host2 www.parkslopeparents.com
serv2 www.parkslopeparents.com

NYU Childbirth Class

https://www.parkslopeparents.com/components/com_jbusinessdirectory/assets/no_image.jpg
NYU Childbirth Class

Description

We don't have a description for this business. If this is your business and you'd like to find out how to improve this page, please get in touch.

Reviews (18)

  • Review from the Spring 2022 Birthing Survey

    I would say it's not worth the money. It was done over zoom and the instructor struggled with the technical part of it - often presenting on a poster she held up in front of the camera. She was super knowledgeable, but don't think I learned much outside of what is covered in a book about delivery. I would have picked an in-person option if possible, and certainly something shorter (it was 3x 3 hour sessions) and more focused on relaxation, pain management and preparing for possible complications that can happen (she spent a lot of time saying that pushing was super easy and your body and the baby know what to do -- that was not the case for me).
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    For my first baby, we did a weekend course at NYU where it covered birthing and basics of how to take care of your baby when you get home from the hospital. I felt they were VERY informative! I was terrified of the unknown of what child birth would be like and I felt much more confident after taking that class. Also, while being so focused on being pregnant, I hadn’t spent much time thinking about what to actually do with a new baby when you come home, so that piece was also very beneficial. This was now five years ago, so I forget the instructors name, but she was a midwife who was excellent!
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    For my first baby, we did a weekend course at NYU where it covered birthing and basics of how to take care of your baby when you get home from the hospital. I felt they were VERY informative! I was terrified of the unknown of what child birth would be like and I felt much more confident after taking that class. Also, while being so focused on being pregnant, I hadn’t spent much time thinking about what to actually do with a new baby when you come home, so that piece was also very beneficial. This was now five years ago, so I forget the instructors name, but she was a midwife who was excellent!
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    Wish I had gone elsewhere.
  • 2019 Birth Survey

    Amazing
  • Review submitted via the Park Slope Parents 2017 Birth Survey

    It was a 5 week class that could have been done in 3 weeks, but it was very informative and helpful. Just too long. Based on a August 2017 birthing experience.
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    NYU - Prepared Childbirth Course The Course in person was awful, but then we got access to the e-education and that was great! Based on a June 2017 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Very good. Simple, realistic, open to questions and alternatives, very reassuring and clear. Based on September 2016 birth experience
  • Review submitted via the 2016 Birth Survey

    Infant Care Class - NYU Langone Hospital. Review: Bad! This was a quick 2-3 hour session, but it was a big waste of time. The instructor was flippant, and unfocused. She spent a good portion of the 'class' going around and asking each couple where they worked and what their parental leave policy was - which was not only unhelpful, but was kind-of intrusive. Then her instructions were really basic. And when people asked questions that she didn't like, she wasn't very nice. For example, I asked how to burp a baby, and her only response was 'breastfed babies don't need to burp very much.' Well...I can say after breastfeeding a baby for 6 months, they do! And it is good to know how to do it! And...she should have answered more generally too for post-formula feeds. I would not recommend to anyone, disappointing from such a quality hospital. Based on May 2016 Birth Experience
  • Review submitted via the 2016 Birth Survey

    Review: The class was fabulous! Although it was two intense days (9 a.m. to 5 p.m. Saturday and Sunday) it was worth it. The class is taught by a doula and supports as natural a hospital birth as possible, while reviewing all options for women. It reviews everything you ever wanted to know about childbirth, from methods of delivery, to pain relief (natural), to medication, potential complications and interventions, and hands-on Lamaz techniques using birthing balls, massage and other approaches with your partner. I think it was the best thing my husband and I did to prepare. Member notes about insurance: No I don't think so. But it was worth the out of pocket expense. There are numerous classes offered by NYU Langone that range from $100 to $500 or so. Based on a February 2016 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the 2016 Birth Survey

    Review: Very informative and hands on positions and breathing Member notes about insurance: No Based on a February 2016 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Type: Accelerated Prepared Childbirth Review: LOVED this class. taught by a british nurse, who is also a doula. She was very funny, and matter of fact, and kept hitting home the importance of letting your body do what it needs to do - that birth is a natural process. Again, she emphasized that the longer you stay home during labor, the better chances that you don't become a medical procedure. Really loved the approach, which seems to be the essence of NYU. Insurance: I think you can claim on FSA Based on a May 2015 birth
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Type: "Prepared Childbirth" (child birth and child care, full day Saturday/Sunday) Review: Absolutely recommend it. It made me much more comfortable with the whole experience and the teacher (a former nurse and patient advocate at NYU Langone) was wonderful Insurance: It wasn't covered by my health insurance, but I was able to get reimbursed through my healthcare FSA. Based on a 2015 birth
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Type: Prepared Childbirth Review: This class was very useful. I had no idea what to expect really from labor or really anything to do with having a newborn baby and it covered all the basics. It was a two-day class over a weekend and it was very thorough. I felt much better prepared after taking it. It went over basic things such as which elevator to go to in the hospital to labor signs to breathing techniques to swaddling and breast feeding. It definitely helped me formulate my birth plan and gave me full information about different pain relief techniques / drugs and things like that. Insurance: I didn't even think to try? Based on a September 2015 birth
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Type: Childbirth - weekly for six weeks on weekdays Review: I'd go for the weekend cram session instead. Useful info but doing this for three hours on Wednesday night in third trimester is tough. Insurance: No Based on a Nov 2015 birth
  • (no subject)

    Just to echo some of the feedback - I enjoyed the childbirth classes at NYU and had a great delivery experience there too. I took the breastfeeding course as well but didn't find it very helpful -- but you will get great support from the nurses and they have daily breastfeeding workshops at the hospital once the babe is born.
  • (no subject)

    I had a great experience with the NYU Childbirth classes. We did the six-week course as well as the breastfeeding workshop. Both were helpful, though the childbirth series was much better than the breastfeeding class. I agree with a previous responder that the instructor makes a difference. If you are giving birth at NYU, I think the tour and other NYU-specific tidbits sprinkled throughout the course were extremely helpful. We felt like it was money and time well-spent.
  • (no subject)

    I felt prepared by NYU's childbirth class, and my husband, who was reluctant to go, actually found the classes interesting and useful. Of course, much depends on the individual instructor. I also gave birth at NYU and appreciated the tour provided by the class.