host2 www.parkslopeparents.com
serv2 www.parkslopeparents.com

NYU Langone Medical Center - Tisch Hospital

https://www.parkslopeparents.com/components/com_jbusinessdirectory/assets/no_image.jpg
NYU Langone Medical Center - Tisch Hospital

Description

We don't have a description for this business. If this is your business and you'd like to find out how to improve this page, please get in touch.

Reviews (64)

  • Review from the Summer 2022 Birthing Survey

    What month and year was your child born? May 2022 Review: The facilities at NYU Langone/Tisch in Manhattan are really nice - modern and state of the art. We were some of the first parents to experience the private rooms for Mom and Baby and they were really nice. I wish the bathroom had a shower but otherwise the rooms were well equipped including a couch that turned into a bed. The food was really excellent. The L&D nurses were amazing and so were the recovery nurses. Some of the hospital OB/GYNs leave something to be desired, but overall the doctors were caring and attentive. Anything you advise people to do (or not do) at this hospital/birthing center? Anything pandemic related that could be helpful to them? Definitely have the birth plan filled out - it will help you advocate for yourself. The rooms here have peanut balls and birthing balls so you can leave yours at home.
  • Review from the Summer 2022 Birthing Survey

    What month and year was your child born? July 2022 Review: 10/10 would recommend. We had an incredibly positive experience. All the nurses both in labor and delivery and the postpartum floor were absolutely angels. I can’t say enough good things about them, they really went above and beyond. They really let us have plenty of privacy throughout labor so we could set the mood (dim lights, electric candles, music, etc) and do our thing. I had hoped for an in medicated birth and was a little worried they would try and pressure me and I ended up having the exact opposite experience and the team was instead extremely supportive and respectful. Weirdly, the food is quite good as well. They just renovated so now all the postpartum rooms are private which was great. Anything you advise people to do (or not do) at this hospital/birthing center? Anything pandemic related that could be helpful to them? I was pretty anxious about having to labor with a mask on but also wanted to be safe and respectful of the care team. They tested me for COVID and then when my test was negative one of the nurses let me know that it was ok for me to labor without a mask (obviously all the nurses and doctors remained masked) which I appreciated.
  • Review from the Summer 2022 Birthing Survey

    What month and year was your child born? 5/22 Review: The birthing facilities and L/D nurses were incredible. I felt like they really respected the birth plan and also rolled with it when my plans changed mid-delivery. Asked for an epidural late in labor after many hours and they were there to administer within minutes. Nurse was incredible helping with props and positions. Literally could not say enough about how much we love love loved our L/D nurse who stayed 1.5 hours after her shift ended to stay with us immediately after birth until we were moved to recovery. Mother/baby room bed was relatively comfortable though recommend your own pillow. My husband also wished he had another pillow though generally slept well on the convertible chair/couch bed they had for him. The food in mother/baby was also surprisingly great. The rooms are small but now guaranteed private which is so great, couldn’t have imagined sharing. The nurses in mother/baby were very hit or miss which was frustrating at times. I asked to see a lactation consultant multiple times and didn’t have anyone come until I begged through tears after a day and a half. Got very little support with feeding before that so be prepared to ask for what you need! Overall though wonderful experience and would absolutely deliver there again.
  • Review from the Spring 2022 Birthing Survey

    Fantastic! We were extremely well cared for after a delivery with a number of complications. The staff that helped my recovery, lactation consultants, physical therapists and everyone who cared for our baby in the NICU for a few days were all wonderful.
  • Review from the Spring 2022 Birthing Survey

    I delivered at NYU twice and had great experiences both times. The nurses were lovely and the facilities and food were great (lots of fresh veggies). Each bed had an ipad you could use to watch movies, order food, and charge your devices from. Anything you advise people to do (or not do) at this hospital/birthing center? Anything pandemic related that could be helpful to them? Be aware that there aren't showers in shared rooms and you will have to shower down the hall. There are showers in private rooms.
  • Review from the Spring 2022 Birthing Survey

    The nurses here are what make this place incredible. The shared rooms are snug but the service makes up for that. I didn’t love the rotation of attending doctors but the competency and care of the nurses made up for it.
  • Review from the Spring 2022 Birthing Survey

    Nurses (both L&D and postpartum) are excellent. Got my epidurals quickly. L&D rooms are comfortable, and they provide a yoga hall and peanut hall. We had shared postpartum rooms for both babies but without roommates for most of the time. One room was huge but for my second, it was pretty small (didn’t matter much bc it was during Covid times, so only one night stay). Food is pretty good. I would choose this hospital again if I have another baby. Anything you advise people to do (or not do) at this hospital/birthing center? If you’re planning to breastfeed, bring a nursing pillow. They provide almost everything else that you need. As of May 2021, you need to wear a mask when someone comes into your need and they’ve shortened stays.
  • Review from the Spring 2022 Birthing Survey

    We had a good experience at NYU overall and would go back if we have another baby. I had a scheduled induction and my check in process was smooth--I arrived at midnight, was shown to my L&D room right away, and the Pitocin was going by 2am. The nurses in L&D and Mother/Baby are just phenomenal. Some of the facilities are... not. The shared recovery rooms are just pure torture and the bathrooms are worse than my college freshman dorm. Anything you advise people to do (or not do) at this hospital/birthing center? Ask for a private room as soon as your baby is born. Keep asking. It is expensive but worth every penny. The shared recovery rooms are tiny under the best of circumstances but pure torture in covid.
  • Review from the Spring 2022 Birthing Survey

    Excellent but small shared rooms
  • Review from the Spring 2022 Birthing Survey

    NYU L&D was great as always. Nurses are excellent and the post partum floor is staffed with great nurses. Due to Covid there was reduced attention (not as many people coming in) and we were out in 24 hours. In hindsight I would have benefited from the extra 24 hours and more help with lactation/feeding In the hospital but it wasn’t an option. I hope that has changed because while it is annoying to have nurses come in and out, they are also super helpful and I missed that. Anything you advise people to do (or not do) at this hospital/birthing center? Sign up for a private room. The post partum rooms are very small. Line up feeding support for post partum if only staying 24 hours.
  • Review from the Spring 2022 Birthing Survey

    (Disclaimer: I work at NYU in a different department). I was so pleased with my experience at NYU. I was induced and had a long labor but felt so well taken care of. My nurses asked me about my birth plan right away and did a wonderful job of making sure my pain was managed promptly. Even though I was able to labor in a variety of positions thanks to their help. The postpartum ward was a little more hands-off, which was fine since I had my partner there to help me but could be stressful if you need more support. Anything you advise people to do (or not do) at this hospital/birthing center? Go for the private postpartum room if available, it made such a difference to have my partner there the whole time.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    The staff was phenomenal, but the rooms were terrible.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    I had an emergency c-section and felt I received excellent care.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    All of the nurses at NYU Tisch are amazing and so incredibly helpful - both the labor and delivery nurses as well as the mother-baby unit nurses. They were patient with all of my questions and super responsive to requests. When my baby's heart rate dropped during labor, the nurse immediately recognized the issue and calmly called in additional support (which was terrifying but I felt very taken care of and supported the entire time). I ended up having a long labor that was 'failing to progress' and the OB finally recommended a cesarean - the procedure itself went fine but I'd say that it is important to ask questions (and perhaps even bring a list with you just in case) - from when they recommended the procedure to getting to the OR was less than 30 minutes and was a blur, and I wish I would have had some questions prepared as they didn't really explain everything step by step. For some reason I thought they allowed immediate skin to skin during cesareans, however this wasn't my experience so it is something to be aware of and ask about! Also, its been said before but the food at NYU Tisch was excellent - and the folks who take your order are so friendly and wonderful as well.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    This was my second birth there and everyone was very professional and caring. My daughter has to stay in the NICU for ten days because of possible pneumonia and everyone was informative and accommodating. Highly recommend this hospital.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    NYU hospital was incredible. Everyone was very nice and the nurses were the most caring and supporting team. I had a C Section and talked in length to the anesthesiologist about what scared me and she held my hand throughout the whole procedure and explained things to me step by step. Mind you it’s a teaching hospital so if you don’t want med students during your procedure you have to voice it.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    There was a lot going on and I didn’t move into an L&D room until fairly late in the process but frankly I didn’t really notice as I was able to have an epidural when requested. The L&D nurses were far and away wonderful; the nurses after were fine.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    Went in for an induction, hospital staff was friendly and helpful, there was one midwife that wasn’t my kind of doctor but appreciated the support from the others. The shared rooms are way too small. That has to change. Fortunate we got a single room.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    Once we got out of triage, we loved NYU. Unfortunately, we were stuck in triage for hours, in part because of a miscommunication on shift change. That said, the nursing staff was amazing-we really loved them. The pediatrician who was present during the baby's birth was not nice (our girl was vacuumed), but I don't even know his name.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    Okay. The Labor and Delivery floor was great. They followed my birth preferences, and were very hands-off, which was appreciated. It is overall a calm process. The mother/baby floor however was very hectic and SMALL. We thankfully got a private room our second night, because the first night we had no sleep sharing. A note- make sure to ask multiple nurses / lactation consultants your questions, because I received multiple different points of view on anything I asked. It was good to know there is not 'one right way', as our very first nurse made us believe.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    Nurses are amazing but I did get food poisoning while only eating hospital trays. It was truly horrific and postpartum rooms are bad- even the private ones. Also, while they insist on continuous monitoring - I was not monitored and I had a contraction that lasted an hour.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    Overall I was happy with NYU. The downsides were the very small shared recovery rooms (but we were ultimately able to get a private room which was well worth it), and a few hours delay getting discharged while we waited for an x-ray to be reviewed the day before a holiday weekend when they seemed a little short-staffed. But everything that really mattered went well. The nurses and other staff were very warm, responsive, and helpful. Our baby was in the NICU for 36 hours and we felt he was in great hands, though once or twice they fed him with a bottle when I was 5-10 minutes late coming down to breastfeed him and we got some conflicting information early on about how soon he'd be able to join us. I thought the food was pretty good, and what my husband brought up from the cafeteria for himself was reliably good. My favorite staff person there was the woman who took my food orders; she was so nice and thoughtful. We didn't have a doula and felt fine and fully supported by the doctor and nurse during labor and delivery. Covid-specific comments are: after I tested negative (my partner just had temperature checks) we wore masks when anyone came in the room, but especially once we had the baby and didn't always have a free hands no one seemed to mind if we didn't get them up, and while I wore my mask through most of labor they instructed me to take it off for pushing.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    I felt very well cared for by all the nurses and doctors at NYU. I felt especially grateful to the nurses in the baby unit afterwards who really helped us learn how to baby!
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    If I ever have another child, I would def. want to have them at NYU again. The nurses were amazing and the facility was very clean and easy to navigate. Only complain I have is how small the shared rooms were, so if you have an opportunity and resources, get the private room.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    Great hospital with terrific nurses
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    Overall good experience! I was ushered into a labor/delivery room upon arrival which felt spacious and had a pullout sofa for my husband. Bring long charging cables as outlets are sparse. Our labor nurse was amazing - she was friendly, attentive, and answered all of our questions. I ended up needing an emergency c-section; looking back, my husband and I are impressed with how quickly I was moved to the OR and how swiftly everything occurred - very fast but organized and in control. While this wasn’t part of the plan, we were glad that we had a professional and experienced team for a successful delivery. The nurses in the maternity ward are very knowledgeable and ready to teach you all you need to know! They’re truly rock stars. They encourage rooming in with your baby but also aren’t judgmental if you need to send your baby to the nursery for a few hours to try and sleep! Facilities: After delivery, I was originally in a shared room for the first night and was able to get a private room for the subsequent nights. Not going to sugarcoat it, being in a shared room isn’t great - the rooms are small and the bathrooms are even smaller but it you can get the window side it makes it feel less claustrophobic. Shared rooms are just the reality in NYC so you make do. There are only 1 or 2 bathrooms for partners on the floor and not very clean, but I think NYU was working on addressing this. My husband was very pleased and pleasantly surprised with the recliner that he slept in! Private room was great if you can get one and are able to pay for it, especially since I wasn’t super mobile after my c-section so the private bathroom was useful. Pleasantly surprised with the quality of the food. A note for the partners: the cafeteria closes on the earlier side (7 or 8pm) so factor that in so you don’t miss a meal!
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    The hospital was busy. My labor and delivery nurse, Theresa, was incredible. A fellow park slope mom and made sure to attend to me throughout the day and my needs were being met.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    The nurses were amazing. I had severe postpartum preeclampsia and they released me too early. I had to come back to the hospital about 36 hours after being released to get treatment for it.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    My hospital experience was great - the nurses, in particular, were incredible and helpful. Our son had to stay in the NICU for a few days and the nurses there were some of the kindest people I've met. The food was good but rooms pretty tiny.
  • ER's for kids

    We recently had to take our son to the ER again and our pediatrician recommended NYU Tisch Hospital in Manhattan on 33rd and 1st Ave. It was amazing, they were very attentive, kind, and informative and when we had to stay the night they admitted us to the children’s hospital wing and the facilities were great. It’s well worth the commute.
  • 2019 Birth Survey

    Labor and delivery nurses were great. The recovery floor/rooms are overcrowded and the nurses are busy and don’t give you great 1:1 attention.
  • 2019 Birth Survey

    NYU Accelerated Childbirth Class - Very informative and did over 2 weekend days.
  • 2019 Birth Survey

    Pro: Top notch hospital. Excellent quality care. Con: Endless parade of staff coming through your room for the days following birth (some who didn’t even knock.) Too many people offering opinions. At one point I had 5 staff in my room debating about whether I should give my newborn a frenotomy to better aid the latch. I got very exasperated with this.
  • 2019 Birth Survey

    Super hectic but seems about right for a midtown Manhattan hospital. Nurses were on the whole excellent but a few lousy ones that made life harder than needed. Unfortunately I ended up with a really loud roommate that made recovery worse.
  • 2019 Birth Survey

    Great for medical care, ok for service. The nursing staff wasn't super attentive but I also didn't have too many issues.
  • 2019 Birth Survey

    Clean, modern birthing room that may have been bigger than my current apartment! The double rooms on the Mother Baby unit were tight, but I heard the new hospital is absolutely gorgeous!
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    Robin was amazing. My husband and I felt prepared for childbirth and a lot less anxious going into it. I wish I could have hired her as a doula!
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    Hospital was great - no complaints. Staff, nurses, doctors were all very friendly and professional. Baby nurses were incredible. Also, a private room for recovery is worth every penny.
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    Amazing! Each nurse was better than next. Everyone took such good care of us. top to bottom! The classes after birth were fantastic. Everyone was encouraging and amazing. All of the specialists were so smart, sweet and on point. And the food was incredible. We were not able to get a private room. Overall a really fabulous experience.
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    We had a great experience at NYU. The nurses were amazing and the food was surprisingly great. Partners are allowed to stay overnight which was great and we got very lucky not to have a roommate. Highly recommend.
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    hospital was great, most of the nurses were wonderful. My only complaint would be the shared rooms, which they are supposed to be doing away with.
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    I can't even begin to express how happy I was with NYU! The nurses were incredible, the space was comfortable, every one of my needs was beyond met and I cried so much when I was leaving because I felt so taken care of. I was in the hospital during Christmas and they were so sweet about making me feel at home and teaching us everything about our baby and how to care for her.
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    HORRIBLE experience. The hospital was so overcrowded that I was kept in a hallways for 12 hours (while in labor) before I was taken to a delivery room. The nurses were stressed, rushed, and rude because of the rush. I had to use a dirty public restroom until I was taken to my own room. It was simply awful. Everyone I know who had a positive experience at NYU did not deliver at a busy time. NYU Langone is not equipped to handle a high volume of patients, and it's not worth delivering there in case you have the bad luck to go into labor on a busy day. Find another hospital with a good NICU.
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    The nurses were amazing. The hospital rooms were terrible unless you get a single but should be changing with the opening of a new wing.
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    The nurses were fantastic. The birthing suite was very comfortable. The breastfeeding and discharge classes were very helpful. We attended the pre-delivery "orientation" class during my third trimester, which was helpful for getting an idea of where we needed to go at "go time." Would recommend going to this (free) class so that when you eventually go into labor, you're not stressing about where you need to go. I had called my OB before I left for the hospital and the nurses at NYU Langone were already expecting me when I arrived. Overall, I had a great experience here.
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    I loved it and seriously was upset that I had to leave. The nurses were so helpful and I the materials given as a part of the discharge packet were extremely helpful in the first few days at home. I do wish there were more rooms, but aside from that, I'd highly recommend it.
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    Overall NYU was a great place to give birth; however, if you are being induced keep in mind that they may schedule the induction without having any idea how crowded the hospital will be at that time. I had a scheduled 12am induction, but no labor room was available for me until after 5am. The women arriving in active labor had priority on labor rooms, so my induction began in a holding area behind a curtain. That aside, the nursing staff was really great and my stay after the delivery was as pleasant as possible.
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    Adequate. Labor room was fantastic, shared recovery room was terrible. Wasn't happy w the lactation consultants
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    Highly recommend it. Great nursing staff and facilities. The private room was worth it.
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    great! I went in on a rainy Sunday afternoon, delivered, and recovery was smooth. I got my own room (bed next to mine was empty the whole time), so we got privacy. The food was EXCELLENT. I heard food at Methodist in Brooklyn is pretty bad... Langone even had "coffee hour" for the second parent each morning, so we could get extra food for my husband. Nurses overall were caring and we felt well taken care of.
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    NYU Langone was great, nurses were helpful, delivery room was fine. After delivery we requested a private room but none were available. Instead the shared room was VERY cramped, too small for two family members to join us. Also had a terrible roommate - only complaint about NYU Langone was the space. Otherwise the staff and experience were good.
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    Overall really great. Triage was fine, labor room was great. The baby mother unit is tiny but they're renovating so everyone will have a private room. The nurses and lactation consultants in particular were fabulous (as was the food! :))
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    The labor and delivery floor at NYU was terrific. The rooms were spacious and there were a number of options for laboring (birth balls, peanut balls, squat bar, etc.) My one complaint was that their telemetry unit for continuous monitoring while walking was not working (and apparent usually is not) so I had to stay somewhat close to the bed during labor as I required continuous monitoring. The nurses were terrific and the medical team stellar (we had a shoulder dystocia complication and the nurses - both L&D and pediatric were ON IT), and my epidural (that I didn't want to have) was exactly what I asked for (very light). Was very happy with my experience at NYU Langone L&D floor. All that being said, the post-partum floor was not great. The rooms were VERY small and shared. It's basically a joke to put two women, partners and newborns in those rooms with all the needed furniture and equipment. The private rooms were limited and we were unable to get one. The breastfeeding support was pretty good, but the nurses seemed very busy and didn't have much time to help you, which was unfortunate given that you are tossed into a shared room with a newborn, recovering from labor, and none of your own comforts of home. Your partner could stay overnight, which I know isn't common at all NYC hospitals.
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    I loved NYU! I would have another baby there. The labor and delivery nurses were amazing and supportive. The team was great at keeping us updated of progress and next steps. I was in a lot of pain when I got to the hospital, and I'll be forever grateful to the doctors for giving me the quick acting epidural. The hospital was really busy the day I was in labor, so we spent a lot of time in the small triage room. The mom and baby rooms are tiny. If I had been there for more than two nights, I would have looked into a private room. The baby/mom nurses were also amazing! They provided lactation support, checked on us, and offered to take the baby so we could get some sleep.
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    2nd time birthing here and had a better experience than last time. I would prefer not to birth in a hospital environment, but I felt it was the safest option available to me. The nurses and staff are overall great. The shared rooms are incredibly tiny and uncomfortable. I would have preferred to give birth at a birth center or at home, but given that I decided to have a hospital birth (and that my OBs only deliver at NYU Langone), NYU was a good choice for me.
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    "The labor and delivery staff were all excellent at NYU Langone. That said, their delivery floor and women’s ward are overcrowded, meaning once I was out of surgery and recovery, my husband, new baby, and I were crammed in a delivery room with two other families instead of being sent up to the women’s ward. We were in that situation for about 12 hours before making it to the regular ward. And while the L&D staff was all excellent, the nursing care on the women’s ward is very hit or miss. I got lucky with two absolutely amazing nurses, but I also had a nurse who was so outrageously forgetful that I was sincerely worried for my well-being (think Amelia Bedelia level of incompetence). One more perk, though: the meals at Langone are excellent for hospital food. It seems silly, but I was ravenous while there, so I was very glad the food was good. "
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    I had gone in to the hospital to get checked out as I was 5 weeks early and my water had broken. I thought they would send me home but they ran some tests and said they would have to induce labor that day and sent me to an L&D room. It was very spacious and the nurses were great. However, even though I requested a private room for post-delivery, there were none available and I had to share a small room with another new mother and her baby. It was less than ideal but my bed was right by the window and I felt a little less claustrophobic. The nurses that checked on me the following 2 days were great thought I did feel like they discharged me and my baby too soon. She didn’t have to stay in the NICU but her bilirubin levels were high the entire time and were just on the cusp of normal when I left. They never told me how to keep her bilirubin levels low so I unknowingly underfed her when I first got home and at the advice of her pediatrician, ended up having to bring her back to the ER the next day.
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    I think NYU Tisch is the best hospital for child birthing. I had the most amazing time at that hospital despite a difficult labor. We had an amazing team of doctors and nurses. Very knowledgible, enthusiastic, and warm. We felt so taken cared of. Post birth, we had amazing an amazing night nurse who spent a lot of time with us, teaching us how to breastfeed and care for the baby properly. We are so thankful that we chose NYU as the place to give birth to our son Based on a September 2017 birthing experience.
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    I had a really good experience at Langone. My labor was frighteningly short and I was basically already pushing when I arrived at the hospital, which was really scary for a first-time mom! A security guard got me in a wheelchair and rushed me upstairs, where a whole bunch of nurses started to take immediate care of me. I was only at the hospital for 25 minutes before my daughter was born, but they still tried to take a moment to look at the birth plan I'd written up - they provided the form at one of my prenatal visits. There was immediate skin-to-skin afterwards and all the procedures were done with my baby on my chest for the first hour or so (after which they just took her for a moment to weigh/measure her). The nurses were all very nice and everything went better than I could have imagined during the birth and few hours afterwards. During the two days of recovery, I also had really nice nurses and even the food wasn't bad (I'm vegetarian). We paid extra for the private room and it seemed completely worth the extra money, though pricey. I appreciated that I was never separated from my baby, and my night nurse showed me how to give her a sponge bath. I also saw three lactation consultants during my time there. Unfortunately, that ended up not being very helpful and I spent the first ten days exclusively pumping until I hired a private consultant. However, a lactation consultant from the hospital did call to check in on me the next week and I think patients can go back in for more support even after they're discharged. Based on a August 2017 birthing experience.
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Fabulous. Especially the nursing staff and the fact that we scored a private room. Based on a April 2017 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the 2016 Birth Survey

    Recommend? Highly recommend Review: The labor and delivery nurses and rooms were excellent. Rooms were spacious with useful tools for labor such as exercise balls etc. Nurses were knowledgeable and skilled, and also flexible in allowing me to labor the way I wanted even while connected to the monitor. I also found the post-partum nurses helpful and almost all newborn tests and procedures were done at the bedside. They were very supportive of breastfeeding and had lactation consultants available day and night. My only complaint was the small post-partum rooms that did not have showers, there were shared showers down the hall. Member notes about insurance: In network with my insurance so has not been an issue Based on a March 2016 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the 2016 Birth Survey

    Recommend? Highly recommend Review: My experience with NYU is overall very positive. We delivered on a Friday morning and we were in a room just after noon with only about 2 hours spent in the recovery room from the c section surgery. The nursing staff was wonderful all weekend. Our room was well lit and clean. We shared a room. Our roommate was less than respectful and had visitors coming in well after 10 PM. The staff stepped in and asked her to keep things quiet. There was no question about my husband staying with me or about rooming in. All of that was just as expected. My criticism comes in the form of communication. While we were there, the internal wifi was not working and the staff had trouble scanning bracelets, answering calls, etc. The nurses were great at creating work arounds and managed but it was frustrating for them and for patients. Additionally, the lactation consultants that came to see me were less than helpful, seemed rushed, and weren't communicating with each other, it seems. We had latch issues, which weren't detected and then at the end when baby had lost 10.5%, the pediatrician freaked out at me that she had lost too much weight. I had to inquire about a breast pump because no one ever raised it with me and then someone had marked my chart as not interested. All in all, it just left me feeling scared as I left the hospital that I was doing things wrong and I think it could have been helped had there been clearer communication and had the lactation consultants actually examined our latch. Also, no one ever asked if we had a nursing pillow. We brought iurs to the hospital, but it wasn't until Midway through the first night that I remembered that I had it, as I was falling asleep in bed trying to nurse. And then I had to wait until someone checked on me to get the pillow out. That all said, I still think that NYU is an amazing facility and I would go back again. We had no complications, the nursing staff was fantastic as were the doctors. Advice: Don't assume that they will tell you things and make sure that your husband asks the questions you are too tired to remember. Member notes about insurance: They took our insurance. Everything was billed directly. We just received the bills afterwards and paid them. Based on a February 2016 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Review: The nurses were amazing. I never felt rushed or pressured to do anything I didn't want to do. It was a very caring staff of medical professionals, I can't speak highly enough of them. Recommend? Highly recommend Insurance: They take Aetna. Based on a August 2015 birth.
  • Based on a 2014 Birthing Experience

    Member Review: I had a scheduled c-section so did not come into the hospital in labor. It was all very calm. My procedure kept getting pushed back since other women were in active labor, which was a little frustrating (I was definitely anxious to meet my son!) but understandable. The staff was lovely and only occasionally did we have to track someone down to get the latest update on timing. Once under way, the c-section went smoothly, the staff was competent. It's a teaching hospital but I didn't mind the extra instruction going on. Post-birth, we were able to get a private room, which was AMAZING. I think it was key to our experience. My husband was able to stay with me and the baby the entire time, in his own bed. It was nice having the space to start bonding as a family, and to start my physical recovery. The nurses were also wonderful, especially the night coverage. I can't speak highly enough of the nursing staff. Do you recommend? Highly recommend If possible and within reach financially, get a private room. It's so worth it. Insurance details: No issues with insurance. (Review submitted via the 2014 Birthing Survey)