution by ruling out with any testing. To my understanding through clients that I have they have gotten a fair amount of transfers from other practices, and I don’t know where it currently stands with them accepting new transfers. I have heard they are slowing down with that but I haven’t asked directly. They do not allow any flexibility with the vaccine schedule and will not take you on if that is something you wish to push for. It was more worth it to us to be with them than go somewhere else to delay vaccines as we preferred the practice. We have been with them since our first newborn visit with our first child. (September 2019)
  • Pediatricians

    I also use South Slope for my 2-year-old and think it's a great practice. Highly recommend. Congrats to all the new parents out there!
  • Pediatricians

    I use south slope and love them. I have nothing but good things to say. I have also never had to wait very long. If you have specific questions let me know. (November 2019)
  • Pediatricians

    We just had a meet and greet with South Slope Pediatrics yesterday and found them to be great. I was going to meet with a few others in the area but a pediatrician friend who used to live in Park Slope highly recommended SSP so we are going with them! (November 2019)
  • Pediatrician Recommendation in Windsor Terrace/South Park Slope?

    I’ll second South Slope Pediatrics! Both my kids see Dr Wilson Taylor, but we also love Dr Cao and Dr Copenhaver. The office is bright and cheerful, and the staff are clearly a strong team with a great helpful vibe. Could not be happier!
  • Pediatrician Recommendation in Windsor Terrace/South Park Slope?

    Love everyone at South Slope Pediatrics esp Dr Cao. Our kids end up seeing all 3 of them and they're all great
  • Vegan Friendly Pediatrician

    We go to South Slope Pediatrics since my son was born and we never had any issues with his veganism. The doctors there acknowledge it and make no specific comments about it. It is accepted as is.
  • Vegan Friendly Pediatrician

    We love Dr Cao at South Slope Pediatrics. We've been with him over ten years. Our whole family (three kids) are vegetarian and he's never batted an eyelash at it. He may just recommend a vitamin supplement, but I think a lot of doctors will recommend for most kids in general, especially during the "picky eating phases." But I will admit, I've gotten lazy with my third and haven't given her a vitamin supplement regularly and her one-year blood test came back with perfect iron levels. The practice is extremely well run with a friendly, knowledgeable staff. You can private message me if you have any more specific questions. I think you will find that most doctors in the area will not have a problem or concern with raising a vegan or vegetarian child.
  • Vegan Friendly Pediatrician

    We see Dr. Cao and Dr. Wilson-Taylor at SSP, and they've never had an issue with my vegetarian 1 year old. And in general...we love the practice and would recommend them to anyone!
  • Vegan Friendly Pediatrician

    I second Dr. Cao (for this and many other reasons)! We didn't ask beforehand when we toured about being vegan but when we started talking solids at 6 months he mentioned it and was like "good for you".
  • Vegan Friendly Pediatrician

    I second Dr Cao at South Slope Pediatrics. I can't remember the context, but he suggested soy milk, has never brought up cow milk. And he doesn't know we are (mostly) vegetarian.
  • vegan Friendly Pediatrician

    I totally agree about South Slope Pediatrics!! They're very hands-off about parenting choices in general. And they're vegetarian-friendly at least--I had heard stories from other parents about being encouraged to infoduce meat after the one-year iron test, so I was really hoping my child's levels would be fine. I was visibly relieved when I got the (excellent!) results, and Dr. Cao was like, "What were you so worried about? She eats beans, doesn't she?" ??
  • Vegan Friendly Pediatrician

    This has been a non issue for us (mostly vegetarian). In general, I have found south slope pediatrics to be non intrusive about parenting choices. I like Dr. Wilson-Taylor. so many kids have allergies and sensitivities these days that peds should be able to advise on balancing a diet that's not omnivorous...until your toddler decides that she eats only bananas and rice and there's not much to discuss.
  • Pediatrician

    Another shout out to Dr. Copenhaver at SSP! She's really had our backs through some rough times!
  • Pediatrician

    We’ve been incredibly happy with Dr. Copenhaver at South Slope Pediatrics. It would not be an exaggeration to say that her input and guidance have been essential to us. She helped me figure out breastfeeding when I couldn’t get my baby to latch during his first week. She encouraged me to get a second opinion from a specialist after I had a bad gut feeling about the first one, which led to a diagnosis that would have been missed. This level of support brings me such peace of mind in their care.
  • Pediatrician

    am in love with the team at South Slope pediatrics. They are professional, timely, and kind. As a ftm I have really felt supported and “in the know” (as much as you can be) while working with them. They also do meet and greets so you can meet their three drs before choosing one that will stay with you and your kiddo. Can’t speak highly enough about them!
  • Pediatrician Recommendations - South Slope

    We have also seen Dr. Cao for 13 years and highly recommend him and anyone in his practice.
  • Pediatrician Recommendations - South Slope

    We were between the two as well when we were expecting our son. We ultimately chose South Slope Pediatrics because it felt so warm and welcoming. I like that one of the doctors is always on call at night and on the weekends. Our son has chronic respiratory issues and I feel comforted knowing all three doctors are well informed with his case. They've also been supportive when we've wanted to see specialists and have helped us find the right ones. They've even pushed us to get second opinions when they felt we weren't getting the right guidance from a specialist. They've been a rock in our storm these past 3 years!
  • Pediatrician Recommendations - South Slope

    Also can’t recommend South Slope Pediatrics enough. We’ve seen both Dr Cao and Dr Copenhaver and they’re both great. You can set up a new patient tour with them. When we did it Dr Cao sat with us and answered every question we had, and there were quite a lot of them. We’ve made it through a full year with our son in full time daycare now and every time anything happened that we needed to see a doctor for (which was frequently that first winter around all those little germ vectors), they got us in within 24 hours, usually the same day. They have always been patient with our questions and very helpful for us as first time parents and also not alarmist about anything. They do not negotiate about vaccine schedules though, if that’s a thing for you.
  • Pediatrician Recommendations - South Slope

    I cannot recommend South Slope Pediatrics highly enough! They are wonderful. We've been seeing Dr. Cao for 13 years, since our son was born, and he has been incredibly helpful and effective with all my sons health needs. He's also super nice and great with kids. We've also seen many other doctors, nurses, etc when coming in for sick visits and all have been terrific. They are very organized and you don't have to wait long.
  • Pediatrician advice

    We love South Slope Pediatrics! Dr. Wilson-Taylor is our sons' doc and she's wonderful. Also all of the nurses and administrative staff are amazing. They run it really smoothly. We've had to see other docs there on 2 occasions when we had "emergencies" and they were both incredibly positive experiences. I absolutely cannot recommend them enthusiastically enough!
  • 2018 Review

    We see Dr. Cao as our primary, but have seen the other two doctors for sick visits. I honestly would not be able to pick a favorite amongst them. They are wonderful and fantastic with children. They take the time to answer questions and the office is well run. Wait times are literally only minutes if there is a wait at all.
  • 2018 Review

    Dr Wilson Taylor at South Slope Pediatrics was super helpful with my daughter's reflux, which showed up just a few days after she was born. The reflux lasted until my daughter was 6 months old, but we were able to manage it through my own diet with Dr Wilson Taylor's support!
  • 2018 Review

    We love South Slope Pediatrics. Dr. Copenhaver is our PCP, but we have also seen Drs. Cao & Wilson-Taylor. They are knowledgeable and put you at ease with all the first-time parenting worries that we have. Highly recommended.
  • 2018 Review

    We just had our first child 3 months ago and using South Slope Pediatrics is one of the best parenting choices we've made (we were also debating between them and Tribeca, with Tribeca being closer to our house). They've been super warm and welcoming, and their patient portal email service makes it easy to get in touch with a Dr for all those new parent freakouts - they've always gotten back to us within 24 hours or less, even on silly questions. I'd also note that they're super strict about running on time, which was great especially for the newborn phase. We've always been ushered right into a room upon arrival and only once was the Dr a few minutes late (for which they apologized repeatedly). I'm sure all the doctors there are great, but we've been happy we went with Dr. Copenhaver as she's a recent new mom herself.
  • 2018 Review

    We love South Slope Pediatrics too! We typically see and really like Dr Wilson Taylor, but all three physicians are personable and knowledgeable. The nurses are awesome. The appointments run on time, and they’ve been accommodating when we need to be seen urgently.
  • 2018 Review

    My son, now 2.5 yo, has been Dr. Cao's patient since he was born. Dr. Cao has great depth of experience and knowledge, and also is very personable. We've also had good experiences with Dr. Copenhaver. And practice is well run.
  • 2018 Review

    We can't say enough great things about Dr Wilson-Taylor at South Slope Pediatrics. She is a true hero and the entire office is wonderful.
  • 2018 Review

    We've had a great great experience so far with the practice. My daughter is 2.5yo and my son is 1mo. Both are patients of Dr Cao and he has been excellent. As someone in health care myself, I can say that Dr. Cao is extremely knowledgeable and communicative. We've also see Dr. Wilson-Taylor for sick visits and found her to be wonderful as well. They all take the time to explain everything and put you at ease. I've also used their online app to communicate and found that all of the doctors are prompt with their replies. We really love this practice and are so happy to have found it!
  • 2018 Review

    I love South Slope Pediatrics. We are new to the neighborhood but just switched to South Slope Pediatrics after a first appointment elsewhere. We see Dr Copenhaver and really like her a lot. She’s smart, responsive and nice. We saw her when our daughter got a scary bug and threw up for a week straight. She handled it (and my worries) like a pro. I highly recommend them.
  • 2018 Review

    We've had a great great experience so far with the practice. My daughter is 2.5yo and my son is 1mo. Both are patients of Dr Cao and he has been excellent. As someone in health care myself, I can say that Dr. Cao is extremely knowledgeable and communicative. We've also see Dr. Wilson-Taylor for sick visits and found her to be wonderful as well. They all take the time to explain everything and put you at ease. I've also used their online app to communicate and found that all of the doctors are prompt with their replies. We really love this practice and are so happy to have found it!
  • 2018 Review

    We've been with South Slope since the day our daughter was born in 2013, and super happy with the care she has received from all doctors and nurses there. I emailed at 10pm to set up an interview when I was pregnant, and Matteo responded within an half hour. During our interview he covered every question on my very long list, and then some! Dr Cao is patient, thorough, and friendly. We have seen the office grow with the addition of Dr Wilson-Taylor and Dr Copenhaver, and they are amazing doctors as well. We have used the emergency line only a few times, and I cant tell you how great it is to know we can reach a trusted doctor if something comes up. Nurses are great, and also very patient. Appointments are on time, and never an issue getting in to see a doctor when she has been sick. It really is a very tight-knit group, and if you follow them on Facebook you will see their investment in their team as well as the community - it is quite impressive and inspirational.
  • 2018 Review

    I've seen all the doctors and find them all to be patient, understanding, intelligent, and not patronizing. They've always taken the time to thoroughly understand the problem, make sure my child is comfortable, and answer all my questions. Their staff is also amazing, and they make an effort to be inclusive, friendly to people of all walks of life, and generally good hearted, warm, kind people. They have a Facebook page which is a lot of fun and are very transparent about their lives. Really makes you feel like you know them. I've never waited more than a few minutes to see a doctor for regular check up appointments. Same day sick appointments sometimes have a greater wait time.
  • CPR training for nanny

    South Slope Pediatrics has free monthly CPR classes.
  • [PSPAdoptiveParents] Looking for a pediatrician who specializesin adoption

    I'll second (or third?) Dr. Cao at South Slope Pediatrics! Review submitted Dec 2017
  • [PSPAdoptiveParents] Looking for a pediatrician who specializesin adoption

    12/10/2017 8:05 PM Reply Hi Kate, I would like to recommend South Slope Pediatrics. Our kids see Dr. Wilson-Taylor there and she is brilliant, but we are also friendly with Dr. Cao, who started the practice. He has a specialty in adoption medicine and he and his husband Matteo (who manages the office) are adoptive parents. We have had an incredibly supportive experience with everyone at the office. Review submitted Dec 2017
  • Pediatrician recommendation/tips?

    We couldn't be happier with South Slope Pediatrics, especially Dr. Melanie Wilson-Taylor. She is smart, supportive, compassionate, knowledgeable, skilled (it's harder than you'd think to check a toddler's ears!), I could go on and on. She guided us through exclusive breastfeeding after my son came 3 weeks early and was losing weight, and by his six month visit he was in the 90th percentile! She is a mother herself, which I think makes her a better pediatrician, and extremely compassionate to new parents. Everyone at the office is professional and competent. I don't even Google things anymore; when it comes to my son's health, I just call them. I trust them to be thorough but non-alarmist. They are great!
  • Pediatrician in Greenwood/South Slope

    Dr. Cao of South Slope Pediatrics has been our pediatrician for 12 years. He and his staff are excellent!
  • Pediatrician in Greenwood/South Slope

    We love Dr Cao and his whole team at South Slope Pediatrics. They have always accommodated my requests for same day sick visits, responded to my inquiries by phone, and are very thorough in answering my questions during visits. They take the time to make a connection with the kids and you get the feeling they really care. We particularly like Dr. Copenhaver and Dr Wilson Taylor.
  • Pediatrician in Greenwood/South Slope

    We recommend south Slope pediatrics - all of the doctors are fantastic!
  • ISO: Primary Care physician in South Slope or Park Slope

    Dr. Cao, South Slope Pediatrics. The whole practice is awesome. We've been seeing Dr. Cao for 12 years.
  • Shout out for South Slope Pediatrics

    Just a quick note to publicly acknowledge the excellent team at South Slope Pediatrics. We've seen every doctor there and they are all wonderful but Dr. Cao holds a special place in our hearts having listened to concerns from two sleepless new parents and made us feel reassured and well taken care of. This place has a real family feel and everyone is always friendly and helpful. If you are in search of a pediatrician in the South Slope area we highly recommend this practice.
  • Re: Kind of hate my pediatrician? Venting and looking for advice

    South Slope Peds is only 2-3 doctors and I think they are all parents, so they do want to reign in after-hours calls a bit, which I can understand. They have guidelines about when to email, when to call, when to go to after-hours urgent care. They're reasonable and I've never felt i couldn't reach someone when I really needed to. Overall I like the smaller practice better than the bigger one. Even on a very last-minute sick visit, if there are only 2-3 doctors to choose from you will never get someone who doesn't know you at all.
  • Re: Kind of hate my pediatrician? Venting and looking for advice

    We switched pediatricians at about nine months - good news is that Park Slope is overflowing with awesome ones! We are at Dr Cao who we ADORE. They are very much in the camp of "after hours calls are calls to ask if you should go to the emergency room". We are okay with that since the level of care we receive is amazing. The few times we have called (usually in that 6:00pm hour when the baby had 104) they have answered and were completely pleasant. I am sure if we did it a hundred time they might say something but so far so good. Sounds like you just need a change - and to a group who is more receptive to after hour calls!
  • Re: Kind of hate my pediatrician? Venting and looking for advice

    I second the recommendation for South Slope Pediatrics! They have strict-sounding guidelines about when to call the emergency line, but circumstances led to my calling twice in a two-week period this fall, and both times Dr. Cao was great. It was a quick call, but comforting. I even apologized when I ran into him in Whole Foods, and he was like, "No! You should call if you think something's really wrong!" Also, after our daughter started daycare at nine months old, she was pretty much constantly sick for a couple of months, and we were always taking her to the doctor. They were so great! They're pretty laid back, which I find reassuring, plus they're super hands off about stuff like sleep training, etc. (in contrast to Tribeca, or so I've heard)--they pretty much seem to want to see your kid generally healthy, happy, and safe, rather than telling you how to raise them. I really appreciate that!
  • Pediatrician recommendation Park Slope/Windsor Terrace

    2nd Dr. Cao. Would add we loved any of the doctors in the practice.
  • Pediatrician recommendation Park Slope/Windsor Terrace

    We love Hai Cao at South Slope pediatrics.
  • Pediatrician recommendation Park Slope/Windsor Terrace

    We adore Dr Melanie Wilson-Taylor of South Slope Pediatrics. She is completely supportive and knowledgeable as she is an excellent physician and a mother herself. She guided us through breastfeeding after my son dropped to 5 lbs after birth. I was quite terrified, but with her guidance he went from the 3rdpercentile to the 93rd in 4 months, without having to supplement. He hasn't gotten sick yet, but we look forward to his check-ups - even though it means getting shots - because we love Dr Wilson-Taylor so much!
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Review: South Slope has been great, very well organized office. Visits are very thorough. We had previously gone to Tribeca Pediatrics and were frustrated that we saw a different physician at every visit, much more comfortable having a dedicated pediatrician for our little ones. Insurance: Yes, no issues Based on a 2015 birth
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Dr. Wilson-Taylor Review: The practice is extremely well-run and has a great patient portal online. Appointments always occur on time. Dr. Wilson-Taylor is compassionate and thoughtful. Insurance: Takes most insurance, and all has gone smoothly for us.
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Review: Dr. Cao is a wonderful pediatrician. He is great with my baby and does not push any agendas in regards to sleep training or feeding or anything like that. He is prompt to answer any concerns or questions emailed to the office. I highly recommend this practice! Insurance: Yes. Everything was easy with insurance. Based on a 2015 birth
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Dr Nike at South Slope Review: Awesome super helpful doctor that gives advice both as a mother & as a doctor. Insurance: Based on a 2015 birth
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Dr. Cao/Dr Nike Review: We've like them a lot and they are good with all 3 children. Insurance: Yes. Had no problems Based on a June 2015 birth
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Wonderful practice, there are now 3 doctors and they are all great. Insurance: They take insurance and we've never had any problems. Based on a June 2015 birth
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    The office is beautiful and we had high hopes for the practice (as it came highly recommended to us), but overall we were a bit disappointed. Nothing major happened, but there were a bunch of small moments that just added up to it not being the right practice for us. The visits tend to be very quick with the doctor, they are all friendly, but speedy. They are not overly supportive of breastfeeding in my experience (not asking about how it was going or relating it to the baby's health). Doctors seem distinctly against you having the baby in your bed, despite medical evidence not agreeing on this issue. They also are not really interested in talking about/helping you with any sleep related issues (ie figuring out when and how to start working on baby sleeping through the night). So they are very traditionally medically focused, without much attention to the family as a whole. I'm not sure if this is common or not. But also we would often get advice about medical issues, such as eczema that just seemed wrong after doing a quick google search and looking at contemporary advice. Insurance: Y Based on a July2015 birth
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Review: Dr Cao is a great doctor - calm, friendly and personable. Insurance: Takes insurance, no issues with billing. Based on a April 2015 birth
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Review: Not long waits Responsive staff Free cpr training Insurance: Yes. Fine with GHI Based on a October 2015 birth
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Review: Really good. I've seen dr Cao and Dr Wilson Taylor. They also have classes offered which is a nice perk. Dr Wilson Taylor is nice, a little on the shyer side but opens up. Dr Cao is enthusiastic and knowledgeable. I would say they aren't great in offering detailed advice on breatfeeding. Insurance: Yes Based on a September2015 birth
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Review: Dr Cao has been great to have as our baby's doctor from the beginning. Their office really makes parents feel welcome and there is good support for sick babies and new parents' questions. Insurance: Based on a May 2015 birth
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Review: Modern and clean. No wait times. Very technologically up to date. A bit rushed at visits and dogmatic. Insurance: Yes good. Based on a September 2015 birth
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Review: Was excited to go to South Slope but ran into issues from the start. From the first appointments with my newborn, I didn't feel the examinations were thorough (often missed the thrush until we pointed it out) and Dr Cao was on vacation (it was summer so I understand) so we saw different doctors almost every time through the 3 month appt. We didn't feel the was any urgency to fix the thrush so after 13 weeks or trying to deal with it we finally asked for a culture. After two weeks of no results we were finally told the test results had been misfiled. We switched to TriBeCa Pediatrics shortly thereafter. We have been seeing Ivy Grodman who we are lukewarm on. Our son has some developmental issues and I'm not sure she has the experience we need as she's quite young. There hasn't been any helpful insight or feedback from our appts regarding our son's delays. We asked for referrals to Early Intervention (she never brought the program up as an option) and she told us we probably wouldn't qualify. We just finished getting approved for the program after receiving unanimous recommendations for approval from the three therapists who evaluated our son, all of whom told us our son was severely delayed and needed additional help in a big way. Insurance: Very easy with Aetna Based on a June 2015 birth
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Review: We are happy with Dr. Cao's practice "South Slope Pediatrics" thus far. We have never had to wait long for an appointment and they have been flexible with changes and scheduling day of when our son has been sick. I would recommend this practice! Insurance: Yes. All fine so far.
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Review: Love the office. Love the staff. Love that I can e-mail doc with questions (felt like I had a million) and he would email back in 24 hours. Insurance: yes. All easy claims. Based on a July 2015 birth
  • Re: AP friendly pediatricians in Brooklyn

    We really love Dr Cao at South Slope Pediatrics. He does not advise co-sleeping but he does not oppose it either. We cosleep and I never felt judged or pressured to change by him.
  • pediatrician recommendation

    I wholeheartedly recommend Dr. Cao and Dr. Nike at South Slope Pediatrics! Amazing bedside manners, super organized practice, and there's no wait in their waiting room, as long as you show up right before your scheduled appt.
  • ISO: Pediatrician that is on time for appointments

    Dr Cao! In the 2 years I have been with him I don't think I waited more than ten minutes ever to see the doctor. They seem to really space out the timing for their patients. There is never a packed waiting room.
  • ISO: Pediatrician that is on time for appointments

    We love Dr. Cao at South Slope Pediatrics!
  • Re: ISO pediatrician recommendations

    South Slope Pediatrics is amazing. Great doctors, friendly receptionists, lovely waiting room with beautiful toys. They can always get an appointment quickly.
  • ps39, ps107, ps372 ??

    We are huge fans of Dr. Cao! He's on fifth and 12th st. (Reviewed May 2015)
  • rec on pediatrician

    He's really lovely and his office and staff are also very nice. My daughter has been with him for about a year since we moved here. I think there is now another doctor at that practice although I have not met her yet.
  • rec on pediatrician

    We also love Dr. Cao!!!
  • Recommendation/Review - Pediatrician: Dr. Hai Cao MD

    We love Dr. Cao and his practice, which just celebrated their first anniversary of the practice. Dr. Cao is friendly incredibly experienced and practices in a non-interventionist style. He is very reassuring and addresses all questions without any bias or judgment but offers kind support and guidance. Matteo runs an efficient, responsive office - no wait times and they have a good policy about walk-ins on Mondays and they maintain their schedule to allow last-minute sick appts. Dr. Gabrielli is a wonderful addition to the practice. The office is new, bright, clean and warm - there's a space for kids to read and it's just in general a fun environment. In addition, they use an online patient portal to keep track of appointments and you can communicate through (including asking those spontaneous random questions). Dr. Cao is now offering classes for his patients - nutrition, breastfeeding, CPR/First Aid. This is a fantastic resource and usually one that costs extra but Dr. Cao's holistic philosophy is to provide parents and children with information beyond just medical advice. This is a family-friendly practice that is a valuable community member.
  • Re: Need a recommended for a great Pediatrician?

    We love Dr. Cao at South Slope Pediatrics. Small neighborhood feel, great warm personality, efficient. (June 2013)
  • Dr. Cao at South Slope Pediatrics

    Dr. Cao is fantastic. He is really managing to run a family-friendly practice at a time when family-friendly isn't the way of medicine. Dr. Cao has called the day after a sick visit just to check in on my daughter on a couple of occasions- which was so thoughtful it really surprised me. The practice is also really well-run. Can't say enough good things about it.
  • Dr. Cao at South Slope Pediatrics

    We love Dr.Cao, his practice, Matteo and Dr. Gabrielli. Our previous pediatrician at Park Slope Pediatrics was great too, but the office was bad, with hideously long wait times, impersonal treatment, a dirty waiting area, and terrible follow-ups on even urgent questions and requests. In terms of sleep & other philosophies, Dr. Cao seems open minded, mostly non-interventionist and very common-sensical - you could always call the office and ask? I know - and 100% appreciate - that they do not support non-vaccination. I only wish ALL pediatricians did the same!
  • Dr. Cao at South Slope Pediatrics

    LOVE Dr Cao! We just had our first child so it is still early on...only 2 visits, but Dr Cao has a great disposition and the office is very clean, bright and beautiful! Mateo the office Mgr is also great! Highly recommend!!
  • Dr. Cao at South Slope Pediatrics

    We also really love Dr. Cao. We switched fairly recently and have been extremely pleased with his manner, ease of scheduling, family-friendly approach, and the friendliness of the office. It feels extremely personal. Dr. Cao's advice has been sound and he's very clear. He's also great with our kids!
  • Dr. Cao at South Slope Pediatrics

    We love LOVE Dr. Cao! (and his name is fun to say). I have two kids, now almost 6 and 3.5 and he has been our doctor since my second was born. When he moved from Park Slope Pediatrics I was so sad. Now that he's set up his own practice, I've decided to make the move. (Even though I still like the doctors at Park Slope Peds too!). I'm in the process of switching over paperwork now. He has wonderful energy, takes the time to listen to your questions, and has a great bedside manner. My son has been disappointed that other doctors don't find "monkeys in his ears" like Dr. Cao did. He also really worked the older sibling into the younger one's well checkup (since I had to bring them both to everything anyway)-- doing fake checks on my son to both include him and prepare my younger daughter for what was coming. All in all, I've never had a better doc.
  • Re: Best Pediatrician

    I also recommend Dr. Cao at South Slope Pediatrics!
  • Re: Best Pediatrician

    Another vote from me for Dr. Cao - I followed him from Park Slope Pediatrics to his new office (called South Slope Pediatrics / 5th ave between 12th & 13th streets). We've been with him for 4 years since the birth of my son. I was always thrilled with him, but not Park Slope Pediatrics because of the long waits and lack of warmth from the rest of the office. His new office is AMAZING. It's clean and warm and completely family oriented. The office manager, Matteo, is a gem. I have an 11 month old now, as well, and I've never had to wait more than 5 minutes. They are completely accessible. As a pediatrician, Dr. Cao is fantastic. I am someone who tends to doubt doctors and I don't always trust them, but I trust him 100%. Highly, highly recommend. I can't imagine anyone looking elsewhere once they have visited the office and spoken with Dr. Cao and Matteo. Best wishes with your March baby :)
  • Re: Best Pediatrician

    I highly recommend Dr. Cao as well. He is so helpful and accommodating. I've had the same terrible experiences with Park Slope Pediatrics- long waits, Nickelodeon blaring in the waiting room, dirty toys. South Slope Pediatrics is fantastic and very, very family oriented.
  • Re: Best Pediatrician

    We recently switched to Dr. Cao at South Slope Pediatrics from Tribeca's Park Slope location. We liked some things about Tribeca, but wanted a more personal practice. Specifically, we wanted to be able to get child development advice at well appointments, and instead we felt very rushed. It was impersonal, even though several of the practitioners are nice. Dr. Cao's office seems to be a better fit for us. It feels more family-oriented. They have a good method for seeing sick patients on Mondays. This was always an issue for us at Tribeca because our kids always seem to get sick on the weekend! So far, Dr. Cao's advice has been great.
  • Review

    We recently joined Dr. Cao's practice, and so far are extremely pleased by how personal and easy to work with they are. I haven't met Dr. Gabrielli, but the description below led me to think she could be a good fit for you. (December 2012)
  • (no subject)

    Dr Cao's new office has walk-ins hours every Monday morning between 8AM and 10AM for sick visits and flu vaccines. You don't need an appointment, just walk in. This is great because I don't have to wait for them to open the phone lines. This saves me from everything that might happen during the weekend. Dr Cao takes care of my two kids. I highly recommend him to anyone who might be looking for a caring pediatrician.
  • (no subject)

    Dr Cao's new office has walk-ins hours every Monday morning between 8AM and 10AM for sick visits and flu vaccines. You don't need an appointment, just walk in. This is great because I don't have to wait for them to open the phone lines. This saves me from everything that might happen during the weekend. Dr Cao takes care of my two kids, ages 2 and 4 months. I highly recommend him to anyone who might be looking for a caring pediatrician.
  • (no subject)

    We also recommend Dr. Cao highly. He is simply an amazing physician. So smart and so caring, and was able to observe things in our children that I believe other physicians would have overlooked. We're in Windsor Terrace, and went to Dr. Cao when he was by GAP. Now that he's opened his own practice in South Slope, it makes it even easier.
  • (no subject)

    We love Dr. Cao. He is one of the best decisions we have made as parents.
  • (no subject)

    I second the recommendation for Dr. Cao
  • (no subject)

    I second that. Our experience with him was fantastic.
  • (no subject)

    We recently moved to the South Slope and are seeing Dr Cao at South Slope Pediatrics. It's a new, very small practice. I would recommend Dr Cao without reservation. He comes from one of the larger North Slope practices. He is caring and thoughtful and because it is a small, newer practice, Dr Cao really has taken the time to get to know us and our son. On our first visit, he played with my son in the waiting room while I filled out paperwork!
  • (no subject)

    Dr. Cao formerly of Park Slope Pediatrics started his own practice on 5th Ave and 12th Street called South Slope Pediatrics. We saw him 2x in hospital and for one of our daughter's follow up visits when she was born. We felt he was very good. http://www.southslopepediatrics.com/about-us.php September 2012
  • (no subject)

    We've been with Dr. Cao since 2008 when our son was born. He is a kind, warm and gentle pediatrician. Our son loves him. We followed him from Park Slope Pediatrics to his own practice: South Slope Pediatrics. The office is wonderful, a warm and friendly place to visit. The practice manager, Matteo, is amazing too. We've had only good experiences with Dr. Cao and it's even better now that he has opened his own office. I highly recommend.
  • South slope pediatrics

    Yes! The pediatrician on site, though forgot his name, is really great. Has a natural ease with children and is kind. There will also be a female pediatrician joing his practice this December. August 2012
  • ISO: Pediatrician specializing adoption

    Dr. Cao at park slope pediatrics has a specialty in adoption and is fantastic. He looked at birthmom medical records with us before we adopted and has been so fantastic since we adopted our son at birth. The whole clinic is super sensitive to adoption issues. (October 2011)
  • (no subject)

    Dr. Cao has been my son's pediatrician since birth (2005) and he is great. (Aug 2011)
  • (no subject)

    We LOVE Dr. Cao! He has been Henry's pediatrician since birth, and he is wonderful. He has a good way of talking to kids to make them feel at ease, and he takes time to explain and answer questions to parents. We have also had good experiences with the practice in general when we've gone in for sick visits. Dr. Cao isn't always there, but every other doctor we've seen has been terrific. (Aug 2011)
  • Review from 2011 PSP Pediatrician Survey

    (Review Feb.2011) In addition to being highly competent and professional, Dr. Cao is also very warm and engaging with children and parents. INSURANCE: Aetna-POS
  • Review from 2011 PSP Pediatrician Survey

    Delay Vaccines? Yes (Review Feb.2011) The best thing about Dr. Cao is his rapport with the kids. He addresses them directly and is very good at putting them at ease and relating to them, say by letting them play with his stethoscope before he uses it. He's good at answering questions. I would say his personal take on medicine is probably somewhat conservative, but he's good at listening and considering/working with other POVs. INSURANCE: Empire. Fine. We don't have a copay at the time of the visit. We seem to get a bill once a year for several visits at once, but this could be because the copays on shots, etc. are too small to bill for individually (like, $1.50).
  • Review from 2011 PSP Pediatrician Survey

    Delay Vaccines? Yes (Review Feb.2011) I find Dr. Cao to be practical and thoughtful. He prefers limited medical intervention (for example, prefers cold teethers to Orajel, recommends against supplements like Gripe Water that have unproven/"unnecessary" ingredients). His personal philosophy is that people have been parenting for thousands of years with little help, and it's hard to mess it up. He is very responsive to phone calls and all questions. His opinion falls squarely within the "medical" realm - for example, when I had trouble breasfeeding, he emphasized that from a medical point of view, I could supplement with formula. Which is fine, but I would have preferred a suggestion to see a lactation consultant. INSURANCE: Empire PPO Yes, no problems at all
  • Review from 2011 PSP Pediatrician Survey

    Delay Vaccines? Yes (Review Feb.2011) Dr. Cao has been our 2-year-old's doctor since birth and our next child will also be his patient. We're happy with him and with the other doctors at Park Slope Peds, as well as the staff at the front desk. Sometimes the waits are long in the office, but I think that might be unavoidable. Re vaccinations, Dr. Cao made it clear that he would prefer to do the regular schedule, but was OK with us doing some 2 mos shots at 3 mos, some 4 mos shots at 5 mos, et cetera. Not sure if he is still doing this as apparently word got out that he would go along with delaying, and he mentioned feeling uncomfortable with doing this on a large scale. INSURANCE: Oxford. Hasn't been a problem.
  • Review from 2011 PSP Pediatrician Survey

    (Review Feb.2011) We love Dr. Cao. My daughter is now 15 months and we have been with Dr. Cao from the start. I wasn't sure about him in the beginning as he asked some questions that I thought were pointed and made me feel a little insecure but I've come around. We are pretty low-maintenance ourselves and I find him to be straightforward, friendly and no-nonsense. He takes time with us and sticks around to answer my questions. He's a great proponent of sleep training so he might not be the one for you if you are averse to this. We usually get in and out of the office pretty quickly. I don't think I've waited more than 15 minutes for him though I've sometimes had to wait for his nurse to come around to administer immunizations. INSURANCE: United Heatlhcare and now Horizon Blue Cross/Blue Shield. He takes both and they file the claims on their own. I just get a bill for the co-pay after every visit.
  • (no subject)

    We also see Dr. Cao and really adore him. He's friendly, gentle and great with my 6 month daughter. I appreciate how he takes the time to explain things and thoughtfully answers questions. I never feel rushed during our visits. He gave us the option to space out vaccines if we wanted (2 a month). He also remembers and recalls things from the last time we saw him which impresses me considering how many children he treats! You can make appointments online at Park Slope Pediatrics using zoc docs which I find very convenient. We've only had about 4 visits there and there was only one occasion where we waited a while to be seen. We waited 10 minutes or less for the rest of the visits. They also have an urgent care location on 7th Avenue that is open during non-traditional business hours (6-11pm during the week and all day Saturday). (Recommended October 2010)
  • (no subject)

    Dr. Cao has been our pediatrician since our son was born in 2005. He is EXCELLENT and very warm and engaging with kids. My son loves him. We have had issues with wait times, but it seems to be getting better. Also, you can schedule appts with Dr. Cao via ZocDoc, which I find helpful. (Recommended October, 2010)
  • (no subject)

    He is so kind and patient and attentive. (Recommended October, 2010)
  • (no subject)

    We have been going to Dr. Cao since my 5 year old was born and he's terrific. He is part of Park Slope Pediatrics, at PPW and President. We've seen other doctors there for sick visits (Gelman and Bialik) and they were great as well. Dr. Cao has a really nice, calm way with kids. He is patient and takes time to answer questions, etc. He knows a lot about adoption issues as well, in case you're interested! The down side is that there is sometimes a long wait, although since they moved to their nice new space, the wait is more pleasant and I think it has also gotten shorter. (Recommended, October 2010).