host2 www.parkslopeparents.com
serv2 www.parkslopeparents.com

Mount Sinai West (formerly St. Luke's Roosevelt birthing center)

https://www.parkslopeparents.com/components/com_jbusinessdirectory/assets/no_image.jpg
Mount Sinai West (formerly St. Luke's Roosevelt birthing center)
  • Manhattan
    57th and 10th Ave in Manhattan
    See Map | Get Directions

Description

We don't have a description for this business. If this is your business and you'd like to find out how to improve this page, please get in touch.

Reviews (71)

  • Review from the Spring 2022 Birthing Survey

    Overall I had a very positive experience at Mount Sinai West. We were some of the first patients to use their new birth recovering wing, and it's about as nice as one of those corporate hotels (i.e. VERY nice for a hospital!). The majority of the L&D nurses were incredible, loving, and good at their job. I had gestational diabetes so they had to check in on me whenever my monitors shifted (which was a lot) so I had a ton of interaction with the nurses. They were kind and patient with me. While the majority of the hospital staff were helpful, I did have a bad interaction with one nurse who was inattentive and less than careful. At one point my midwife was getting nervous about baby's heart rate. She was ready to advise that we use some method of assistance such as the vacuum. The doctor on shift came in timely and calmly assessed the situation but was not concerned. I liked that he wasn't quick to revert to interventions when I wanted to keep pushing. Turns out her umbilical cord was wrapped around her ankle so it made it a little harder but all was fine! Anything you advise people to do (or not do) at this hospital/birthing center? Anything pandemic related that could be helpful to them? One thing that I didn't anticipate during recovery is that due to the COVID surge at the time, we were not allowed to get our own water. We had to call in a nurse fairly often to refill our water bucket. A piece of advice: bring speakers or headphones to play music even when sleeping. The delivery rooms are not sound proof so you may hear someone else's birth which can be anxiety inducing.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    Loved the Mount Sinai class (taught by a doula) the Wild Was Mama class was a little crunchy for me.
  • Private room on a PPO plan at Mount Sinai West?

    my understanding when I was there was that the private rooms are first come first serve (and are $900/night) doesn’t matter what you plan ppo etc. is, since it’s an up grade it’s out of pocket. They recommend putting your credit card as a holder once you are admitted, I don’t think they allow you to before that. I went into labor and delivered on Friday (which is one of the busiest nights) and we did not get a room). All the other rooms are doubles and even if you are the only one in it at the start of the night often a new mom will be put in before the end of the night. Since they took away the birthing center (at the start of this year 2019) I believe there are more rooms available since when I gave birth (oct. 2018).
  • Private room on a PPO plan at Mount Sinai West?

    I had both of my kids at Mount Sinai West (the first was born before they switched names). Both times I was able to secure a private room without much fuss. The second time they didn’t ask, so much husband went and requested one. But, it all worked out. We had an awesome experience. The staff was amazing. Hope you have the same!
  • Mt. Sinai West v. Cornell

    I delivered both my children at my Sinai west and had excellent experiences. They were both scheduled inductions, and I was able to go in at the planned time and experienced no overcrowding. I didn’t even have a roommate in my “shared” recovery room for most of my stay with my daughter. The nurses and my ob (dr Chuu who delivered both my kids and who I cannot recommend enough) we’re truly amazing- so supportive, kind and knowledgeable. It was a very positive experience and I highly recommend it.
  • Mt. Sinai West v. Cornell

    I delivered at MSW in October. The doctor on call from my practice convinced me to go to the hospital when I called wondering if my water had broke two months early. Turns out it had and roughly 24 hours later, my son arrived. We hadn't even taken a tour of the hospital yet, but found all of the staff incredibly supportive. One of the overnight L&D nurses didn't seem to know exactly what was going on (that the monitor wasn't picking up my contractions when they first started around midnight) but it was my first pregnancy/labor and in hindsight, I was actually relieved that I didn't know I was in active labor (two months early) for the first several hours. Not that you would need this - but the NICU doctors and nurses were phenomenal and I really appreciated the nurses on the post-partum floor. It would have been nice to have had my own room - but the nurses are in quite often to check on you, so I'm not sure how much sleep I would have gotten in my own room. However then my husband would have been able to stay with me... Ultimately I think I would return to MSW if I am pregnant again despite having to share a room (you can get your own for an exorbitant fee) because of our positive experience with our practice (Dr. Katrina Bradley and team were amazing) the nurses and within the NICU.
  • Mt. Sinai West v. Cornell

    My experience at MSW 8 months ago was average-perhaps poor. On the upside, I found the waiting area to be run fairly efficiently. I called ahead when my contractions were 2min apart and got to the hospital at 7cm. As quickly as they could move me to triage and then a delivery room, they did (maybe about 45min in total). While waiting to be moved there were about 5 or 6 other people waiting to be seen. One also in labor. They seem to really prioritize who needs a room most urgently and go from there. I never saw anyone laboring in the hallways during several visits to L&D. Where it went downhill for me was the nursing staff and auxiliary doctors (anasthesiologist). The nurse I spent the most time with had been newly transferred from MSE and you would have thought it was her first day of nursing school. She was super stressed out, kept confusing my heart rate with the baby’s heart rate (triggering emergency teams to rush into my room unnecessarily), didn’t understand how to use/read the equipment. If I had occurred to me (sadly it didn’t cause I had been laboring for about 36 hours by that point) I would have requested she be replaced. She was AWFUL. The anesthesiologist who was on call to oversee epidurals refused to do as asked when I wanted the epidural halved for pushing. We got into an argument. In both instances the OB monitoring my care had to speak with the nurse and the anesthesiologist in the hall. I can’t say my nursing after care was much better. My mom, who was a professor of Maternal, Neonatal, and Newborn nursing for 40 years was outraged at the nursing care (and she wasn’t present for the birth)-to the point she wrote a letter after I was discharged. All I have to compare it to was a few visits to NYU L&D triage, super crowded, but I found the nurses to be more knowledgeable and supportive. All in all I was satisfied with how my birth went, but not necessarily because of the hospital. If I were to deliver again I would have to think long and hard if I would go back.
  • Mt. Sinai West v. Cornell

    My son is 11 months old and I delivered at Mt Sinai West last August. I spent 8 hours or so in triage because they didn't have a delivery room available. I couldn't get an epidural because it was overnight and they won't give an epidural overnight in triage for some reason. They didn't monitor me much in triage which was a bit nerve wracking but also good because I was able to stand up the whole time and waddle to the bathroom down the hall a ton (turns out my son's head was on my bladder). I really like my OB which is why we ended up there but the idea of delivering there again someday makes me anxious. I don't have any complaints about the care post delivery.
  • Mt. Sinai West v. Cornell

    I had my baby at Mt Sinai West in 2016. Overcrowding was a bit of an issue. Mine was a planned induction, and even though I was schedule to go to the hospital at 4 it wasn't until after 8 that I was finally hooked up with everything. They seemed to not have the right equipment... we had to wait to start the pitocin because they didn't have enough iv drip machines (this is a hospital! They really couldn't scrounge one up from somewhere???). They didn't have wireless monitoring so I was stuck in bed the entire time. And when I had to go to the bathroom they put a bed pan in an upholstered chair. I had to hold myself up with my arms and hover over the bedpan to pee or it would tip over. It was terrible. This would not be an issue if you don't need continuous monitoring though. Honestly, the only thing that made it okay was my midwife. The nurse was fine but not outstanding in any way. I gave birth before 11 and it was not until 4 am that I got settled into a room. The nurses there were fine, again, not outstanding, but generally reliable and kind. They did screw up my birth certificate though. Basically I was told to email the name of my daughter to a person that no longer worked there, and when I called the phone number it was for the same person who didn't work there. I left voice mail after voice mail and finally got the head of the hospital involved. Hopefully they've gotten the staffing issue figured out by now! What was astonishing to me is that NO ONE seemed to know that person was gone and that the office they handled birth certificates was unstaffed. I guess that's a pretty damning review. I wouldn't give birth there again. But I'm not sure the other hospitals are significantly better.
  • Mt. Sinai West v. Cornell

    I delivered at Mt Sinai West in June, and had a good experience. I selected that hospital for the birth center, which unfortunately closed in December 2018. I worked with a midwife practice (associated with Dr Paka - would recommend them!), and while I didn't have my ideal birth I had a very good experience. The L&D nurses were great. I had to be induced so wasn't able to do a lot of walking or other non medical pain management but I never felt judged or worried. I like that they offer the gas as a pain management option, which I believe is not common for city hospitals. The waiting room before we went in was a bit full though not crowded, but it was all people waiting to be induced, no one in active labor. Once I went in I didn't see anyone in the hallway or without a room. I would plan to deliver there again
  • Mt. Sinai West v. Cornell

    I just delivered at Mount Sinai West and had an overall great experience. To the specific question of overcrowding, I didn't experience anything concerning. I was induced so we waited a long while in the triage waiting room but we knew to expect that since I wasn't in active labor. A woman who came in in active labor was taken back into a delivery room quickly. And once I was taken into the back I was put directly into a room. The nurses and staff were overall truly wonderful. There were one or two residents who came through who I didn't love but all of the nurses were exceptionally kind, knowledgeable, and helpful and I felt that I got great care from the doctors during labor and postpartum. I've been hospitalized in a different hospital before and didn't have nearly as positive an experience with the staff.
  • Review submitted via the 2016 Birth Survey

    I had a great experience with both of my deliveries there! Nurses are attentive and L&D rooms are clean and as comfortable as possible given you are in a hospital. Based on June 2016 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Review: I had a private room (gave birth to twins) and it was worth every penny. We had a pleasant experience following my c-section and the delivery nurses were great. My only complaint was an intake nurse who was very insensitive concerning my prior sexual assault, which was totally irrelevant to my delivery. Recommend? Recommend Insurance: No issues. Based on a August 2015 birth.
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    We went to St Lukes because I liked my ob/gyn and didn't want to switch doctors. I also delivered my first child there but the two experiences were radically different. With the second baby, I was lucky enough to have a room to myself even though we didn't request a private room. The baby stayed with me most of the time, and the nurses were non-obtrusive, checking on me and the baby when we were awake, combining checks rather than adhering strictly to the clock. When I needed to take the baby to the nursery, it was easy. This time around felt like a more coordinated and patient-centered experience than the one I had with my first child. I went to a breastfeeding class with a lactation consultant, which I don't remember the hospital having previously. The only negative for me was that I had a very fast labor with both kids, and the triage staff didn't do me any favors either time. I suppose they're following protocol and it would be the same just about anywhere, but when a woman is fully dilated, there is no point in asking for a urine sample. It's just not gonna happen! Recommend Yes, it took our insurance. No problems there. Based on a May 2015 birth.
  • Based on a 2014 Birthing Experience

    Lamaze Member Review: We had Harriet Barry as our Lamaze instructor. She was absolutely phenomenal and most importantly taught us the philosophy of how to approach childbirth and be an advocate for yourself during this process. Breathing exercises and dealing with labor pain were also very well covered. We were well prepared to deal with the difficult decisions that came up during labor and even though nothing goes as planned, we ended up getting the outcome that mattered the most - avoiding a Cesarean delivery. (Review submitted via the 2014 Birthing Survey) Insurance details: Not covered
  • Based on a 2014 Birthing Experience

    St. Lukes/Roosevelt Member Review: The L&D experience was crazy frustrating, but that was mostly because I was induced and had to be continuously monitored, which I believe led directly to my getting a c-section. I was told this doctor or that nurse would be right in, and they would be there two hours later. I had a horrible resident who was 10 years younger than me and extremely condescending. But the nurses were lovely. The postpartum nursing staff was lovely. The nurses are lactation specialists and really helpful those first few days of trying to get the baby to latch. The only thing is that you have to be on point with requesting your meds. They won't bring them to you automatically, even though they write down exactly when you are supposed to get your next dose on a white board in your room that just stares at you and taunts you while you call the nurses' station in pain. Do you recommend? Recommend Insurance details: Yes, and we had no problems (knock wood that we don't get some crazy leftover bill now...) (Review submitted via the 2014 Birthing Survey)
  • Based on a 2014 Birthing Experience

    Member Review: I had hopes that I would be able to deliver exactly the way I wanted, but I wasn't super strict about it. I wanted the birthing center but it was full and I wasn't dilated enough, so I was either going to hobble around 10th Ave and try my luck again in a few hours (it was 10 pm when I went in), or I was going to nest on the normal L&D floor. I opted for the latter, knowing that my doctor would comply to natural wishes regardless of the floor I'm on. I didn't bring the ball, I just got comfortable and let my bump get intermittently monitored. My cervix wasn't complying to my uterus' signals and I ended up caving to an epidural after 24 hours. I screamed a lot during those 24 hours. I puked from pain a few times. I couldn't even keep water down, and was getting dehydrated fast. So once the IV was in to treat the dehydration, it was annoying on top of painful, and most of the nurses were not sympathetic. I walked down the L&D hall and looked at the pictures of kids from around the world. There is one of a mom holding a baby over a curbside. My doula has seen this hallway and passed this picture a thousand times, but I stopped at first pass and saw a curry-colored poop dangling out of the kid's bottom. The hold was a pooping-baby hold, but both the mom and the kid were camera conscious and smiling. It made me laugh, and kept my my mind off the pain for a few seconds. The 20 min post birth was the scariest part for me. Lots of blood, stitches and jitters kept me from holding my new babe, and in the awe and tumult of his arrival, we forgot that daddy was to cut the umbilical cord, not the doc. The post partem room's intercom wasn't working and the poor lady recovering from a c-section was trying to call out for more medication and wasn't getting any response. There was one good nurse out of a dozen that kept breezing by, so I got to know her schedule really well and only wanted my baby bathed by her. Lactation consultants did keep coming by but weren't much help. I really just wanted out of there, and left as soon as I could, which was about 24 hours after delivery. Do you recommend? Recommend Be ready that only every 5th nurse will actually be pleasant. Insurance details: Yes, no issues with having United Heathcare.
  • Based on a 2014 Birthing Experience

    Member Review: Overall, my experience with St. Luke's was good. I had originally wanted to give birth in the birthing center but I risked out and ended up in L&D. The nurses were nice and helpful both in L&D and in recovery. The rooms were fine but nothing special. I did make use of the tub and was very thankful they had one in every room. The food was pretty crummy so my husband brought in food for most meals. The nurses did not help me as much with breastfeeding as I had been led to believe they would. That being said, we did not have any significant issues with breastfeeding, so I was not very proactive with requesting help. Do you recommend? Recommend Insurance details: I had no problems with their insurance billing processes/timeliness (Review submitted via the 2014 Birthing Survey)
  • Based on a 2014 Birthing Experience

    St. Lukes Roosevelt Member Review: Overall, my experience in Labor & Delivery was positive. One of my few complaints was that they did not have success getting the monitor to record my contractions and therefore did not accurately assess how far along I was in the labor process. They did make several attempts to correct this, but unfortunately were not success and the medical team seemed to be taken off guard by how quickly I progressed. Do you recommend? Recommend Labor and Delivery was great, but the Maternity Ward left a lot to be desired. After giving birth, I requested a meal and was told that it was "past dinner time" and that they did not have any food for me. Several times they were delayed in responding to my simple requests. The biggest challenge came from the lack of a lactation consultant and nurses who provided assistance were aggressive and unhelpful when it came to breast feeding support. Insurance details: No issues with insurance. (Review submitted via the 2014 Birthing Survey)
  • Based on a 2014 Birthing Experience

    Member Review: We had an amazing post-partum experience in a private room and thought it was worth every penny. It was essentially a crash course on how to handle a newborn with a 24-hour nursing staff who was available to demonstrate how to do things and answer any questions related to Mom's recovery or the newborn. I don't see it doing it any other way. The nurses in the labor section were also excellent and gave us enough space to proceed with labor and leave us alone when we preferred it. Do you recommend? Highly recommend Make sure that no first year residents try to give you a hep lock. I had bruises for 1+ week after failed attempts to find a vein and the resident ended up calling regular nursing staff for help. No such complaints with the regular nurses. Insurance details: No issues (Review submitted via the 2014 Birthing Survey)
  • Based on a 2014 Birthing Experience

    Member Review: As indicated I had a c-section and both of my twins since preemies, were taken care of in the NICU. While the rooms are not state of the art, the human factor made the difference. Absolutely all the nurses, day and night, were extremely competent, helpful (explaining and training a new mom like me tirelessly) and also showed a lot of empathy. I felt well cared for. Do you recommend? Highly recommend Insurance details: Ensure what your plan covers. While all hospital bills were covered without issues and the NICU is in network, the doctors in the NICU are not, thus prepare to fight and negotiate bills for that part. My insurance United Healthcare, highest plan available. (Review submitted via the 2014 Birthing Survey)
  • Based on a 2014 Birthing Experience

    Member Review: I got mixed reviews of St Lukes - so I did research and found out all their policies - eg. husbands cant stay over if you share a room etc. I had a great experience with nurses and staff. No surprises other than a very smooth experience. Do you recommend? Highly recommend Insurance details: Yep. Easy. (Review submitted via the 2014 Birthing Survey)
  • Based on a 2014 Birthing Experience

    Member Review: Do you recommend? Highly recommend Insurance details: (Review submitted via the 2014 Birthing Survey)
  • Based on a 2014 Birthing Experience

    Member Review: The L&D nurses are great. Really wonderful. I wouldn't have hired a doula if I'd known how great they would be. Even though I wanted a totally natural birth, I endd up on pitocin and I really loved some of the interventions that the natural birth community tends to look down upon (e.g. continuous monitoring -- it was so reassuring to see my baby's heartbeat ticking away, and I loved that my husband could anticipate when a contraction was coming without my having to tell him.) I also had the epidural even though I'd hoped not to, and the anesthesiologists were really quick, and really good. The epidural, in my case, was enough to take the edge off, but I could definitely still feel major pressure during the contractions and all through pushing. It did not allow me to sleep at all (which is what I wanted, even though I got it only 4 hrs into labor (at 7cm, but I was on pitocin), and my total labor & delivery was only 7hrs!). I kept on saying, "I can still feel the pain!" They would say, "you can feel the pressure, but not the pain!" I was like, "the pressure IS the pain, idiots!" But it did take things down a couple notches for sure, in retrospect. And it made pushing just bearable. So if you care/if it would help to know, I think understanding what kind of epidural you'll be given based on the circumstances (how far dilated, etc) is something I would have liked to have known, so I would have had appropriate expectations. But I also think my midwife made the right call given that I delivered 3 hrs later, even though I desperately wanted something stronger that would have let me sleep even 1hr. The nurses in the maternity ward will want to take the baby to wash him, take his temp/vitals every 8 hours or whatever. I would highly, highly recommend that you or your partner go with them when they do that. They'll say something like, "It'll only take a minute!" and they will seem really authoritative and pushy and put out that you want to go with, and it will be tempting b/c everyone will be so tired, but when you go with them to the nursery, you can see what they do with the unaccompanied babies. They line them up in their bassinets and attend to them when they attend to them -- even if they are crying/screaming, whatever. When you are there with the baby they feel pressure to do what you came to do right away, and it all gets done more quickly AND you are sure your baby isn't screaming in a bassinet against a wall without you there. At least if your baby is screaming you will be there with him to comfort him! They will act like you're high maintenance, because it makes their jobs a little bit more tricky, but I was so glad that even the 2nd night, when we didn't pay for a private room and my husband had to go home in the evening, that I got up in the middle of the night and went with them to the nursery, even though I was so so so tired. The being said, if you can afford a private room, do it, even just for the first night. You will be exhausted and want your own space to revel in your new little person. Plus the food is WAY better, and no one feels like going out for take out when you have a brand new baby. Do you recommend? Recommend Once you deliver the baby and are moved to the maternity wing, they are much less hands-on, especially if you keep your baby with you the whole time. They really expect you to do everything, which I guess is how it is once you get home! That was a bit of a shock after how hands-on everyone is in the L&D room. For instance, in the L&D room, they come to check on your bleeding and help you change your underwear and fashion this makeshift pad out of chux pads which is infinitely more comfortable than the big bulky pads they have you use later, but when you move to the maternity room, they don't do that for you at all. There are supplies in a basket by the table (but no chux pads!), and you're expected to do all that yourself. Speaking of chux pads, if you're going to take home a bunch of hospital supplies (what your partner should be tasked with), you need to take the chux pads from the L&D room before going to recovery -- they don't stock them on the maternity ward! I discovered this too late; don't make the same mistake I did! Insurance details: Bills are complicated, billing staff via phone is very courteous and helpful in helping you understand them. (Review submitted via the 2014 Birthing Survey)
  • Based on a 2014 Birthing Experience

    Member Review: Roosevelt Hospital was great with all pre-labor appointment. I had monthly ultasounds due to a fibroid and they were easy with appointments and short waits. Once I was in labor, my first labor and delivery nurse was slightly overbearing. I was on pitocin and she made me remain bed ridden (not even allowed to go to the bathroom). I think this was overboard and I should have asked more questions. My second labor and delivery nurse was better but I had an epidural already so this wasn't an issue. My unscheduled C-section went flawlessly. I did not have a private post partum room since they were $900/night. My roommates were fine. The post partem nurses were over worked and some of them were down right mean. In the middle of the night, I would have to ring my bell many many times to get attention. This is a scary situation when it's your first baby, you're bedridden because of a C-section, and you don't know what to do with your baby. The nurses were good lactation consultants. Do you recommend? Recommend with reservations Bring a doula or ask more questions, ask for a doctor if you're not liking your nurse. Insurance details: My experience with filing claims was fine. (Review submitted via the 2014 Birthing Survey)
  • Based on a 2014 Birthing Experience

    Member Review: I delivered my second child at the Roosevelt Birthing Center in September 2014. It was a smooth, wonderful experience! It was incredible to be able to give birth in a way that felt entirely natural (big contrast from my first delivery). I used Midwifery of Manhattan - and all the women there were kind, attentive and very supportive. The nurse at the Birthing Center was great too. Could not recommend this facility more. Very happy! Do you recommend? Highly recommend Guidelines to be able to get into the Birthing Center for delivery are strict, but I've heard the regular L&D floor is great too. All the best. Insurance details: I believe Midwifery of Manhattan takes Cigna, and the hospital takes most insurances. I had no problems, just needed to pay the deductibles. (Review submitted via the 2014 Birthing Survey)
  • Based on a 2014 Birthing Experience

    Member Review: The nurses were wonderful. We loved our triage nurse. The delivery nurses were all great. Recovery nurses are very knowledgable about breastfeeding. Standard practice here is the baby stays in your room. Do you recommend? Highly recommend Insurance details: Insurance was not a problem for us. (Review submitted via the 2014 Birthing Survey)
  • Private room vs shared room in the hospital after birth

    I was at St Luke's Roosevelt. When I gave birth to my February daughter, I had to wait in the hall for a bit to get even a shared room. No private rooms were available. The mother I was bunking with wanted to sleep and wasn't nursing, so her baby was in the nursery. In my attempt to be considerate, I was changing diapers and nursing in the dark and utterly uncomfortable. So, if possible, you might want to ask for a roommate with a similar profile. For my son, we were the only family in the birthing center. It was nice! A private room is great--but don't get your heart set on it.
  • Private room vs shared room in the hospital after birth

    St. Luke's private rooms are so expensive I thought I could hack it in a shared room - and then my roommate moved in, and I realized it wasn't going to work. Loud, cursing visitors, blaring tv -- in other words not a restful intro to new parenthood. I switched to the private room and it was great. The food, the nurses and having my husband get to sleep over, all made the huge price tag seem worth it. And was able to move into the regular rooms the next night, but thanks to the nice nurse from the first night, got setup in one of the rooms that didn't have anyone else admitted to them and it was just as nice as the expensive room. So a lot of it is just luck (or whether it's a full moon or something?)
  • Private room vs shared room in the hospital after birth

    I have given birth at St. Luke's twice, and went private room both times. I've heard far too few positive stories of shared rooms and far, far, far too many horror stories - or even stories of discontent - to have entertained the idea of sharing. After birth, we're all sore, tired, freaked out, and have visitors... none of which is conducive to the sanity of our roommate (and vice-versa). If you are able to swing a private room, I can't recommend it enough.
  • Private room vs shared room in the hospital after birth

    I gave birth at St Lukes and moved to a shared room. It was fine in the beginning until my room-mate cell phone did not stop ringing and she was on the phone pretty much the whole time I was there. I asked her politely to put her phone on vibrate but it was ignored. I complained to one of the nurses but she told me "there is nothing they can do about it". So, it left me no choice but to moved to a private room to get a good rest. Private room in St Lukes is amazing. The room was big with couch and extra bed. The food was excellent (they have a whole menu from breakfast to dinner and a refrigerator full of sodas and waters). The nurses are more attentive (in my opinion) and most of all, my husband was able to stay with me the whole time while I was resting. Yes, it was expensive but it was worth the stay.
  • Feedback of St. Luke's Roosevelt childbirth class, please!

    I second [below]'s review and we were in the same class! Loved Janet Bogardus. Highly recommend this class. Money very well spent.
  • Feedback of St. Luke's Roosevelt childbirth class, please!

    We just did the weekend intensive that they offer and our teacher was Olga and she was great! They cover a lot in the 2 days and it's also great to be there if you are delivering there to get a feel for the place and a tour as a part of the class. I actually liked getting everything over the 2 day period (especially good if you are close to your due date I think) because you don't have a chance to forget from class to class it really allows you to focus.
  • Feedback of St. Luke's Roosevelt childbirth class, please!

    I had a great experience with the childbirth class at St. Luke's Roosevelt, which is also where I gave birth. Janet Bogardus was our teacher for both the initial lamaze class with our 1st child and a refresher class for our second child. I really liked how the class took a practical approach -- unless you have a scheduled c-section, you never know how the birth will actually pan out -- so it covered everything from breathing techniques for natural pain relief to epidurals to inductions to c-sections.
  • Re: Need advice please on hospital and midwife

    This fall, we had our second child at SLR in the birth center and couldn't have had a better experience. Our group of midwives were excellent throughout pregnancy, birth and post partum. The nurses we had were also excellent. If you really want a natural birth, that is a wonderful setting and you can't get better care and support than we received with our midwives
  • highly recommend

    I highly recommend the birthing center at st Luke's Roosevelt hospital. It meets all of your needs. The birthing center is one floor below regular labor and delivery so you can easily be transferred to l&d if you want an epidural etc. It is in manhattan (59th st) but I live in Brooklyn and delivered my first there (tried for birthing center but ended up in regular l&d which was still a positive experience). I'm going for birthing center with #2 due in April! My doctor is dr Amy Huang: (212) 603-4173 I like almost all the drs in her practice too
  • highly recommend

    I highly recommend the birthing center at st Luke's Roosevelt hospital. It meets all of your needs. The birthing center is one floor below regular labor and delivery so you can easily be transferred to l&d if you want an epidural etc. It is in manhattan (59th st) but I live in Brooklyn and delivered my first there (tried for birthing center but ended up in regular l&d which was still a positive experience). I'm going for birthing center with #2 due in April! My doctor is dr Amy Huang: (212) 603-4173 I like almost all the drs in her practice too
  • Birth Survey 2012

    REVIEW: I didn't have a great experience. I didn't like the delivery nurses, they couldn't find a vein to put an IV in so I could have an epidural and there was no anesthesiologist available so I ended up laboring without pain meds when I had asked for them on numerous, pain filled occasions. I also ended up having an emergency c-section and the recovery ward, before I went to a room, wasn't great. I had to ask NUMEROUS times for a morphine drip because the spinal block that I had from my section was wearing off. Also, Roosevelt has no lactation consultant, which is weird given that they have a birthing center, and the nurses really did nothing to teach me how to nurse. INSURANCE ISSUES: Roosevelt took my hospital insurance, which was BCBS. One thing I will say is that I paid less than $1,000 out of pocket for my delivery, which I've heard is somewhat unusual. Review Date: April 2012
  • Birth Survey 2012

    REVIEW: I had hoped to give birth in the Birthing Center, but they had not staffed it on the night I arrived (yes, apparently they can do that if they are short-staffed in Labor and Delivery). Labor and Delivery was so full that I waited in the hall for two hours waiting to get into triage, and then was in triage for two hours waiting for a room. Not fun. I thought the nurses in Labor and Delivery were wonderful, which I think is the major concern at a hospital when you are giving birth (since presumably you can find a good doctor in most places). The nurse who was there for the actual birth was as helpful as anyone. The post-partum nurses were also lovely and helpful. And my baby was finally delivered by a medical resident with the attending doctor. She was very nice and very good. INSURANCE ISSUES: I had Oxford PPO at the time, and my birth was covered as part of my pregnancy. I ended up receiving a check for $750 and then owed $750; I'm not sure why it worked that way. I did own some additional money, around $250, on a separate bill for pediatric testing. Review Date: April 2012
  • Birth Survey 2012

    REVIEW: I had hoped to give birth in the Birthing Center, but they had not staffed it on the night I arrived (yes, apparently they can do that if they are short-staffed in Labor and Delivery). Labor and Delivery was so full that I waited in the hall for two hours waiting to get into triage, and then was in triage for two hours waiting for a room. Not fun. I thought the nurses in Labor and Delivery were wonderful, which I think is the major concern at a hospital when you are giving birth (since presumably you can find a good doctor in most places). The nurse who was there for the actual birth was as helpful as anyone. The post-partum nurses were also lovely and helpful. And my baby was finally delivered by a medical resident with the attending doctor. She was very nice and very good. INSURANCE ISSUES: I had Oxford PPO at the time, and my birth was covered as part of my pregnancy. I ended up receiving a check for $750 and then owed $750; I'm not sure why it worked that way. I did own some additional money, around $250, on a separate bill for pediatric testing. Review Date: April 2012
  • Birth Survey 2012

    REVIEW: I had hoped to give birth in the Birthing Center, but they had not staffed it on the night I arrived (yes, apparently they can do that if they are short-staffed in Labor and Delivery). Labor and Delivery was so full that I waited in the hall for two hours waiting to get into triage, and then was in triage for two hours waiting for a room. Not fun. I thought the nurses in Labor and Delivery were wonderful, which I think is the major concern at a hospital when you are giving birth (since presumably you can find a good doctor in most places). The nurse who was there for the actual birth was as helpful as anyone. The post-partum nurses were also lovely and helpful. And my baby was finally delivered by a medical resident with the attending doctor. She was very nice and very good. INSURANCE ISSUES: I had Oxford PPO at the time, and my birth was covered as part of my pregnancy. I ended up receiving a check for $750 and then owed $750; I'm not sure why it worked that way. I did own some additional money, around $250, on a separate bill for pediatric testing. Review Date: April 2012
  • Birth Survey 2012

    REVIEW: Both of my boys were born at Roosevelt's Birthing Center in 2008 and 2011. I have nothing but positive things to say about both experiences. It is a wonderful, calming atmosphere. The nurses are caring, attentive, and there for you at all times as there is one nurse assigned to the Center for just three patients at all times. You are able to birth and recover in the same room, and you also have a much shorter hospital stay. The only downside is that you may then have to make a trip to your pediatrician the next day for the PKU, but worth it, in my opinion. INSURANCE ISSUES: I had experience with GHI and Oxford, and had no issues. Review Date: April 2012
  • Birth Survey 2012

    REVIEW: I had a really great experience with midwife Coralie MacQueen at the Birthing Center (St. Lukes). I cannot imagine delivering anywhere else. The staff was incredible -- especially the nurses. And they worked hard to accomodate me even though the Center was full when I arrived. I was able to wait in another room till one with a tub opened up. My only wish is that (if you wanted to) you could stay another night. INSURANCE ISSUES: Yes and everything was smooth Review Date: April 2012
  • Birth Survey 2012

    REVIEW: The nurses were wonderful and I feel like my lack of problems with breastfeeding was because of the good start they helped me with. INSURANCE ISSUES: Easy Review Date: April 2012
  • Birth Survey 2012

    REVIEW: St. Luke's Roosevelt Labor and Delivery treated us very well during our birth and postpartum care. The nurses were phenomenal both during labor and afterwards. The facilities were mostly comfortable, though L&D triage is not very nice. The nurses supported us after the birth with mostly good information and were present, kind, and very helpful at times going out of their way to help ensure our comfort during our stay. INSURANCE ISSUES: Oxford insurance, no problems. Review Date: April 2012
  • Birth Survey 2012

    REVIEW: Planned on the Birthing Center, but went a week late, so I risked out. Gave birth in a normal labor and delivery room. The rooms are cramped and hospital-y, but I labored at home until 7 cm, so it didn't much matter. Clean; efficient and helpful nurses. Review Date: April 2012
  • Birth Survey 2012

    REVIEW: I had intended to use the Birthing Center but alas ended up with a c-section. For the most part all of my experiences at Roosevelt were great. I loved the staff I encountered for all my ultrasound visits. The day of my c-section was a bit aggravating because they had lost my blood work and things were delayed but even with all that for the most part everyone was lovely. The post-partum nurses were amazing. It is a very pro-bonding and pro-breast feeding hospital so all the nurses encourage skin to skin and spend time helping you getting your baby to latch. The nurses are really incredible. INSURANCE ISSUES: I had Aetna and experience was fine. Review Date: April 2012
  • Birth Survey 2012

    REVIEW: I was in this hospital for a month prior to my C-section because of placenta previa. The nurses on the antepartum floor were all great. I had a private room for recovery, and my nurse, Gigi, was fantastic. I have nothing but good things to say about this place. With a complicated pregnancy that involved doctors talking about the necessity of my being near an OR so I could be "sectioned" at any time, I was so relieved I'd chosen this hospital. I was in the best possible hands. INSURANCE ISSUES: No problems with Blue Cross/Blue Shield. Review Date: April 2012
  • Birth Survey 2012

    REVIEW: SLR was fine. Some nurses were more helpful than others. Supposedly all the nurses were trained to support b'feeding. INSURANCE ISSUES: No issues Review Date: April 2012
  • Birth Survey 2012

    REVIEW: Great experience. INSURANCE ISSUES: Yes, no problems. Review Date: April 2012
  • Birth Survey 2012

    REVIEW: Nursing staff was AMAZING...easy to talk too about breastfeeding issues and calmed my nerves about formula vs breastfeeding, very open to all questions and very sensitive..I had an emergency c-section and feel that is couldn't have been EASIER b/c of their staff attentiveness INSURANCE ISSUES: yes, no problems here w/ insurance Review Date: April 2012
  • Birth Survey 2012

    REVIEW: Overall a very good experience. After being two weeks late i went in on appointment to get induced. Once in the room i was very happy with the staff and they kept it very private and the nurses were great. Took 3 hours to get checked in because women in labor had priority which makes sense but it did get tiresome. Post partum was mostly great. I was in a shared room and able to get the window side after my roommate after much badgering of the staff. Not the newest or fanciest looking place but i was very happy with the care and some of the nurses were spectacular INSURANCE ISSUES: yes. They were in network for the hospital (not our midwives) and we had no issues. I think we had to pay less then 100$ to St. Lukes Review Date: April 2012
  • Birth Survey 2012

    REVIEW: I had complications following birth and the staff at St Luke's took amazing care of me and my daughter. INSURANCE ISSUES: A dr was involved in an emergency surgery that didn't take my insurance which was annoying. I'm still trying to sort it out... Review Date: April 2012
  • Birth Survey 2012

    REVIEW: I am a physician and am by the book. I know and worry about what can go wrong in a routine delivery, so for me a home or birthing center delivery was not an option. Good thing, because our little guy needed the NICU. I had a wonderful birth experience. The nurses were supportive. Not that helpful with lactation help once my son was born. He was in the ICU, and those were the only nurses who actually helped me. Post partum care otherwise was fine. I would definitely do the private room again INSURANCE ISSUES: Review Date: April 2012
  • Private or Shared Room?

    I delivered at Roosevelt in November. We opted for the shared room because the private room was too expensive ($900+). I had the bed by the window which meant that I had to walk past my roommate and her family to get to the shared bathroom. This never actually posed any problems in my case but I can easily see how under different circumstances (a c-section for example) it could be really trying. If I had it to do over again I'd do the same thing because I cannot get past that price tag, but it's definitely a close call.
  • Private or Shared Room?

    I delivered at Roosevelt in November. We opted for the shared room because the private room was too expensive ($900+). I had the bed by the window which meant that I had to walk past my roommate and her family to get to the shared bathroom. This never actually posed any problems in my case but I can easily see how under different circumstances (a c-section for example) it could be really trying. If I had it to do over again I'd do the same thing because I cannot get past that price tag, but it's definitely a close call.
  • Private or Shared Room?

    The private room is I think $850 a night (in Oct 2010). If you can afford it I would recommend the splurge. We ended up having an emergency C-section, and we were very glad we got the private room although we ended up staying 3 nights instead of one night due to the unforeseen C-section. I got my much needed rest. My husband could stay and sleep in the room with me, and the food was like hotel room service where you order from a menu for all 3 meals. There is plenty of food for both me and my husband to enjoy. And visitors could come and go without feeling cramped into a very very small space. It was very special for us to have family and friends visit without feeling awkward. It was nice to be able to hold and play with baby walking around the room, enjoying the nice view of the city, and talk about anything we want without feeling as if we're disturbing others. We went to the hospital tour and the shared rooms are very small. There is only one chair for each bed, and barely any comfortable standing room. Husband and I thought that this is a very special moment for us and we don't splurge like this often...so we were willing to spend the money. A caveat is, though, even if you sign up for a private room (and can only do so when you are admitted), you might not end up getting one. So keep that in mind.
  • Private or Shared Room?

    I delivered at Roosevelt in 2011 and I got a window bed. I didn't even really think about upgrading to a private room because I've heard the rooms are almost $1000/night. Is that true? Anyway, I got so lucky because I stayed 2 nights and never once did they bring in a roommate. SO I got a private room for free! The food wasn't great but my partner brought me meals for the 2 days I was there, which was better than any hospital food I could imagine anyway.... (Feb 2011)
  • Price of a private room?

    I delivered last June, I think the price was up to $800/night. We were told they keep on hiking it up in hopes to drive the demand down. We also did the tour - twice, once early on, and another one as part of the class we took at the hospital. I found the tour through the class more informative and useful(but it could be also due to the fact that it was much closer to my due date), than the one we did earlier. I didn't have the experience of a shared room, but I must say, I really loved the comfort of the private room, the awesome menu, and the fact that my husband was allowed to stay overnight (although he will tell you it was the most uncomfortable night of sleep he's ever gotten).
  • Private or Shared Room?

    I didn't bother with a private room - it seemed pricey to me and I don't regret having a shared room. As it turned out, a private room would have been lost on me since I had a spinal headache for a day post-partum and wouldn't have been comfortable staying at the Ritz since I could not sit up or stand up without getting a terrible headache, and had to get a spinal patch, and our son was in the NICU for a few days and couldn't come to my room anyway. That said, my roommate was the kind of roommate that would have led a lot of people to upgrade to a private room - she was in early labor, six months pregnant with twins and on bedrest on doctor's orders, with a one or two year old at home, and wouldn't stay still even in the hospital and had a lot of visitors who were rowdy and overall while she was nice it was not a fun experience having her as a roommate, and she gave birth within a few days anyway (bedrest didn't do the trick); I saw her very premature babies in the NICU before leaving, and it was upsetting and I don't know how they fared. So once in awhile you might get a roommate who isn't as considerate as they might be. I'd still skip the private room if I were doing it again.
  • Private or Shared Room?

    I loved my roommate in the shared room at St. Luke's, and found the whole experience pleasant. I too had the window side. I remember eating every bit of the hospital food and then some take-out lasagna--giving birth made me ravenous. If I'd had a c-section I might have gone for the private room, but as it was I was happy to have the extra $1200 to use on essentials.
  • Private or Shared Room?

    I too splurged on the private room which is wonderful, not least of which is the incredible food. However it took me all day to get in so I had the experience of a shared room as well. Totally agree to get the window side... And ask to order from the special private room dining menu. The regular hospital food is terrible, and as you probably remember, the other menu costs maybe $20 or less per meal and has things like lamb chops, polenta, great salads, desserts. 2 meals fed 4 adults!
  • Private or Shared Room?

    I shared a postpartum room at Roosevelt last November, when I delivered my first baby. I had the bed by the window and the view was great. However, the biggest issue for me was trying to sleep at night. The woman sharing the room with me had had a C-Section and required frequent care by the nurses, which would come in at night, turn on the lights and make enough noise that it was impossible to sleep. Also, there is very little space for visitors. More than two people and there is no space to move at all. Luckily there was a sitting room to entertain visitors right across the hallway from where my room was.
  • Private or Shared Room?

    I shared a room in Roosevelt but didn't last all day because my roommate was inconsiderate. After 3 hours labor, I was exhausted and all I want was to sleep. But my roommate phone was on the ringer and talked really loud. She also have a lot of male visitors and since I didn't have the window side, they all pass by my bed and sometimes, her visitor would pull the curtain exposing me while breastfeeding. Long story short, my husband moved me to a private room. I have to say if you an afford it, go for Private room. Its worth it. As you already experienced it, you will get a great room, bathroom and made to order meals (you actually get a menu to pick appetizer, entree and desert, plus unlimited supply of OJ, soda and bottled water). And you can definitely rest.
  • Private or Shared Room?

    My advice: Splurge on the private room, if you can swing it. I was in a private room at Roosevelt the first night after I delivered my daughter, then decided to save $$$ and go for the shared one the 2nd night. While I hadn't thought the private room was all that great when I was there--it was HEAVEN compared to the cramped, windowless space I was moved to. To make matters worse, my roommate's baby screamed all night, and it was just a miserable experience. If I had to do it again, I would go private both nights.
  • Private or Shared Room?

    I second that! get the window side! request it or have your partner do so after the delivery. I loved my roommate, too, which made the stay even better. You will be by the air conditioner, too, which is under the window-so you are in control (hah). The walk to the bathroom is nothing-the rooms are not huge. We wanted a private room and none were available-and now I realize that it probably wouldn't have been worth the expense. However, if you have issues with your roommate, promptly request to be moved. Chances are you won't.
  • Private or Shared Room?

    I Shared a room both times I delivered at Roosevelt. There were no private rooms available the first night so I ended up in a share. My bed was by a big window with a beautiful view. When a room opened up the next day I didn't care enough to switch and I thought the $ was ridiculous for a pretty plain hospital room. However, the way the shared rooms are partitioned is meaningful. One bed is by the window (small area) the other bed is in a larger area (by the door and the bathroom) partitioned by a heavy curtain. My area was full of sunlight with pretty city views while my neighbor was in a dim windowless area. The only pro to the bed away from the window was proximity to the bathroom. My advice to anyone sharing a room at Roosevelt is to get the window side bed! For my second baby, I was put in a bed away from the window and I made my husband stake out a window bed for me and insist that I be moved.
  • (no subject)

    I delivered there in 2008 and again just this past September (regular deliveries, not c-section). Both births were great experiences. I did not get a private room, but certainly can understand how that would make the rest and recovery period more tranquil. Overall, I really liked all staff I encountered. Some nurses and nurse assistants were better than others, but I think you'll find that is the case in most hospitals. In my most recent delivery and recovery, everyone was so kind and supportive, and many went the 'extra mile' to ensure the baby was well taken care of and I was comfortable. I suggest asking a few different nurses for help with breastfeeding-- they all emphasize different tips/techniques and you can find one whose style/manor you like.
  • (no subject)

    I delivered my twins at St Luke's Roosevelt. I absolutely loved the L&D experience. I did have to deliver in the OR (typical for a twin delivery). But my doctors were wonderful for the whole 42 hours of labor. I never felt rushed or pressured to get a c-section. They did everything according to my birth plan. They even allowed both my hubby and doula in the OR, even though I was told only 1 person was allowed in. On the flip side, I hated their post partum department. I shared a room. My twins were delivered at 7:30 pm so by the time I got into my room, there was just enough time for my husband to make sure I was comfortable, and then they made him leave. At which point, they helped me for a little bit and after that, it took forever for any nurses to come help me. I got no help until the very last day I was there as far as lactation consultants go. On my last day, probably the last half of it, I wound up with super-nurse. She was awesome. It's just too bad the rest of them couldn't follow her example. In hindsight, I would have just paid the extra money to have a private room. I don't care how expensive it is. It would've been worth it. But the birthing experience was the most important part anyway. So all in all, good experience.
  • (no subject)

    I delivered my twins at St. Lukes Roosevelt and it was awesome!!! All of the doctors, nurses and aides were fabulous. I did take the private room as soon as it became available -- expensive but truly worth it. The first night (I had an emergency c) the private room was not available and it was about 6pm. Everyone was very supportive of breastfeeding and helpful for new parents.
  • (no subject)

    I was very disappointed in the care I received at St Lukes. I had enjoyed my tour and classes I took there but the delivery could have been handled much better. I was on the regular L&D floor. They lost my preregistration and were VERY slow to process me, even though I was already in transition when I arrived. By the time they (rudely) processed me and got me to a room I was already over 9 cm. Then the nurse assigned to me complained that she was getting the 9cm patient (shift change was coming). Then they couldn't find a birthing bar, finally brought something in that didn't fit. The night nurses were also unhelpful and largely hard to find. (Recommended 1/10)