host2 www.parkslopeparents.com
serv2 www.parkslopeparents.com

Park Slope Schoolhouse

https://www.parkslopeparents.com/components/com_jbusinessdirectory/assets/no_image.jpg
Park Slope Schoolhouse

Description

PSS is a non-profit early childhood education program that formerly operated as the Berkeley Carroll Child Care Center and previously, as the MHB Child Care Center (operated by New York Methodist Hospital). The program has a rich history in the neighborhood, having been in operation since 1986.

Offering a full academic year running from September to August, PSS provides two-, three- and five-day programs with early drop off (7:30 a.m.) and late pick-up (6:30 p.m.).

The Park Slope Schoolhouse balances a developmentally appropriate preschool curriculum with the natural process of a child’s development—physically, emotionally, socially and cognitively.  Children are encouraged to make their own choices and to develop an appropriate level of independence while remaining respectful and responsible members of a larger classroom and preschool community.  Under the supportive care of teachers who are qualified, trained and experienced in early childhood education, children thrive and grow.  We are committed to having caring and highly professional teachers who respect the culture of each family we serve. The quality and dedication of our teachers is reinforced by the many opportunities we provide them to learn and grow in their profession.

 

Reviews (56)

  • 24m+ daycare recommendation?

    My daughter is at Park Slope Schoolhouse on 15th and 5th. It has care from 7:30am- 6pm. She loves it.
  • Review from the Fall 2021 Early Childhood Education Survey

    Type of facility: Preschool Review: Our son has been at Park Slope Schoolhouse since their 1s program and is now in the 3s program. We have loved everything about the school. The teachers have all been wonderful, kind and caring. The school leadership is excellent and has done an amazing job over the past two years navigating covid and all the challenges and unknown it has brought. We feel so lucky to have found a place that we feel so comfortable with and have complete trust in. Our son loves the teachers and everything they do in the classroom and we couldn’t imagine a better place for him to have spent these preschool years. What amenities does the facility provide? Has outdoor space, Has after-school options, Has early morning hours What would you change about the program, if anything, and why? Nothing Is there anything you would like to add about how the school handled the pandemic? Communication throughout the pandemic has been excellent. We’ve had complete trust in everything they’ve done and they’ve done a fantastic job at keeping the school and community safe since reopening in august 2020
  • Review from the 2020–2021 Daycare, Preschool, Pre-K, and K Survey

    Review: We put our daughter in Park Slope Schoolhouse at 16 months in October 2020. Although we were nervous at her age and during the pandemic, she and we couldn't have been happier. She has grown and learned so much this year. We have the loved the community that PSS has diligently nurtured, even during a global pandemic. The teachers are so dedicated and loving with the kiddos. They provide ample feedback on your kiddo throughout the year and pictures, meals and nap updates throughout the day. They get outside every day (weather permitting). Our daughter comes home daily with new art, songs and stories to tell. Can’t wait to have her back at PSS next year in the 2s class. Facility amenities: Has outdoor space, Has after-school options, Has early morning hours What would you change about the program? Is there anything you would like to add about how the school handled the pandemic? The community was involved in every decision made to support the school and our children. The response felt thoughtful, supportive and safe. They never forgot the heart of the task, which is providing for both the physical and mental health of our kiddos.
  • Review from the 2020–2021 Daycare, Preschool, Pre-K, and K Survey

    Review: We loved PSS. It was a huge help for our Pre-K daughter in 2021, when we were looking to return to in-person school and public school was not an option. Our daughter loved the school and teachers. Ashley, the director, was responsive and did a great job with COVID protocols, which were strictly enforced. We would recommend it to anyone. Facility amenities: Has outdoor space, School day runs from as early as 8 a.m. until as late as 6 p.m. What would you change about the program? Is there anything you would like to add about how the school handled the pandemic? Masks required inside for all. Parents were not allowed in the building until June 2021. Until then, pickup and dropoff was only at the door and kids were escorted to class by teachers. There was a daily COVID health/travel questionnaire that was required to be filled out.
  • Review from the 2019–2020 Daycare, Preschool, Pre-K, and K Survey

    Review: We sent out daughter back in August when the Department of Health authorized daycares to open. PSSH is a great community - it's small, but not too small, encourages community and parent engagement, and modeled after a school enviornment. We feel safe and trust all the staff. During this pandemic, the hours are 8-6pm with support if we need to drop off early or late. Prior to the pandemic the hours were the best we had seen - 7:30 to 6:30pm which helps if you are a commuting parent. We love the support our daughter has received and she has thrived the past three years there. Amenities offered: Has outdoor space, Has after-school options, Has early morning hours What would you change about the program, if anything, and why? Nothing! The Director is very open to feedback and has really appreciated parent engagement.
  • Experience with Park Slope Schoolhouse?

    My son has been going to PSS since he was 2 and he is now in the 3s. We can't say enough good things about the school. As N. said, Kai is a great teacher (as is the case with all the assistants) and we are always amazed with how much thought goes into the curriculum and how much our son has developed and learned.
  • Experience with Park Slope Schoolhouse?

    I have sent 2 kids to Park Slope School House over 4 years and it is a great place. My middle kid is supposed to be in the 3s class at the moment but the pandemic upended that plan. The 3s head teacher Kai is an angel and her and Jasmine were the most wonderful people to have leading the classroom. I love them so much and can't say enough good things about them!
  • Nearby daycares with pre-8 am drop off

    Park Slope SchoolHouse is in the South Slope, so maybe too far, but will be reverting to 7:30am drop off in the next few months and pick up is as late as 6:30pm.
  • Welcome to the NEW 2018 Kids Group!

    C. attends Park Slope Schoolhouse (which is also where his big brother went) and we couldn't be happier.
  • in person child care centers/schools for full time...

    Park Slope Schoolhouse (on 5th Avenue and 15th Street) is open full-time and is a wonderful program! Our older child graduated from the school and our younger is starting in the 3s class. The 3s teachers are incredible! They have just a couple open spots. I encourage you to reach out asap!
  • Space available for 4s at Park Slope Schoolhouse

    We love this school, all the support they gave during quarantine, and stand behind the plan they have in place for this upcoming school year.
  • 2019-2020 Year Review

    My daughter loved her preschool and had been going there since she was 2 years old. The teachers are all very attentive and caring. The day is very structured. She loves her daily routine, the friends she had made and the teachers. She had learnt and grown a lot socially and emotionally! … About the facility: Has outdoor space, Has afterschool options, Has early morning hours … What would you change? Have a regular music program and more outdoor space in the building
  • Review from the 2017/2018 PSP Daycare, Preschool, PreK, Kindergarten Survey

    We are in our second year at PSS and love our experience there. My son has learned so much there and loves going to school. The staff is amazing and they really take the time to get to know your child. Will be starting our second child there in the fall! About the facility: Has outdoor space, Has early morning hours.
  • Review from the 2017/2018 PSP Daycare, Preschool, PreK, Kindergarten Survey

    The school has a good amount of indoor and outdoor space. The teachers are wonderful, loving, caring and extremely respectful. The program is a structured one, with a regular daily routine and plenty of activities - from yoga to Spanish to cooking. Our kid strives there. About the facility: Has outdoor space, Has early morning hours What would you change? Maybe provide some meals.
  • Review from the 2017/2018 PSP Daycare, Preschool, PreK, Kindergarten Survey

    Full day preschool with clean facilities, engaging activities, and a thoughtful curriculum. The teachers are happy to add personalized touches like reading our kid's favorite book at story time. They're one of the only preschools in the area with a 1's program. About the facility: Has outdoor space, Has early morning hours, communication/daily photos via an app.
  • Review from the 2017/2018 PSP Daycare, Preschool, PreK, Kindergarten Survey

    Our daughter has been in the program since September, for about 7 months. Its a great school with very loving and engaged teachers. The program is totally child-centric with a lot of child driven activities every day. The facility is clean and bright and well designed. They have several resources for the parents too such as breakfast talks on developmental phases, evening mixers etc. Finally it has the most comprehensive hours of any place in the neighborhood. About the facility: Has outdoor space, Has afterschool options, Has early morning hours.
  • Review from the 2018/2019 PSP Daycare, Preschool, PreK, Kindergarten Survey

    I love the Schoolhouse as does my daughter. She does so many creative and interesting projects! She dances, does an art project, laughs, runs around and learns something new every single day. The classrooms are so interactive and the teachers are so warm and knowledgeable. About the facility: Has outdoor space, Has afterschool options, Has early morning hours What would you change? I wish I didn't have to pack lunch
  • Review from the 2019 PSP Daycare, Preschool Survey

    This is our family’s 3rd year attending this school and we love it. The teachers are loving and attentive and the kids are always occupied and happy. They have so many activities and have a lot of time outdoors either in the backyard or out and about. There is also an indoor play space for inclement weather. We are parents to a happy graduate of the 2s and 3s programs and a current 1s student who will soon be a 2s student. Hours can’t be beat for full time working parents as well. DETAILS: Has outdoor space, Has early morning hours
  • Small daycare options near S. Slope?

    Our 1st went to Zusin a few years ago, but has since been at Park Slope Schoolhouse which is definitely a more structured preschool experience and expensive, but allows very long days (anytime from 730-630), and because of our work hours, it justifies it for us. We have also loved it, it's just been a great place for our family and our daughter
  • Re: Does anyone LOVE their daycare?

    We LOVE LOVE LOVE the Park Slope Schoolhouse. We sent two kids there starting with the 1's through the 3's and even commuted there after we left the neighborhood. Great facilities (indoor and outdoor play space), great dedicated staff, warm community.
  • Re: All day pre-school recs?

    I recommend park slope schoolhouse, they have a class for 1's, 2 and 3yo's. The full day, nearly full year program was a boon for me, as a single parent. Plus my daughter loved the school and teachers, and I did, too.
  • Re: [daycare] any recommendations?

    Its more pre-school than daycare but they have a class for 1 year olds: I sent my daughter to Park Slope Schoolhouse, and was so so happy with it. - there was a great community of parents, staff and administrators - I always felt my daughter was safe, nurtured, and also learned quite a lot - including / important to me, social/emotional skills I miss this school very much! They have classes for 1's, 2's and 3's, and offer programs for a few days to five days a week. I also loved it for its convenience - while a bit of a trek for me / there were closer preschools - it offered drop-off and pick-up anytime between 7a-6:30p, I believe; which was a boon as a working single mom.
  • Re: Daycare With Early Drop Off Needed!

    I've been sending my daughter to Park Slope Schoolhouse this current year. Its technically a preschool and not the daycare that yo'ure looking for, but they do have a 1's program, which sounds like your child may be eligible for. I've sent my daughter, E, just this past year for the 3's class and I have loved it. it was a hard transition for my personally (after years of an awesome nanny relationship) but the administration, teachers and parent community is/has been so wonderful and warm and supportive, that my daughter has really flourished. One of the reasons I chose the school is that its economical and also works great for working parents. Tuition covers drop-off anytime as early as 7:30 and pick-up as late as 6:30 (w/o the complication of added fees, and for which days). it also runs the full year - meaning, far less close days than other private schools, and up until the last 2 weeks of August. Its on 15th street and 5th ave, so closest train is the R stop at Prospect. Obviously I highly recommend it.
  • Review submitted via the PSP Daycare/Preschool 2016 Survey

    Program: 3's class Age: 3-4 years Review: I love this program. I enrolled my daughter here because it was the most cost effective program I found in Park Slope (factoring in all extra child-care costs since PSS is a full year, full-day program versus the other programs had add-on options to extend the day, and were closed for long breaks for more frequent holidays). Given that it was my first choice just on economics, that it is now a choice I rave about on curriculum, staff, school culture, facilities, and management (i think) says volumes. - The teachers are warm but firm, and excellent. My daughter is only one of 3 new kids (everyone else had been together for 1-2 years prior) but she adjusted within a few days, and the classroom has clicked together nicely. E is excited about school, sharing with me what she's learned (social emotional skills and also some good academics, i.e. curiosity on letters). I believe the kids are safe and supported to learn. The head teacher is excellent at communicating lesson plans coming up, big activities, how parents can be involved (if they'd like to be), and also communicating to me individually, specifically on my child. More on the other kids - this was by far the most diverse class I saw during the tours in terms of ethnicity, socio-economic background. One other school had it - but only bc they offered a few scholarships. I am happy to expose my child to all kinds of people, and happy to see that the classroom of kids has really become a family unit for them. The parents are involved and engaged, but they are not helicopters. they're a lovely community of individuals who trust the skills and experience of the administration. The building is new - facilities are great. The Board of directors is a mix of current parents, and long-time community members (I believe they are there from when PSS was officially part of Berkeley Carroll). and the administration is great. Organized, clear w/ communications. The staff therapist/psychologist has been helpful and available to me. I also had a personal issue with security/custody, and they addressed my concerns confidentially, seriously, and quickly eased my mind. Again, number one, they took the safety of the kids seriously (not what one wants to consider in a preschool, but still critical!). Consider all the costs -- and extra work (or mindspace) involved in selecting a program. I love PSS because it simply offers full day, full year programming, and the price is only based on if you send your child 3, 4 or 5 days a week, rather than what time you drop off or pickup, which could change daily or weekly depending on your job.
  • Re: Daycare options for one year old in Park Slope?

    I send my daughter (started at 3yo, now almost 4yo) at Park Slope Schoolhouse and I'm so pleased with them. I can't speak to the 1's program specifically, but definitely the administration, facilities, teachers (I know the aides and subs). I would be happy to put you in touch w/ someone who's child goes in the 1's class as well. I think its a warm environment with a great community of parents, excellent admin/parent communication and lovely teachers.
  • Re: Daycare options for one year old in Park Slope?

    Our son has been at Park Slope Schoolhouse since we was one. He is "graduating" the 3's class this summer and will head off to Pre-K in the fall. I have nothing but good things to say about PSS. Our son-and we--have had a wonderful experience. Everyone there is incredibly caring and competent. They have helped us through so many challenges and transitions--being away from home, getting off the bottle, dropping the nap, potty training, social/emotional issues, etc. Our son loves going to school. They have full days of music, cooking, going outside, yoga and more. There is a lot of open and 2-way dialogue with the teachers and the center director. We know what they do all day, when there is an issue we need to address, and more. We recently went away for the first time and our son's teacher was incredibly helpful in helping us set up some systems at school and home for when he missed us. The community of parents is also very warm and friendly. The school has social events for parents, and we've formed relationships with the other parents over the years and have regular play dates and meet-ups.
  • Review of Business

    Park Slope Schoolhouse has been my son’s school/daycare for the past 8 months. We absolutely love the school, the structure, teachers and the administration. While looking for a place for my 1 year old I didn’t find many options that weren’t either a daycare or schools that only took 2 year olds. Park Slope Schoolhouse offers not only a beautiful, clean, great space for children, they also have a dedicated staff that involve parents in every step of the way. We get daily reports, pictures, emails with the monthly activities, we get to meet parents and really see our children grow up. My son absolutely loves going to school and the teachers know him well and helped him transition from being home to being at another place. I am thankful for the school for my son’s newfound appreciation for sharing, being more gentle and using his words to ask for things. I highly recommend this school.
  • PSP Daycare/ Preschool Review

    Park Slope Schoolhouse is a fabulous school. The environment is warm and nurturing and generally focused on learning through play. The teachers are kind, firm when they need to be, but empathetic when it comes to discipline. They are also approachable and great about communicating with parents, providing regular updates on how the kids spend their days. Many of the teachers and staff members have been with the school for over ten years and the head teachers either have a masters degree/teacher certification or are currently pursuing one. My favorite thing about the school is probably the stimulation it provides in the form of activities -- more than at my son's previous daycare and more than I could provide at home. They cook (recent recipes include strawberry salsa and banana bread), go for walks (to the playground, library, etc.), learn about music and Spanish with Bilingual Birdies, play in the indoor gym and backyard, and do all sorts of art projects (some of which are messy and better done outside of my apartment!). It also helps that the school has extended hours (my husband and I both have jobs with relatively long hours) and a great reputation in the neighborhood. My sons both love going to school!
  • Review Submitted via Fall 2015 Daycare/Preschool Survey

    PROGRAM: 556 5th Ave (at 15th street) TIME: Full day, 5 days a week AGE: 3-4 years REVIEW: I love PSS - the facility is clean, the administration is well organized, and most importantly the teachers and staff create a warm, nurturing, safe learning environment for my toddler. To be honest, it was not my first choice school - a fancy, much more expensive Montessori program was. But ultimately, PSS made the most sense for my budget: it is the only preschool in Park Slope I know of that offers a FULL DAY, full year program. Drop off is as early as 7:30; and pickup is as late as 6:30. While I ultimately made the decision on logistics and cost, I feel confident that I made the right one. It was a big transition for my 3yo, who had previously had a full time nanny that was almost part of the family. I had a lot of anxiety about the transition and the upheaval for my daughter, but she was fine with drop-offs by Day 3, and told me about all her "best friends". My anxieties are further eased after getting to know the teachers better; the administrator Ashley is very easy to get a hold of and speak with, and I've also used their on-site counselor. As a bonus, the parent community there is wonderful - all the parents I've met are chill, cool parents that care about providing nice things for their kids without going crazy. The community is very supportive. Honestly, I can't think of a better option for working families, especially. WOULD YOU RECOMMEND? (Hi/Rec/DoNot) Highly recommend WOULD YOU DO IT AGAIN? Absolutely
  • Review submitted via the 2014-2015 daycare/preschool survey

    Program: 3's class Length of time: Full Child’s Age: 3-4 years Type of facility: Privately run daycare/preschool with multiple classes and teachers REVIEW: My son entered the 3's class of the Park Slope Schoolhouse last fall and it has been a wonderful experience for him. He's starting kindergarten as a young 5 year old and I feel pretty confident about his ability to succeed becuase he's had such a great year at PSS. The school has a 1's, 2's and 3's program. My son started in the 3's classroom when most of the kids had been together for two years yet I felt very welcomed by the other parents and he made so many good friends in one school year. I felt pretty early on that the teachers were doing a great job getting to know my kid. I also felt really comfortable talking about developmental issues we were dealing with at home, knowing that they would also work on them at school. For example, I had a lot of trouble at one point with my son crossing the street safely. When I told his teachers, they made a puppet show to discuss street safety with the kids! PSS also has a consultant, Wanda Frenkel, who we met with when we were have problems with tantrums with our son. She was awesome as well. Really listened to our concerns and let us know what was developmentally normal. She also followed up with some reading for us to help us with tantrums, which really did the trick. We had a parent-teacher conference in the spring semester. I wish there had been one towards the end of the fall semester as well. But overall, the teachers were so good at giving us feedback about our son that it didn't really feel like a problem to me. The school is also very well run by Ashley. The lead teacher for the 3's broke her leg and was out for basically the entire spring semester, but Ashley and the other 3's teachers did such a good job of keeping things running. We missed Kai but Clara, Tiesh, Ana Maria, Kerri (and everyone else) made sure everything was smooth! The facilities are great--very high quality and well kept. There's a sensory gym in the basement and an outdoor area that the kids use in warm weather. The kids had a music class called Bilingual Birdies with an end of the year concert. They also had another music class with a musician parent. The class had a curriculum that was pretty cool. Memorable units included learning about their bodies (my son was super into talking about the different parts of his eyes!), a section on bees and dragonflies, and a camping section, which culminated in the kids "camping out" at school in PJs with flashlights. The other great thing about PSS is that the school year goes until August so you don't have to worry what to do with your kid during the summer. The hours are also really working parent friendly. Kids can be dropped off a little before 8 and can be picked up as late as 6:30! Would you recommend? Highly recommend Would you send your child again? Absolutely
  • Review submitted via the 2014-2015 daycare/preschool survey

    Program: 2's Length of time: 2 days FT per week Child’s Age: 2-3 years Type of facility: Privately run daycare/preschool with multiple classes and teachersThere is little/no parental involvement with the administration or running of the facility. REVIEW: Teachers were very warm towards the children. They really pay attention to individual development and needs. Support staff is great. Snacks are provided. Great community of parents. Excellent student to teacher ratio. Would you recommend? Highly recommend Would you send your child again? Absolutely
  • Park Slope Schoolhouse Review

    Park Slope Schoolhouse has been a wonderful environment for my daugther for the past two years. She began attending at the age of 2.5 years in the 2's class for five full days per week. This year she is in the 3's class. The teachers are all career educators, highly credentialed, many with master's degrees. Along with the best in programming, the teachers foster a nurturing, fun place for the children to grow. I am a full time working, single mother. PSS offers one price for year round childcare/school combination. You can drop off as early as 7:30 am and pick up as late as 6:15pm. Not one other preschool in Park Slope offers this system for full time childcare with school. When I called competitors to compare pricing I had to build a spreadsheet and add together all the wrap arounds -early care, after care, summer camp. Similar nursery schools in the area cost roughly the same but PSS pricing is simple and transparent - no hidden extra fees. As a busy person this had a huge impact on me. PSS is also one of the few schools that was designed to be a preschool. The rooms were newly constructed specifically for toddlers. It's a cheerful, comfortable facility for the children. The school offers for free with tuition, access to an excellent family counselor who can guide you and your child through behavioral issues, learning styles and rough patches at home. I've enjoyed and greatly benefitted from her free courses at PSS. Ashley Davis is an intelligent director and manager, an experienced educator and a warm human being. From admissions forward her door is always open. She is one of the few directors who takes an active role in helping you to place your child after PSS ends.
  • 2014 Daycare/Preschool PSP review

    Program: 3's Class Length of Time: 5 days Child's Age: 3-4 years Review: Park Slope Schoolhouse (PSS) is a licensed day care / pre-school in the southern part of Park Slope. PSS offers classes for 1s, 2s and 3s, MWF, TTh or 5 days as needed by parents. The facility is on the ground floor of an apartment building and is quite modern (this location opened about 2 years ago after moving from Central Slope.) with a monitored entry, stroller storage room, a sensory room for inside play and small backyard area. The school offers weekly music, cooking, yoga and Spanish lessons to the students depending upon age. The school is open 11 months per year, closing for the major government holidays and for the month of August. The calendar is published at the beginning of the year. Each class collects a parent contact list that was helpful for scheduling play-dates and gatherings outside of school. Our second child transitioned out of the 3's program to public pre-k in 2014. The majority of the teachers were energetic and dedicated to improving there skills through formal education and other workshops. During the warmer months, the older children go outside twice per day either to the backyard or local green spaces. The teachers assist with potty training and will work with parents to reinforce behaviors or behavior corrections as needed. For example, my child was very attached to a comfort object. The object was quite large and often interfered with his ability to play or participate in activities with the other children. His teachers offered suggestions to help him transition from his heavy dependence upon the object and together we successfully and painlessly implemented the transition. We received formal feedback on our child's progress twice per year. This feedback included information on skills development and classroom behavior. Informal feedback was available at drop-off and pick-up as well as via ad-hoc meetings. The teachers provided copies of the weekly lesson plan so we knew what excursions were on the horizon and what was in store for the week. They also offered recommendations for play-dates if they noticed your child was very friendly with particular children. PSS did a good job of introducing new or substitute teachers, including their photos and bios so parents / caregivers never had to wonder to whom the new faces belonged. What they didn't do well is announcing when longer tenured teachers left the school. It was quite disappointing to hear of a teacher's departure via the grapevine rather than by official notice. This happened twice during our four year association with the school. Recommend (Hi/Rec/DoNot) Highly recommend Would you send your child again? Absolutely
  • 2014 Daycare/Preschool PSP review

    Program: 2s Length of Time: Full days, several days/wk Child's Age: 2-3 years Review: Great teachers, lovely community. School director does not always appear on top of everything, which worries me a bit, and school's philosophy is not always well articulated. But overall very positive experience. Recommend (Hi/Rec/DoNot) Highly recommend Would you send your child again? Maybe
  • 2014 Daycare/Preschool PSP review

    Program: Part time 2/3 days a week Length of Time: 41673 Child's Age: 3-4 years Review: The facility and esthetic of the school is lovely. Clean, smart design, colorful but not too decorated or overly stimulating. The teachers seem happy to be in the school, are warm and attentive. The director is on top of things. School policy is relaxed in terms of drop off time. Though different teachers have different temperaments and energy level, it's overall pleasant, calm and stimulating atmosphere in the classroom. The kids seem happy and my child loved going to school. The program offers bilingual music classes, cooking and yoga. The school has a consultant who gives talks to the parents and is available for individual consults if needed. The director is very involved and is extremely available and responsive. Recommend (Hi/Rec/DoNot) Highly recommend Would you send your child again? Absolutely
  • Review from 2013 Daycare/Preschool PSP Survey

    Review date June 2013 (for 2012-2013 year) Program: 2-3 year old Length of time: full day, year round Child's age: 2-3 yearsolder than 5 Review: This is a full-day, year round professional place where the teachers are very qualified, trained and really caring. The day flies by for my daughter with some structured activities (music, cooking, occasional yoga etc) and some free play time both indoors and out. The school has a small outside yard and a larger indoor play space for variety and when bad weather, as well as very nice windowed modern classrooms. But mostly it's the staff -- they are energetic and caring, structure lessons without being forced and genuinely take joy in the kids. The supplies and toys are wonderful, as is the space. My second daughter is now attending and we highly recommend it. Do you recommend? (Hi/Rec/DoNot) Highly recommend <<< PSP Note: this reviewer has recommended Park Slope Schoolhouse in the past >>>
  • Review from 2013 Daycare/Preschool PSP Survey

    Review date June 2013 (for 2012-2013 year) Program: Length of time: 3 Days/Week Child's age: 3-4 years Review: The facilites are clean, bright, and well-thought out. There is a separate indoor playroom in addition to a backyard so the kids aren't stuck in their classroom all day. It feels like a school with a great community. All the teachers and staff know each other and all the kids. The days are structured and there are planned educational components while still allowing for plenty of play.The hours are unbeatable, and the school year is long. Do you recommend? (Hi/Rec/DoNot) Highly recommend
  • Review from 2013 Daycare/Preschool PSP Survey

    Review date June 2013 (for 2012-2013 year) Program: 1's class Length of time: 2 days per week Child's age: 2-3 years Review: A few of the teachers have been doing this for a long time. They seem relatively energetic. The facility is top-notch. A modern design. Always clean. The programs are great-cooking, yoga and music weekly. I feel like the discipline seemed a bit tough at times. However, the teachers got all of the children to sit nicely and behave like they wouldn't necessarily at home. My child had a hard time, specifically with transitions. I feel like it took him a long time to feel comfortable, which may be due to only being there two days per week. But the teachers pin-pointed his anxiety and began to explain to him what was next. Or give him a little more time with a teacher before he joined the group. The feedback is one area that is majorly lacking. The school claims you can call them at any time, but especially in the beginning when you feel the most nervous, there was a vibe that other parents and I discussed of 'I'll take your call, but your baby is fine and your being ridiculous.' Later in the year than you want a progress report, you get one, which is typically all positive. It makes you wonder if it's honest. Do you recommend? (Hi/Rec/DoNot) Highly recommend
  • Re: Park Slope Schoolhouse

    Both our children went to the 1's class and we also have only good things to say. It's such a great school and a wonderful parent community. Whenever people compliment our children's behavior or social skills, I always credit their time at Park Slope Schoolhouse. The care at PSS is the perfect balance of affection and discipline. I don't even think it is more expensive than many of the other daycares in the neighborhood if you break it down per hour. In my opinion, they are the best option for full-time working parents.
  • Re: Park Slope Schoolhouse

    Both of our kids attended Park Slope Schoolhouse and we only have good things to say about the place. They both started in the 2's classroom so we don't have first experience with the 1's class. It's a nuturing environment where teachers and staff take time to get to know your child and work with his or her quirks. The teachers adapt the play-based curriculum to the interests of the kids, especially in the 3's classroom. We found it to be excellent preparation for pre-school. Recently, there's been a number of new teachers in the 2's classroom. I think the children have adapted well to the new faces and the school does a pretty good job of introducing any new folks to both children and parents. The fees are expensive. But it's one of the few places that accept children as young as one and the hours (7:30 AM - 6:30 PM) work for all but the most inflexible drop-off and pick-up schedules. We've been happy with our experiences there.
  • Re: Park Slope Schoolhouse reviews

    Though I do not currently have a child in the 1s program at PSS, both my children have been in the 1s program there. I still miss it and my kids always point to it when we pass the building and ask to visit. The quality of care is the best in the neighborhood in my experience (our children have been to 4 different day cares in the neighborhood). As for the age range, when my son was at PSS (2009), he was one of the older children in the group and when my daughter was there (2011) she was THE youngest child and they both thrived. At that age, even though there can be a large developmental difference between kids of different ages, there is also often developmental differences betweens kids of the same age and PSS truly treats each child as an individual -- meeting each child where he is at and challenging him to progress to his potential. The teachers are amazing, the administration is amazing. Both are great with kids as well as responsive to parents' concerns. To this day, whenever I get a compliment on my children's self-control or attention span, I credit Park Slope Schoolhouse.
  • Re: Park Slope Schoolhouse reviews

    My son was 22 months when he started in the PSS 1's program, and we never had an issue with him being amongst the oldest in the class. There are always 3-4 teachers in the classroom and they are very attentive to the children. While they all do the same activities, they allow the older kids to take on more a leadership role. For example, during their cooking program, the younger kids would pour the ingredients into the pot, but the older kids were allowed to stir. My son definitely became more independent because of the program and he was also very nurturing. He now has a little sister and he loves helping her and showing her things. I cannot say enough great things about the school. The staff is great and the community is strong. There is only 1 class per grade so there's great consistency -- there aren't revolving teachers or different kids coming on different days. It's a very cohesive group. Everyone knows everyone from the kids, to the teachers, to the administrators, to the parents. My son's class moved up together to the 2's class and are very close. I truly believe Ashley, the director knows every child and every parent's name, nevermind babysitters and grandparents as well. They just moved into this facility about two years ago so everything is clean and new. The classrooms are spacious, they have a backyard for them to play in, and there's a mulitipurpose room downstairs that we just raised funds to outfit with sensory toys last year. I love that they have a curriculum and set schedules so it's not just allowing the kids to play randomly for hours. Even in the 1's program, they do art projects, cooking (as I mentioned before), they read stories, sing songs, learn to brush their teeth, and Suzi Shelton comes in once a month to do music with the class.
  • (no subject)

    Review Date 2012 Program:3's program Length of TIme: Full time, 5 days a week Child's Age: 3-4 years Review: The clincher for us with Park Slope Schoolhouse was two-fold. First, it's five blocks from our house without crossing any avenues. Second, it's a preschool but with daycare hours. Can't get much better than that for coverage. But the school is way more than that. My daughter did both the 2s and 3s program (thus there for two years in a row) but not the 1s. They do lots of projects that cover a slew of topics and subjects. Examples include drawing an outline of their own bodies then painting a face and clothes on it and adding hair (yarn). Many of their projects are documented in process by the teachers and then displayed on the walls for parents to see the kids in action. They write stories together (each kid contributes a sentence or two) with the teacher writing each one down and the final story is often hilarious, nonsensical and adorable. They have a cooking program that they kids actively participate in (again, it's documented in photos and recipes are sent home). They have a music program with Suzi Sheldon who brings her guitar and other kiddie props (shakers, scarves, etc.). Sometimes they'll even meet Suzi at the park and shake their stuff outside. They also do yoga and lots of physical play both indoor and outdoor (they have a multipurpose room with mats and balls and other gym-like equipment. The backyard has a small playhouse thingie with a slide and lots of other equipment (trikes, hula hoops, chalk to write on the side of the school with, etc.) Do you recommend? (Hi/Rec/DoNot) Highly recommend
  • (no subject)

    Review Date 2012 Program:1's Class Length of TIme: Full Time, 5days/week Child's Age: 1-2 years Review: This place is truly amazing. The teachers are all really gifted when it comes to children. The peace of mind I have while my daughter is in their care is priceless. My daughter loves school so much and she has learned and grown so much this past year. They play and sing and dance and have so much fun, but the most impressive part of the program is how much impulse control the children learn at such a young age. I really think the self-control my daughter has learned at PSS will help her for the rest of her life. Do you recommend? (Hi/Rec/DoNot) Highly recommend
  • (no subject)

    Review Date 2012 Program:3's classroom Length of TIme: Full Day; 5 days/week Child's Age: 3-4 years Review: The staff is very welcoming and engage with the children. There is a general structure for the day and a weekly snapshot of what is planned is emailed to the families each week. The goal is to foster a love of learning in the children. The daycare relocated to a great new space this year: nice sized classrooms, small outdoor space, and also a multi-purpose room where children can be active when the weather is not so nice outside. The school is open long hours (730a-630p) which is great for when both parents work outside the home, but on the flip side there is no reduced fee if you don't need the long hours. Do you recommend? (Hi/Rec/DoNot) Highly recommend
  • (no subject)

    Park Slope Schoolhouse is wonderful! (November 2011)
  • (no subject)

    This is our daughter's second year at Park Slope Schoolhouse and we couldn't be happier. The teachers and administration at the school are wonderful -- very communicative with parents and warm, loving and enthusiastic with the kids. I am always amazed at how calm and peaceful the classroom feels, and I think that's a testament to the ability of the teachers to integrate discipline into daily activities in a positive way. We always feel welcome to spend time in the classroom, and our daughter's teachers are great about filling us in about her day when we pick her up. There's a feeling of mutual respect among the teachers, staff, parents, and children, and I think it has a lot to do with why the school runs so smoothly -- everyone always seems happy to be there. The beautiful new space we moved into last month is a bonus.
  • (no subject)

    Kid Age: 1 year 5 days/week I can't say enough good things about Park Slope Schoolhouse. In the mornings, my daughter is so happy to go to "school", and when I pick her up, she doesn't want to leave. I don't worry about her all day because I feel so confident in the care that she receives. The teachers are loving, but firm, everything you could want. My daughter has really blossomed over the time she's been at the Schoolhouse. I can't believe she's only been there 6 weeks, she has learned and grown so much. Our son went to the schoolhouse too and he really thrived there. He is still friends with the friends he made at the schoolhouse, even though he hasn't been there for over a year. Another big plus for Park Slope Schoolhouse is the administration. Ashley and Natasha are so helpful and responsive. We love this place so much and feel so grateful that there is such a wonderful resource for working parents in our neighborhood.
  • (no subject)

    Park Slope Schoolhouse is a wonderful place. My son started going to PSS at 13 months old. He was one of the youngest in his class, and of course I was worried since he had always been taken care of by a family member (parents or grandparents). But after the first couple of weeks of transitioning, my worries disappeared. The director and the teachers are so wonderful and caring. The teachers have a way of being warm and caring, yet you get the sense that they are also disciplinarians - the children learn to say "please" and "thank you." They learn to play together and share. And their days are filled with fun activities (all kinds of arts and crafts projects, yoga, dancing, music teacher coming in every week, a new nutrition/cooking program, etc). And they have finally moved into their new space, where everything is beautiful and NEW! And now they have a separate playroom for those rainy/freezing days when they can't go outside. Also, parents are encouraged to get involved in whatever way possible, which I think is great. I would imagine that places that are not confident about what they do wouldn't encourage parents to come and spend time there. But no matter how much I like PSS, I suppose it doesn't matter if my child doesn't enjoy it, and that's the best part. My son is now in the 2's program, and oftentimes when I go to pick him up, it's hard to get him out of there because he is having so much fun. Also, I had a chance to sit in while the music teacher was there, and it was so much fun! I plan to send my son to PSS next year as well, and I will be very sad when he "graduates" from the school after the 3's program. Perhaps PSS should consider starting a 4's/pre-K program!
  • (no subject)

    Park Slope Schoolhouse Full Time, 5 Days a Week KID AGE: 3-4 years Highly recommended I highly recommend Park Slope Schoolhouse. This is our daughter’s 3rd year at the center (the first year it was run by Berkeley Carroll). When Berkeley Carroll decided they did not want to continue to run the center, we visited several other daycare/preschool providers in the immediate and surrounding areas, and nothing quite met our needs. Luckily for us, a group of devoted and amazing parents found a way to save the school! The Park Slope Schoolhouse benefits -- the hours available, the talented and compassionate teachers, the creative and homey environment, and the warm, enthusiastic and dedicated director, Ashley -- all make this a very special place. Our daughter has made great friends and learned a lot, and when any issues came up, the teachers responded immediately in a caring, helpful manner. Our only wish: that PSS had a Fours program so we could stay one more year!
  • Review from PSP Survey, 2010

    Name of Program:1's Program 2 days KID AGE:1-2 years As a first time parent, I could not be more at ease with the care of my child. Each concern and issue has been addressed with a prompt and caring response. Each day I pick up my child I receive a play by play of his day from what he liked in his lunch to what he seemed to be interested in that day. Highly Recommend/Recommend or Do Not Recommend?--Highly recommend Review Date: Fall 2010
  • Review from PSP Survey, 2010

    Name of Program:2s Program 5 days/week KID AGE:2-3 years Our head teacher is a graduate of the Bank Street school - her energy and dedication to the class is unparalleled. She maintains and updates a blog for the class on a daily basis - not just with photos, but interesting articles, recipes, etc. to engage the families and children. She and the rest of the staff are enthusiastic, loving, and simply a lot of fun. The days are structured but the process of learning is organic, working with each child physically, cognitively, emotionally. My daughter's transition from the 1-year-old program to 2's has been seamless. No tears during drop-off: she loves her teachers and playing with her friends. I'm really seeing my child blossom and much of it can be attributed to everything she's picking up at school. The school offers programs for 1s, 2s, and 3s; 2days/3days/5 days a week. I can't wait until the new location opens - it will only add to the strength of the program. Highly Recommend/Recommend or Do Not Recommend?--Highly recommend Review Date: Fall 2010
  • Review from PSP Survey, 2010

    Name of Program: Full Time, 5 Days a Week KID AGE:3-4 years My son is in his 2nd year at Park Slope School House and we couldn't be happier with out choice to send him there. The teachers are wonderful and treat the kids with respect. The Director, Ashley Davis, is centered, outgoing, organized, and a friend to all the kids. Our son has learned so much in his time there, and has made great friends. He talks lovingly of his teachers and friends. The teachers have been flexible with our family's dietary needs, vigilant in watching our son's progress, and have devised productive, helpful alternatives to his challenges. We have also received help and support from his teachers and the Director in applying to private kindergarten programs for next year. No other preschool program we looked at offered such flexibility for early drop-off and late pick-up times. As we are both working parents, we needed these option. The facility will soon be moving to a new location on 5th Avenue and 15th Street. The new "green" building is gorgeous, has an outdoor play area, and an indoor recreation room for inclement weather. Highly Recommend/Recommend or Do Not Recommend?--Highly recommend Review Date: Fall 2010
  • (no subject)

    Our son attended the Park Slope Schoolhouse for three years and had a wonderful experience in the 1s, 2s and 3s programs. It is an amazing place and I feel so fortunate to have found this day care option for him. I have so many positive things to say about the teachers on all three floors--incredibly professional, caring, and engaged, and totally committed to providing the highest quality care and environment. Our family used the Schoolhouse for full-time day care and really took advantage of the 7:30 am start time and the 6:30 pm pick-up--it allowed us to work full-time jobs and know that our child was in wonderful hands and having a blast all day long. I really appreciated that the program was play-based and was always amazed when I would come to pick my son up and see him engaged with the other kids in all sorts of creative and fun activities, whether they were running around in the outdoor space in the middle of some sort of game, or singing or dancing or painting or reading. He learned so many great lessons in his three years there and I loved how the program grew with the kids as they got older. On the topic of cost, I will note that for our family we actually saved money going to the Schoolhouse as opposed to having a full-time babysitter--when you divide out the hours and the year-round school year there, the price actually works out favorably. Overall, I just can't say enough good things about the Schoolhouse. It is an amazing place and we really felt so lucky to have spent three years there with such fabulous teachers/staff and such amazing kids and families. Highly recommended!
  • Aug, 2010

    My younger daughter just graduated from the three’s program at the Park Slope Schoolhouse. Our family has been part of this wonderful community for four years (our older daughter also attended for two years) and I cried and cried when we said good-bye on the last day of school. First of all, in four years of leaving our most precious children in the care of these gifted professionals, I have never once felt nervous or scared. I have dropped them off every day with confidence that they are safe, well cared for, enriched and stimulated. Coming from a family with two working parents, this peace of mind (not to mention the schedule!) has been priceless. Besides the love the girls received from all the teachers and the fun they had every day, I am especially grateful for the superior experience both girls had in the threes program. The head teacher is a one-of-a-kind educator. She created a dynamic classroom where the children were always engaged and learning and exploring. The learning units were innovative and so well-suited to the age-group, she clearly has an excellent grasp of early childhood education. Finally, both our girls blossomed during their years there. They are pretty different children, and the teachers really got to know each individual and treat them daily with love and respect. I am just so happy that the school has been such an integral part of our lives over the past four years…. I only wish they had a Pre-K!!
  • (no subject)

    PSS is the BEST preschool, with daycare hours, in the Slope! Our daughter is currently enrolled in the 1s program and will continue in the 2s this fall. My husband and I can't praise the director, teachers, and staff enough...It's a warm, nurturing environment where our little one has thrived. The teacher-to-student ratio is perfect and the daily schedule makes me want to play there, too (not one minute of TV time, it's incredible). Our daughter comes home with artwork every week and knows her ABCs and numbers in English and Spanish. But the best part is that the educational aspect is absorbed through their daily play and interaction, not a stressful teaching atmosphere in the least. I can't wait for the new location as well - the plans for the eco-friendly, kid-friendly space will be amazing. Don't miss the opportunity to be a part of this program!