Pediatric Associates of NYC

https://www.parkslopeparents.com/components/com_jbusinessdirectory/assets/no_image.jpg
Pediatric Associates of NYC

Description

We don't have a description for this business. If this is your business and you'd like to find out how to improve this page, please get in touch.

Reviews (103)

  • Doctor Recommendations

    We’ve been super happy with Pediatric Associates of NYC at Grand Army Plaza. They recently heard a heart murmur on my son so I feel extremely lucky they caught it.
  • Doctor Recommendations

    Also a fan of pediatric associates. You can always call them, they always have appointments, and they do covid testing on-site (which our school requires from time to time).
  • Doctor Recommendations

    I will second Pediatric Associates, specifically Dr. Jennifer Oppenheim. She is amazing. Always grounds our fears with the bottom-line. She had been my son's pediatrician since he was born.
  • Doctor Recommendations

    Recommended without full review
  • Pediatrician Recommendation (Ideally Affiliated with NYU)

    Echoing the accolades for Pediatric Associates. I always leave their offices feeling more confident and stronger as a mama. Baby was born during the early days of the pandemic and they really handled the chaos of that time with impressive composure and sound advice (a true attestment to an extreme time). We see Dr. Leuss and love her! I have met the other doctors in the practice and they are all equally lovely and helpful.
  • Pediatrician Recommendation (Ideally Affiliated with NYU)

    I just delivered my first at NYU in May and also live in Clinton Hill. We decided to go with Pediatric Associates, which someone else mentioned. It’s a35-40 min walk for us, but we were much happier with them after our consult than other practices and they have been great so far(they are also affiliated with NYU).
  • Pediatrician Recommendation (Ideally Affiliated with NYU)

    We take our baby to Pediatric Associates NYC. They’re affiliated with NYU. Im also in Clinton Hill, but haven’t found the distance (it’s about a 15 min walk) to be too much of an issue. Honestly, walks are a daily baby activity so it works well! We see Dr Motlow and she is wonderful. Very easy to talk to, thorough, kind. We’ve seen a couple of other doctors for well visits and they’ve been great as well.
  • ISO (Male) Pediatrician for 12 yo

    I like Dr Horwitz at Pediatric Associates.
  • ISO Recommendation for pediatrician in Prospect Heigh / Park Slope / Grand Army Plaza

    We also use Pediatric Associates and love it. We see Dr. Motlow and can’t say enough wonderful things about her. We’ve used their pr active for 14 years and have been very happy with them. They are non-alarmist but do take things seriously when appropriate. We’ve seen all of the other docs too with no complaints!
  • ISO Recommendation for pediatrician in Prospect Heigh / Park Slope / Grand Army Plaza

    My kids go to Pediatric Associates on Plaza Street. They have many doctors to see and are opened till 8pm, they also have an office in the city. They take calls all hours of the day and night for emergencies as they have doctors on call. They usually call back within the hour. I usually pick two doctors so they can get to know my kids. It has been 15 years now and still love them. I am happy to answer any questions.
  • Recommendations and Process for choosing Pediatricians

    One more vote for Dr Leus at pediatric associates. We visited both them and tribeca before our first was born, and found them more family oriented, and little less businesslike than the vibe at tribeca flatbush. We will definitely be staying with them for our second.
  • Recommendations and Process for choosing Pediatricians

    S. and I decided on Pediatric Associates, too! They're super close to us (on Plaza Street), came highly recommended by some trusted parent friends, and are affiliated with NYU (where we're delivering). We had a fabulous consultation with Dr. Oppenheim.
  • Pediatrician

    Another vote here for Pediatric Associates! They've been fantastic with both my 3-year-old and 3-month-old. We generally see Dr. Horowitz or Dr. Oppenheim, but they're all great.
  • Pediatrician

    We also see Dr. Leus and the folks at Pediatric Associates. They have been fantastic at navigating all the covid related measures and I always feel better as a mama after leaving an appointment. Also I loved their vaccination policy (but that might not be for everyone).
  • Pediatrician

    Another vote for Pediatric Associates on Plaza street.
  • Pediatrician

    It may be too far from you guys, but we go to Pediatric Associates right near Grand Army Plaza. We see Dr. Leus but have seen other doctors at varying points-- all good experiences.
  • Pediatrician

    I've been very happy with Pediatric Associates on Plaza Street West. I'm on Vanderbilt so it's a pretty quick walk up the hill, but may be far for you. They are affiliated with NYU which was also convenient when I gave birth there.
  • Pediatricians in the neighborhood

    We've been with Pediatric Associates for over 10 years and while they're not the most soft and friendly practice (appointments can feel a tad rushed and they often run late), and are not the most modern practice with the nicest office (and the building lobby people are a bit fussy about kids traipsing in and out), you really feel like they're there when you need them, and they will absolutely catch the things that need to be caught. One of my sons had a weird infection in his knee that was turning serious and they nipped it in the bud with antibiotics. Another time I fell on the sidewalk while carrying my newborn, and wasn't sure if he was hurt or not... it was invaluable to be able to rock up (crying, of course) to a place right in the neighborhood (at least if you're in PH). (Don't bother with them if you're at all vaccine hesitant - they're not shy about their opinions there!)
  • Pediatricians in the neighborhood

    Hi - so we just switched to pediatric associates (Dr Motlow / she’s super non alarmist and great so far) after being at another practice for my first (switched for location bc dr Gordon closed her park slope office) and I have to say I’m SO glad we switched because we unfortunately had an ER/hospital visit with my newborn when he was 3 weeks old, and pediatric associates is affiliated with NYU so they called ahead, we got directly into a private room at their new children’s wing, and they even sent a doctor from the Manhattan office to check in every single day including Christmas Eve and Christmas Day. I couldn’t believe how much they checked in and how seamless the relationship is with NYU. I never imagined we’d have to go through what we did but I’m so glad the practice was so well connected to a great hospital. Something to consider....
  • Pediatricians in the neighborhood

    Another vote for Pediatric Associates :)
  • Pediatricians in the neighborhood

    Another recommendation for Dr. Leus at Pediatric Associates! As first-time parents, we are finding her to be thorough, calm and reassuring.
  • Pediatricians in the neighborhood

    Yes! Non alarmist is a perfect way to describe Dr Leus. And she is very patient and experienced.
  • Pediatricians in the neighborhood

    We’ve had a great experience at Pediatric Associates too. My son is only 2 months so I’ve been just a handful of times but they’ve been wonderful so far. I’ll put in a plug for Dr. Boehme. She’s a new-ish mom herself and has been a fantastic resource - incredibly helpful, calming, and personable. The only real downside from my point of view is that the entrance is up a flight of stairs, which can be tricky to navigate in a stroller (esp. in the early weeks!).
  • Pediatricians in the neighborhood

    Another Pediatric associates family! We see Dr. Motlow. She has been both thorough and chill. We had a complicated pregnancy and a few things came up with our son as an infant. She was on top of it and not alarmist. He’s a very healthy 3.5 year old now.
  • Pediatricians in the neighborhood

    Dr Varma at pediatric associates is great as well.
  • Pediatricians in the neighborhood

    Dr. Leus at Pediatric Associates. Non alarmist and very patient with first time parents.
  • Pediatricians in the neighborhood

    We also love Dr. Motlow!
  • Pediatricians in the neighborhood

    Another vote for pediatric associates! Our go to doctors are Dr. Oppenheim and Dr. Leus. They are non alarmist which I appreciate, the practice is strongly pro-vaccine, they have sick visit appointments available on weekends and someone on call 24 hrs a day.
  • Pediatricians in the neighborhood

    We are also at Pediatric Associates and regularly see Dr. Putter (easiest to get an appointment and really capable but can be a bit curt for the first time parent) and sometimes Dr. Motlow. We have met most of the other physicians and have had nothing but good experiences. The only downside we have experienced is that they don’t really like to do covid testing because their turnaround is slow since they use a national laboratory.
  • Pediatricians in the neighborhood

    Putting in another very enthusiastic plug for Pediatric Associates. We see Dr. Motlow and she’s fantastic.
  • Pediatricians in the neighborhood

    We also love Pediatric Associates!
  • Pediatricians in the neighborhood

    We love Dr. Motlow at Pediatric Associates!
  • Pediatricians in the neighborhood

    We also love Pediatric Associates on Plaza Street East and see Dr. Leus!
  • Pediatricians in the neighborhood

    I recently started taking my kids to Pediatric Associates of NYC, in grand army plaza, based on the recommendation from a friend. I’ve only been a few times and just for routine visits, but so far I’m happy with them! They’re not the most modern (our previous pediatrician had an online portal for documentation, questions, etc but they don’t have anything similar), but the doctors we’ve seen so far seem knowledgeable, helpful, and kind.
  • Pediatricians in the neighborhood

    We’re fans of Pediatric associates on Plaza Street.
  • Pediatricians in the neighborhood

    I’ve had only positive experiences at Pediatric Associates on Plaza Street. All the drs (I believe) are associated with NYU Langone - (or at least the 2 or 3 that we see).
  • Pediatricians in the neighborhood

    Pediatrics Associates- we love doctor Horowitz !!
  • Pediatrician recs please!

    Another vote for Pediatric Associates. We have been generally happy with everyone we've seen from the practice, and especially like Dr. Leus.
  • Pediatrician recs please!

    Highly recommend Pediatric Associates near Grand Army Plaza. They are affiliated with NYU. We’ve been with them for 8 years and both my kids have seen several of the doctors, but mostly Dr. Motlow and Dr. Oppenheim for their well visits. They have late hours during the week, available for same day sick visit appts, and are available for sick visits on weekends and holidays (not sure if all this has changed slightly due to covid).
  • Pediatrician recs please!

    I highly recommend Pediatric Associates in Grand Army Plaza - I think its 20 Plaza Street East. We started with Dr Putter when my older one was born (he is now almost 7). but we've seen all the doctors and they are all great. You can always get a sick visit appointment when you need one, and there is always someone on call. They don't have strong philosophies on sleep training or other hot button topics; i found them to be very supportive and fact based, and up on the latest research.
  • Pediatrician recommendation

    Second this review! The practice has successfully managed to keep us calm as first time parents to a daughter with a heart murmur, and second time parents with a son who stuck (then inhaled) a peanut so far up his nose it was practically coming out of his eye.... Both are alive and thriving thugs. And their parents are calm, confident and grateful.
  • Pediatrician recommendation

    We go to Pediatric Associates and they're amazing! We've been seeing Dr. DiMaggio and Dr. Horwitz primarily but have seen several other doctors in the practice (which they encourage so that everyone gets to know your baby) and haven't had a bad experience with any of them. All of the doctors, nurses and staff are warm, friendly and caring and we've never left a visit feeling rushed and always feel informed and that our son was well taken care of. When our son was born he developed a hemangioma on his lip during his first month and Dr. DiMaggio having had done a fellowship at Sloan Kettering was able to spot it on her first visit with him and immediately connected us with a pediatric hematologist at NYU for treatment. At the end of every visit we're given a developmental checklist so we know what to expect and it's super helpful. We've had several virtual visits and 2 in person visits during COVID and they are going above and beyond to make sure all patients and staff are safe and we've never felt that our baby's care has suffered because of the new restrictive environment.
  • Do you have a pediatricians you like?

    We love Pediatric Associates of NYC near Grand Army Plaza. We see Dr. Oppenheim (who got us through the hard postpartum phase, and is possibly the most patient person I know), Dr. Putter, and Dr. Leus. Great hours and great doctors.
  • Brooklyn pediatricians recommendation

    We’ve been going to Pediatric Associates for 14 years and have been very happy. We’ve seen Dr Oppenheim and Dr Horwitz primarily.
  • Pediatrician?

    Another vote for pediatric associates near grand army plaza, have been using them since October 2017 with my older son and while we have our favorites, all of the doctors there are great. (September 2019)
  • Pediatrician?

    We are very happy with the practice Pediatric associates on Plaza street and our doctor, Dr Oppenheim. Our friends also love Dr Leus from the same practice. (September 2019)
  • ISO Pediatrician in or near Crown heights

    We looooove Pediatric Associates at Grand Army Plaza. We primarily go to Dr. Motlow, but have seen everyone in the practice for some sort of sniffles or whatever, and they're all terrific.
  • pediatrician recommendations

    LOVE Dr. Motlow of Pediatric Associates. Oppenheim also fantastic.
  • pediatrician recommendations

    Pediatrics Associates on grand army plaza! Oppenheim and Horowitz are wonderful but we’ve seen a lot of the other doctors who are all great.
  • ISO: recommendation for pediatrician in Prospect Heights/Crown Heights?

    I second Pediatric Associates. Was recommended by a friend whose kiddos go there and I really like them. Dr. Oppenheim found something pretty serious for my friend's kiddo that a previous practice missed. We see Dr. Oppenheim, and sometimes Dr. Putter, but all have been lovely. Totally non alarmist but really thorough and direct. Been there for 3 years now. they are close to Grand Army
  • ISO: recommendation for pediatrician in Prospect Heights/Crown Heights?

    My children have been going to Pediatric Associates for over 12 years and they are wonderful. We see Dr. Motlow, who I absolutely love, but have seen everyone at some point over the years. All are knowledgeable, some more so than others, but they are also compassionate. None are alarmist but most will take your concerns seriously. Have I occasionally been a bit frustrated? Yes. But that may have been my mom self trying to get control of a situation that may have had no answers.
  • ISO: recommendation for pediatrician in Prospect Heights/Crown Heights?

    I second pediatric associates of New York in grand army. We have seen dr motlow and de Oppenheim and both are great!
  • ISO: recommendation for pediatrician in Prospect Heights/Crown Heights?

    We live not far from you and go to Pediatric Associates by Grand Army Plaza. We go to Dr. Motlow, but have seen/spoken to many of the doctors in the practice and they're all great. Latest reason I love them: I had to call them on Thanksgiving evening and I got a call back from a doctor within about 30 seconds, no joke. They're lovely.
  • Pediatric Recommendations in Northslope

    We've been going to Pediatric Associates since my daughter was born. The downside is you can wait a long time there. The upsides are for your regular visits, you can easily see the same doctor every time, almost all the doctors are kind and on top of it (I just don't like one of them but trust her judgment on serious matters), and I've never had a concern with their medical opinion, including the three times we needed referrals to specialists or advanced care.
  • Pediatric Recommendations in Northslope

    We’ve been happy at pediatric Associates in grand Army. The office staff is really nice but the waiting room kind of lacks toys. There’s one big box thing and books and a tv. I think they could also use a potty insert in the bathroom too. We’ve seen a bunch of different doctors but recently we had a sick visit with Dr. Morlow and she seemed really good with Patrick and a little silly.
  • Pediatric Recommendations in Northslope

    We’ve also been happy with Pediatric Associates at Grand Army. We mainly see Dr. Oppenheim and, lately, Dr. Motlow on sick visits (we choose to see the first doctor available in that instance). We had a really good experience with Dr. O catching a potentially serious condition really early, and have been sold ever since. Pros: Attentive and experienced doctors who are on top of things, while not being alarmist or excessive (they don’t rush to medicate, which we appreciate, and every time they’ve told us “it will resolve on its own,” it has.) On call doctor 24/7. Office open every day (sick visits only on weekends) and until 8PM on weekdays. They are patient and really listen to our concerns, no matter how slight. If you call with a question, doctor will return call the same day. Cons: I’ve heard that there can be a long wait for sick visits (but haven’t experienced it personally). There can be a longish wait for well visits (1/2 hour—they run behind). Large team of doctors, so if you make a sick visit, you may not see “your” doctor (but usually we see the same 2/3 people, even though practice is bigger) BK location closed on weekends in summer, so you may need to schlep to Manhattan. Feel free to write me directly for more details.
  • 2018 Review

    We’ve had a great experience with Pediatric Associates of NY on Grand Army Plaza so far. We see Dr. Oppenheim.
  • 2018 Review

    We are Ped Associates for life (or at least the first 18 years). We've been with Dr. Oppenheim for 13 years and have seen the entire staff over the years and through hospitalizations they are affiliated with NYU).
  • 2018 Review

    We have been going to Pediatric Associates of NYC for the past three years for my son 3yrs and my daughter 1yr, and we love it. They are affiliated with NYU as a hospital which we like too. There have been times that we've had to wait a little while to see the doctor, but that has been rare. I've also gone for sick visits - I've never not been able to make an appointment which is great. I like seeing doctors that know my kids first rather than having to go to UC (though I love UC too!)
  • 2018 Review

    I'm am beyond loyal. They saw me through all kinds of crap. And they take time, care, and have listened to me always. The waits there sometimes can be awful, but the doctors are no-nonsense, top-notch. Beyond.
  • 2018 Review

    We have been going to Pediatric Associates for five years. We are very happy with them. The doctors seem very knowledgeable and experienced. They are open seven days a week (weekends for urgent issues). When I have had to call at night for urgent items, they call back quickly. It’s big, but my doctors seem to always remember my kids and their health history.
  • 2018 Review

    My boys have been going to Pediatric Associates since they were born, so going on 12 years now. We love Dr. Motlow, Dr. Horwitz and Dr.DiMaggio. They are open late, till 8pm on most days and emergency weekend hour. If I have an issue with the boys, before, during or after hours, I leave a message and one of the doctors always call me back. Camp medical forms are easily filled out and mailed back. I love this practice, never had an issue.
  • Re: Long waits at Pediatric Associates?

    We've been going to Ped Associates for 11 years. The only time I've experienced longer than usual waits is when I go for a sick visit. While it seems like the absolute worst time to have to wait, those appointments are typically just fit in when the doctor(s) can squeeze them in, therefore it's hard to predict the amount of time you're going to wait. This is usually the case with most pediatric and general practices.
  • Re: Long waits at Pediatric Associates?

    We've been with Pediatric Associates for almost 10 years and have had almost no long waits. We do however usually go with whichever doctor is available when we schedule the appointment so perhaps that has something to do with it. We also, thankfully, have a kid who is not sick much so we also have fewer experiences to report on.
  • Re: Long waits at Pediatric Associates?

    The wait time for our last few appointments has also been on average 45 minutes. It does feel like this is relatively new as when we started going when my daughter was born a year ago, our average wait time was 10 minutes.
  • Re: Long waits at Pediatric Associates?

    Not my experience at all, but we've only had 3 appointments with our newborn. Our wait time has averaged about 10 minutes.
  • ISO: Pediatrician in Prospect Heights

    Seconding Pediatric Associates. They have great weekend sick hours, and there's been a few issues they offered to handle over the phone to save an office visit. We've run in for sick visits on 20 minutes' notice a couple times. They were also able to use their connections to get us in fast with a specialist in Brooklyn when we had a minor emergency last year. Their front office staff is super nice.
  • ISO: Pediatrician in Prospect Heights

    I used Pediatric Associates on Plaza St. and Vanderbilt in Prospect Heights. (My daughter is now in college.) Our favorite doctor there was Dr. Putter. We lived in Clinton Hill and then Bed Stuy during those years but there are plenty of trains and buses nearby and easy munimeter parking right there on Plaza St. They have evening hours and see sick kids on weekends (sometimes in Manhattan but usually in Brooklyn), and I never waited longer than an hour for a callback if I needed to talk to a doctor after hours. And if my kid was sick, they always said just bring her in.
  • Re: ISO: Pediatrician in Prospect Heights

    We love pediatric associates of NYC. Plaza st east and Vanderbilt. You can have your "main" primary doctor and also develop relationships with others for when she is on vacation. (We love Oppenheim, Motlow and Putter.) There is a Manhattan office so there is access 365 days a year. There are good hours in the Brooklyn office. They admit to NYU. We have had only good experiences these with 2 kids the past almost 4 years.
  • Planters wart removal

    Dr. Horowitz at Pediatric Associates on Plaza Street has removed several of these on my daughter's feet. It's a super-simple, liquid nitrogen freeze-off procedure. It hurts a little, but that's nothing compared to itchiness!
  • PSP Preemie/ NICU Support

    We use Pediatric Associates in Park Slope. They are associated with NYU Langone, which has a great NICU. Theo was born at 31 weeks. We spent 40 days in the NICU. The Director of the NICU highly recommended Pediatric Associates, we were originally with Slope Pediatrics and had some difficulty with the doctor so we switched docs. They have been great ever since we switched. Very patient, listen and answer all of our questions. We've been very happy and I'd highly recommend them.
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Review: I like Pediatric Associates a lot. We usually see Dr DiMaggio and I've found her to be attentive and reasonable. It's easy to have a question answered by calling in, but note that if you have a non-urgent question it may take a bit for you to get a response. That's fine by me, especially since when I've called in with more urgent matters, I've heard back right away. The hours are great and it's a good location. Note that there are a few (small) sets of stairs you need to take to get to the office - it can be annoying with a huge stroller. Insurance: Yes. They are great in dealing with the insurance companies. Based on a 2015 birth
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Dr Ellen Putter Review: Great doctor and practice. Highly patient with parents asking a million questions. Great advise, and does not push it on you. And if you need to see a doctor right away, there is always a doctor on call. Insurance: yes, not an issue Based on a January2015 birth
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Dr Ellen Putter Review: Dr. Putter is great. She listens to all our questions and answers them fully. She humors some of my new mom anxiety but it's clear that our baby is her patient and that is always her priority. Our daughter had some side effects from her 2 month vaccinations and Dr Putter was available by phone to make sure everything was okay. We feel very comfortable with her and highly recommend her! Insurance: Yes, they take insurance and have had no problems so far. Their office has handled all the claims. Based on a November 2015 birth
  • Re: Best Pediatrician

    we love love love the doctors at pediatric associates on plaza st. Dr. Putter was our primary and she is wonderful and has always accurately helped us with whatever was troubling us. Dr. Oppenheim diagnosed my daughters strep throat when she had no fever or sore throat and another time found pneumonia where there were no "typical" symptoms as well. We also love Dr. Horwitz, Dr. Zimmerman, and Dr. Motlow. We were even pleasantly surprised with Dr. Burstin, who can be tough on the phone, but is super pleasant in person!
  • (no subject)

    We're also happy with Pediatric Associates (we see Dr. Oppenheim, but all of the doctors seem good). Just to clarify: the office is open on weekends for sick visits, but not well-child appointments. They also have evening hours on weekdays. (October 2011)
  • (no subject)

    We went to Pediatric Associates at 20 Plaza St East (near Grand Army Plaza: http://www.pediatricassociatesnyc.com/) for my son’s first two years and were pretty happy there (we switched after we moved inconveniently far away because at the time we didn’t have a car). Our main doctor was Dr. Putter, whom we liked a lot; the other doctors seemed good too. They’re definitely pro vaccination. Not open weekends but they have a Manhattan office that is (East 34th St). (October 2011)
  • (no subject)

    We have been at Pediatric Associates for 12+ years and while I would call them mainstream, they have been thoughtful. We mostly see Dr. Putter but also have recently seen Dr. Motlow. We like DiMaggio and Oppenheim, too. I recommend them as a smart, responsive practice. The way they talk about weight/BMI is the degree to which each kids "follows their own curve" over time. Children notoriously grow out and then up or up and then out, so my understanding is that this needs to be tracked over time and, I would think, coupled with an observation of how fit and healthy a child looks and acts. I would expect even a mainstream ped. to look at the whole child. There was one visit (6 mos.) where my infant "fell off of his curve" and was in the 20th percentile for height and 90th for weight and the doc and I both cracked up!! He has since gotten back on his curve, which is a different one than that of his tall, skinny sister.
  • (no subject)

    Yes, Dr Horwitz is great - but good luck getting an appointment with him. He gets booked way in advance and is very tough to get in to see, especially if it is a sick visit. In three years we saw him exactly once. We also liked Dr. Oppenheim a lot, as well as Dr. Berg (who isn't there every day.) My biggest problem was with the way the office was run. Plus we would wait an hour or more for each appointment - once when my daughter was extremely sick, coughing, feverish and hysterical crying, and instead of being apologetic about our long wait we were admonished by the office staff for the fact that my crying daughter kept running out of the sick room. I was double billed several times once they had my credit card on file, and it took quite a lot of effort on my part to finally be refunded. They have very strict rules about prepayment and cancellations, and the staff was often just plain rude. Also, I appreciate the fact that they were careful, but both my son and daughter were referred for a total of 3 ultrasounds to check their hips as infants - trips that were very difficult to make to Manhattan with a newborn in all three cases - and I was told twice by the radiologists that the scans were pointless and the doctors should have known they were unnecessary.
  • (no subject)

    I've been reading all these posts and an amazed at how varied the experiences seem to be. This is our experience with the practice. We LOVE Pediatric Associates! We've been going there since my oldest was born 9.5 years ago. We see mainly Dr. Oppenheim (who we ALL adore), but have seen Dr. Dimaggio and Dr. Horowitz for sick visits. Yes, we wait sometimes when the office is really busy, but I try to schedule my appointments for the quieter times. The few times that I've brought my middle kid in really sick, we were given a room right away, and the time he vomited all over his clothes while having an asthma attack, he was given a long sweater to wear by one of the nurses who dug it off of the lost and found - without being asked. We like the practice so much that for the year that we had insurance that the office didn't take, we paid out of pocket to stay there. The Dr. always call back within a reasonable amount of time if I have a question, and when we go in for a visit I never feel rushed. Dr. Oppenheim asks thorough questions about my children's development, and speaks to them personally and respectfully. We have had one minor annoying experience, but it was with Dr. Putter so we just never see her. I just choose whichever other Dr. is in the office for sick visits.
  • (no subject)

    Dr. Dimaggio has been particularly good to us. We've been with Pediatric Associates since my daughter was born, at NYU, which is their affiliate hospital. My daughter had bad jaundice, and Dr. Horowitz in particular was very comforting to me during that ordeal. Dr. Oppenheim is now our primary, but I see Putter and Dimaggio as much or more than I see her. Dr. Dimaggio stayed with me in my craziness - really, she went out of her way. I think Doctors are human, and some things are hard to catch, and there are usually one hundred positive stories for every one dramatic, lousy one.... I just wanted to pipe in that Dr. Dimaggio, who's soft voice I kind of like, was great to us.,
  • (no subject)

    We've been very pleased with Pediatrics Associates now for nine years. Dr. DiMaggio seems to be the "weakest link" there, but Dr. Oppenheim, Horowitz and Putter have been great!
  • (no subject)

    About our experience with Dr. Oppenheim, she was my daughter's pediatrician when we lived in Brooklyn. One of the things I was very happy with was a call she made when my daughter was first born. At 10 days old, she hadn't gained her birth weight back as quickly as they like to see, and I knew that she wasn't eating as much as she should be. But she was so vigorous that while I was very concerned about it one level (and was stressed about making sure she was eating enough), I had trouble being that worried. When Dr. Oppenheim examined my daughter, I could see that she was weighing the numbers against the vigor that she was seeing.
  • (no subject)

    Ditto on all that's been said below [post]! This includes that their assessments over the phone about whether I need to schlep to the drs office with my daughter have always been exactly right. Between sick visits and phone calls, we've seen a number of the doctors at both the Brooklyn and Manhattan office. I don't know who there ISN'T good!
  • (no subject)

    I actually really like Dr Horwitz - he was always nice to my two kids (2 1/2 and 7 mos) and he usually prescribes antibiotics so that is good - it bugs me when the Dr is like well the child ears looks red and then doesn't prescribe anything - so i really like Horwitz b.c he catches it before it gets out of hand and your child has a fever.
  • Review from 2011 PSP Pediatrician Survey

    Delay Vaccines? No (Review Feb.2011) Fantastic. Our primary doctor is Dr. Zimmerman, but we've been see by all and and love each one. INSURANCE: Aetna
  • Dr. Putter - Review from 2011 Pediatrician Survey

    (Review Feb.2011) Overall, I think that while my pediatrician is competent, the practice is a litlte too large. I get the impression that we're a face in the crowd and there's not necessarily a personal connection. However, their office is conveniently located and they have good office hours (both of which are key factors when you have 2 working parents). One thing to note is that because the practice is so large, important pieces of information can sometimes get lost in the mix. There was a bit of confusion relating to my son's egg allergy and despite a conversation between the allergist and the pediatrician that I was present for, the allergy was never noted in my son's file. While we ultimately clarified the situation, I imagine that the lack of attention to detail in terms of recordkeeping could cause a problem if we weren't diligent about making sure things were listed properly and if my son's allergy was more severe than it is. INSURANCE: Aetna/United Health
  • Dr. Prezioso - Review from 2011 Pediatrician Survey

    Paula J. Prezioso, MD, Pediatric Associates 317 E. 34th Street, NY, NY 212 725-6300 http://www.pediatricassociatesnyc.com (Review Feb.2011) This is the Manhattan office of for the Pediatric Associates that's at Grand Army Plaza. The huge advantage over the Brooklyn office is a separate floor entirely for sick visits where the wait time is almost nothing so you are in and out of there very quickly. Dr. Prezioso herself is great - great with my 2 yr old daughter, a good communicator with me, nice attitude, attentive, and happy to answer all of my questions. INSURANCE: We have Blue Cross Blue Shield, which Pediatric Associates accepts. I've never had any problems with claims
  • Dr. Oppenheim - Review from 2011 PSP Pediatrician Survey

    Delay Vaccines? No (Review Feb.2011) We LOVE Dr. Oppenheim! We love her so much that when our insurance changed and visits were no longer covered, we paid out of pocket for a year so that we could keep seeing her. She is thorough, but non-alarmist. She has children roughly the same ages as mine so I really trust her suggestions and recommendations. She is a big fan of CIO and other fairly traditional ideas of childrearing, but is definitely open to other methods. INSURANCE: Cigna - yes, they take it. The office takes care of insurance issues. The office keeps a credit card on file which they use to charge co-pays.
  • Ellen Putter - Review from 2011 PSP Pediatrician Survey

    (Review Feb.2011) She returns phone calls very promptly. During examinations she spends lots of time answering questions. INSURANCE: Oxford Freedom
  • Ellen Putter - Review from 2011 PSP Pediatrician Survey

    (Review Feb.2011) She is kind but no nonsense. Never looks at my questions as if I have 3 heads but is not warm and fuzzy. For me that is great. It has been a great fit. INSURANCE: She takes insurance and it all seems straight forward. We have Oxford now.
  • Dr. Ellen Putter - Review from 2011 PSP Pediatrician Survey

    Delay Vaccines? No (Review Feb.2011) She is thorough and very laid back. She is a good physician for a high-strung parent. INSURANCE: Oxford insurance. Not a problem
  • Dr. Oppenheim - Review from 2011 PSP Pediatrician Survey

    (Review Feb.2011) Dr. Oppenheim is the only doctor within Ped. Assoc. that I found NOT condescending. Every other doctor there left me with a feeling that they thought we were inexperienced, silly first time parents. We go to Ped Assoc. because it's extremely close to home, and I had a December baby, so proximity was key. But now I will literally only see Dr.Oppenheim unless it's an emergency and she is not in the office. I think she's thorough, smart, listens, answers questions well, and gets through tough stuff like shots very efficiently. INSURANCE: First United HC, now Aetna Hasn't been a problem
  • Dr. Oppenheim - Review from 2011 PSP Pediatrician Survey

    (Review Feb.2011) We cannot say enough good things about Dr. Oppenheim. She devotes so much time to our family during all our office visits that when there is a wait we don't mind because we know she is just doing the same for another family. She has a great sense of humor and bedside manner, is intuitive and makes first-time parents like us feel confident with our choices and our daughter's care. INSURANCE: United Healthcare, filing claims has been relatively easy thus far.
  • Dr. Horwitz - Review from 2011 PSP Pediatrician Survey

    (Review Feb.2011) I can't say enough wonderful things about Dr. Horwitz. I initially chose this practice because they were so close to our home and because they were the staff physicians at the hospital where I delivered, NYU. They were the doctors who checked out my son in the hospital after he was born, and Dr. Horwitz was the doctor we saw on our first visit after coming home. He has held been so incredibly helpful and patient with me and my husband as first-time parents. Though Pediatric Associates has a very busy practice, he's always taken the time to explain everything very clearly and have detailed discussions about things like sleep training, vaccines, etc. Dr. Horwitz tends to take the traditional track when it comes to vaccines and things of that sort, but since both my husband and I do, we were in complete agreement and had no issues with his philosophies at all. I'm not sure if Pediatric Associates allows patients to delay or space out vaccinations - you should certainly call and ask if this is a concern. We did meet with Dr. Horwitz for a consultation when I was pregnant and he answered every single one of the multitude of questions I had for him. In general, Pediatric Associates is a great practice. They have weekend hours in Brooklyn and we've never had a problem getting an appointment when my son has been sick. In fact, when he came down with an ear infection on Christmas day, we were able to get a sick visit on Sunday, December 26th with no problem. One doctor from this 9-physician practice is always on call and available to answer any questions you may have - we've never waited more than a half hour for a return phone call after leaving a message with their service. I realize everyone has different experiences with doctors, but our experience with Dr. Horwitz has been nothing but positive. I highly recommend him. INSURANCE: We have Oxford Insurance, which Pediatric Associates accepts. We've had no issues with filing claims. When we've had to obtain detailed receipts for submission to our HSA, their billing department has been quite helpful.
  • Dr. Putter - Review from 2011 PSP Pediatrician Survey

    Dr Ellen Putter - Pediatric Associates Delay Vaccines? Yes (Review Feb.2011) Pediatric Associates also has a NYC (E 34 ST) office. Their doctors are patient, informed, and willing to work with families. I have a special needs son - Fragile X - and the annual Medicaid paperwork is plentiful. Dr Putter never fails to take the time to fill out the multiple forms in a timely manner. Her first question is always, "How can I help you?" And she means it. My son doesn't like going to the doctor, and they make it as pleasant as possible. INSURANCE: Oxford. Never a poblem
  • Dr. Oppenheim - Review from 2011 PSP Pediatrician Survey

    Dr Aviva Oppenheim Delay Vaccines? No (Review Feb.2011) I like a non-alarmist pediatrician and found this with Dr Oppenheim and this practice. I only saw a couple of the doctors in the practice but likes those I saw. She caught something early that I did not notice. I am against not vaccinating and liked that they were pro-vaccinating. They have a sign in the rooms that explained their position. They did blood draws in the office which was helpful. INSURANCE: Oxford Freedom Plan, no problems
  • Dr. Horwitz - Review from 2011 PSP Pediatrician Survey

    (Review Feb.2011) Dr. Horwitz is wonderful. He has incredible bedside manner. He is matter-of-fact and reassuring. He spends as much time as needed to answer questions (which means that there is often a wait). He is willing to discuss pros/cons of treatments and alternatives. INSURANCE: Blue Cross--some weird NJ plan. They take it. The only issue I've had is that the doctors want to wait no less than one year between annual checkups because of insurance issues. The office also requires you to leave a valid credit card so they can charge.
  • Dr. Horwitz - Review from 2011 PSP Pediatrician Survey

    (Review Feb.2011) Dr Horwitz is great with our son. He is very patient and has a laid back attitude. Def a calming influence. He makes him feel completely at ease, and answers any questions he has. He really understands our son and his little idiosyncrasies. After hour calls get returned promptly. Weekend hours though some sundays you might have to go to Manhattan office in Murray Hill. All the other doctors in the practice have been good when we had to see one. INSURANCE: Oxford freedom Plan. No problem
  • Dr. Horwitz - Review from 2011 PSP Pediatrician Survey

    (Review Feb.2011) Dr. Horwitz is always lovely with our five-month-old son. He's patient and thorough in answering our questions and, most importantly, I trust his medical advice. INSURANCE: Cigna--no problems ( so far), just a $25 copay with each visit
  • Dr. Oppenheim - Review from 2011 PSP Pediatrician Survey

    (Review Feb.2011) She is very patient in answering questions. Very by the book, and a big proponent of sleep training. INSURANCE: Aetna, which they take
  • Dr. Oppenheim - Review from 2011 PSP Pediatrician Survey

    (Review Feb.2011) I have been brining my now 2-year old son to see Dr. Oppenheim for the past year or so. I would say that her practice focuses on pretty traditional western medicine, and I like that it is associated with NYU. Dr. Oppenheim is smart, warm and attentive. In my experience, she does not particularly volunteer guidance as to various more "touchy-feely" issues (e.g., diet, preventive care beyond flu shots, next developmental steps, parenting skills). If I ask, then she will take the time to go over whatever my concerns are for the day. While, as a first-time parent, I would gladly welcome a bit more hand-holding (even, as some of my friend's pediatricians distribute, handouts), I should not complain about her thorough and thoughtful consultations. The offices are not particularly spectacular or designy, but there is a waiting room for sick kids. It is also quite conveniently located by Grand Army Plaza. I hear good things about the other pediatricians, although I have not consulted with them. I had no difficulty scheduling last minute sick appointments, getting call backs on weekends. INSURANCE: UHC
  • (no subject)

    The doctors at Pediatrics Associates always call back the same day and they are always very helpful and polite when they speak to me on the phone. Also, they have sick visits available 7 days a week. (March, 2010)