host2 www.parkslopeparents.com
serv2 www.parkslopeparents.com

Mount Sinai Upper East Side

https://www.parkslopeparents.com/components/com_jbusinessdirectory/assets/no_image.jpg
Mount Sinai Upper East Side

Description

We don't have a description for this business. If this is your business and you'd like to find out how to improve this page, please get in touch.

Reviews (104)

  • Review from the Summer 2022 Birthing Survey

    What month and year was your child born? June 2022 Review: Facilities are in need of reno, no private rooms available, staff is friendly but seemed overwhelmed - would not recommend Anything you advise people to do (or not do) at this hospital/birthing center? Anything pandemic related that could be helpful to them? Bring an extra pillow / blanket for partners as hospital will not provide
  • Review from the Summer 2022 Birthing Survey

    What month and year was your child born? May 2022 Review: My birth experience at Mount Sinai East was very positive. The nursing staff was outstanding, especially my intake nurse, Mohammad. I can’t say enough good things about him. We were able to secure a private room upon release from post-op and while the sleeping arrangements for my husband weren’t ideal (recliner instead of a cot), overall the room was clean and otherwise adequate. The postpartum nurses were kind and attentive. The staff was not stingy with painkillers (which was unfortunately my experience at a different hospital with a previous birth). My only complaint is that the pre-op triage space was very cramped and lacked privacy, but once we were out of that space we were very comfortable for the remainder of our stay. Anything you advise people to do (or not do) at this hospital/birthing center? Anything pandemic related that could be helpful to them?
  • Review from the Spring 2022 Birthing Survey

    I gave birth at Mount Sinai in the height of the pandemic, pre-vaccine. I found the staff very professional and calm, despite that. The nurses on the labor and delivery floor were incredible. We got less attention on the post-delivery floor, but were able to get what we needed. Anything you advise people to do (or not do) at this hospital/birthing center? Take a birthing class with Fledgling Families -- it is taught by current and former Mount Sinai nurses, so they give a lot of very hospital-specific guidance
  • Review from the Spring 2022 Birthing Survey

    I have nothing to compare it to, but it was a totally fine experience. The labor and delivery nurses were AMAZING - they were so attentive, positive, helpful, supportive, patient, you name it. The postpartum room was much bigger and more comfortable than the delivery room, but both were fine. Everyone we encountered was kind, supportive, patient and helpful. Anything you advise people to do (or not do) at this hospital/birthing center? Definitely bring extra pillows and blankets!
  • Review from the 2021 Birthing Experience Survey

    Really impressed with all the nursing staff on the labor and delivery floor. Facilities were more spacious than I expected.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    This is my second baby I've delivered at Mount Sinai and while the location is far from Park Slope, I found their care to be excellent. During the pandemic, they wanted to get patients and babies discharged as quickly as possible but otherwise I found the level of care for me and my baby to be similar. I had to share a room for part of my stay because single rooms were unavailable during pandemic.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    My delivery at Mt. Sinai was really fantastic. The nursing staff on the L&D unit were across the board amazing and I felt so taken care of. I also interacted with two other doctors because mine was not able to be there until the actual delivery and they were kind and very competent. Once we were moved to the recovery ward, the care was not as attentive and sometimes frustrating. I had some issues on the first night due to miscommunications among the nurses when the shift changed. After the first night, most issues got cleared up and overall we had a good stay. We were there for 3 days because my daughter had mild jaundice and the staff was on top of that. I never had doubts that she was getting good care. I did feel that the staff pushed breastfeeding too hard. I had a very difficult time and there seemed to be a party line basically saying "it's hard at the beginning but it'll get better." Once I made it clear that I wasn't set on breastfeeding, some of the staff were able to have more of a nuanced conversation about it, but they seemed nervous to do so.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    Really incredible experience overall. I was admitted with no wait and the delivery room was spacious. My husband was allowed in triage with me and my doula was allowed once admitted. All of the nurses in both L&D and in postpartum were truly fantastic, warm and caring. We were able to get a private room, and though we only stayed 2 nights (c-section minimum), we could have stayed a 3rd if desired.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    BIRTHING CLASS: Mount Sinai UES - We took the full day class. It was not great, but in order to get a tour of the hospital, you must pay for and attend a class. Obviously, none of that applies in a post-covid world.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    I felt like I got good medical care, but Mt. Sinai leaves a little to be desired. The nurses were very hit or miss (in particular, the nurse at my c-section was a "miss.") Overall, it was worth being at Mt. Sinai because the doctors I love deliver there, but it was only okay. I had one amazing lactation consultant and one not-so-great one. I was surprised that since this wasn't my first baby, I was pretty much ignored by the nurses post-partum. But I didn't feel that way the first time, so maybe they give their best care to first-time moms...
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    It is an older hospital for sure, and the care of the nurses was hit or miss, and the food was terrible. But, I wound up with an infection and I did feel taken care of. Getting a private room was key, and challenging for my husband to make sure we got, but it was so worth it.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    BIRTHING CLASS: I did one of the classes at Mt Sinai UES. It was good It was a good class, but I didn't know what I didn't know and I feel like I didn't ask the right questions because I didn't know to ask.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    My entire review is colored by the pandemic, and the fact that I had COVID (asymptomatic). I'm going to copy/paste the email I sent to Susan about it here, even though now some of it is dated: Our baby was born on 3/31 at Mt Sinai UES. I was COVID tested (standard for all laboring people) in triage, and my husband was made to stay outside for over an hour while I was in triage and admitted. They did their best. L&D was great - doctors and nurses and other staff were all amazing - and they kicked my husband out when I went to recovery. I felt like going home basically a day after delivery was hard - what I didn’t learn, what I didn’t get support on...I just don’t know. It was also hard when I was in so much physical pain and he wasn’t there to do things like pick up and change the baby. Or get my hair brush out of the bottom of my bag. Even though the nurses/staff were amazing, it would’ve been so much better if he’d been there. But my #1 hint for anybody who hasn’t delivered yet was that my husband was cold, outside, over an hour whilst I was in triage. Oh, and parking around there is atrocious bc of the Samaritan tent building setup, plus many garages are closed for COVID.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    Mount Sinai UES intensive class - It’s a great class especially if you want to do it all in one day instead of over the course of a few weeks AND if you’re delivering there as it ends with a tour of the maternity ward. It’s a long day though, so come with snacks and water! We left feeling well informed.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    Pretty good. We made sure to pay for a private room. Even so, I only stayed one night and preferred it that way as long as me and baby were doing well.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    Overall fine to good. Some good nurses, some bad. At one point someone put a bag of antibiotics into my arm (not the vein) and that was upsetting. We also delivered right around the start of Covid so it was very surreal, and I can’t say I remember much.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    Wonderful experience start to finish. I loved my nurses so much - I still think about them all the time. They took excellent care of me and my baby.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    Extremely pleased with the team and quality of care at Mount Sinai UES. Excellent team of nurses supported the delivery, with constant attention pre, during and post delivery.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    Birthing room itself was fine. One nurse was terrible, but thankfully went away after initial set-up. Nurse that was there for birth was amazing. Our private room was kind of gross. Felt dirty/old. Small.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    I recommend Mount Sinai East. The labor and delivery ward was clean and the nurses were very kind considering that I gave birth during Covid. The pre-registration process was very easy and I was admitted to a private room for delivery promptly. My delivery room was spacious. I didn't enjoy the post-partum experience at MSE, but I believe that was mainly due to Covid requirements. My lactation specialist stayed with me for 5 minutes and didn't check on me. My partition of the shared room was minuscule and barely had space for my bed, small travel suitcase and son's bassinet. The food was edible and the shared shower reminded me of a camp ground. All that being said, the labor and delivery experience made up for the post-partum experience and I think a large part of the post-partum experience was due to Covid.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    I recommend Mount Sinai East. The labor and delivery ward was clean and the nurses were very kind considering that I gave birth during Covid. The pre-registration process was very easy and I was admitted to a private room for delivery promptly. My delivery room was spacious. I didn't enjoy the post-partum experience at MSE, but I believe that was mainly due to Covid requirements. My lactation specialist stayed with me for 5 minutes and didn't check on me. My partition of the shared room was minuscule and barely had space for my bed, small travel suitcase and son's bassinet. The food was edible and the shared shower reminded me of a camp ground. All that being said, the labor and delivery experience made up for the post-partum experience and I think a large part of the post-partum experience was due to Covid.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    Awesome nurses, good facilities, and overall supportive environment
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    Wonderful experience, overall. My OB + MFM team were so hands on, thorough, and great during my whole stay. I had a bunch of issues (pre-eclampsia; IUGR) and I always felt I was in great hands with the team.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    The labor and delivery nurses were amazing. The maternity staff were good. It was during the pandemic so I couldn’t get a private room, I never had enough water and it was hard to get refills. But overall I felt safe and everyone was pleasant and helpful.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    Great! During covid I couldn’t have felt safer or have experience more amazing care, including a nicu stay.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    Nurses were so wonderful. I had to have a blood transfusion after I gave birth because I lost a lot of blood when my placenta wouldn’t come out. I had to stay in recovery overnight instead of in a room with my baby so that was quite traumatic. The nurses insisted that my baby be brought down from the nursery for a visit even though I felt like I was in such bad shape to hold her. Getting a private room is also a bit of a cattle call (first come first serve and the request can only be made at the front desk once you deliver the baby). We were able to get a private room and the nurses there were fine.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    We had a generally positive experience at Mount Sinai UES. The medical, was warm and welcoming, positive, and kind from the minute I checked in to the moment we went home with our new baby. As my child arrived at 10:59 p.m. on a Friday, it did take a while (about 2.5 hours) to wait for our recovery room, but I was so out of it and so excited at the same time that I did not mind the wait. Partners are not allowed to stay overnight, which meant after checking in and getting settled (around 2 a.m.), my husband left and slept for a few hours in the waiting area downstairs. The next two nights, he took the long subway ride back to our apartment in Brooklyn, which was awful because the Q wasn't running that weekend (MTA problem, not hospital, I recognize this).
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    I had a positive experience there. The staff was very friendly friendly, calm, courteous, helpful with breastfeeding.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    I had a positive experience there. The staff was very friendly friendly, calm, courteous, helpful with breastfeeding.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    Fantastic staff especially nurses.
  • 2019 Birth Survey

    My daughter was born completely healthy. However, I did not have a positive experience. My water broke in the morning, one day after my due date. There was meconium in the water. I went to the hospital to be tested for dilation but did not begin contractions. I did not want to be induced and had hoped my labor would begin naturally. However, I found the hospital environment incredibly stressful. They would not let me move around at all; I was forced to lie on back and have constant fetal monitoring. I could not even sit up in bed, let alone walk around or bounce on a ball. I was not offered a breast pump to stimulate contractions that way. Being made to lie on my back was incredibly frustrating and made the experience quite miserable. I also could not eat anything other than jello from the time I walked in the hospital (which was mid-morning) - despite not being in active labor. (Keep in mind, I actually gave birth at about 4am the next day!) Given those conditions, I think induction was inevitable (which, in fact, was the attitude of the doctors from the second I walked in the door). When my induced contractions began in earnest, I could not sit up in bed / get on all fours / stand up / turn on my side or really do anything physically to brace myself for the pain because the monitors could not pick up the fetus. I ultimately had to get an epidural to manage the pain. At some point I passed out from the pain and woke up because the fetal monitor was beeping. My daughter's heart rate was plummeting and I was having one contraction per minute with no relief in between. I heard the L&D nurse said that my belly was ""as hard as a rock"" and she cut off the pitocin. I will say that the L&D nurses were fantastic. If you deliver here, do yourself a favor and pack snacks. I snuck chocolate, almonds, and a banana when no one was looking. After I finally delivered at 4am, I was famished and there was no food in sight. By the time I got to my room (at 10am!), I was told that breakfast had already been served (!). Luckily an orderly managed to find some cheerios for me and a cup of orange juice. But seriously."
  • 2019 Birth Survey

    Delivery rooms were small. Reserved a private room for my hospital stay. The nurses there were phenomenal. They were attentive. Would've like to have more personal attention with the lactation consultant.
  • 2019 Birth Survey

    I was admitted on thanksgiving day and the hospital was really quiet. Everyone was very friendly and nice. The nurse who initially hooked me up to the IV put the port in my elbow, which later proved a bit inconvenient when I was moving around as the contractions intensified. An attending resident who checked me once and the epidural anaesthesiologist tried explaining things to me during intense contractions, which was pretty annoying. But they did patiently wait when I asked them to continue after it passed. The doctor who delivered our baby was great, Dr. Tang, and she was very enthusiastic and encouraging during my short pushing (30 min). The delivery nurse was also amazing. The postpartum nursing team was great- very helpful, kind and open to questions. I saw two lactation consultants- one was so so but the other (Catalina) was amazing. She and night nurse Michelle helped me so much with getting a good latch and position. Overall a great experience at Mount Sinai- I felt so taken care of while there I didn’t want to leave!
  • 2019 Birth Survey

    The nursing team was good, hospital was fine.
  • 2019 Birth Survey

    Great. Clean, nurses amazing
  • 2019 Birth Survey

    All of the nurses and staff at Mt. Sinai were top notch. I felt my care throughout my stay was really caring and thoughtful. We ended up needing a consultation with a pediatric urologist who I didn't think had the most organized schedule (I waited three days to finally see him and get his assessment) but later when I did research on other ped urologists in the city he was considered the best so I appreciate that level of experts in their group.
  • 2019 Birth Survey

    Labor and delivery room excellent, postpartum room poor. The postpartum room was in desperate need of updates. Shared bathroom was disgusting (no other way to put it) and the sink was outside the bathroom next to my roommate’s bed. The labor and delivery nurses were great. Lactation support was minimal and somewhat confusing. Pediatrician at the hospital identified my daughter had a tongue tie and we had it clipped at the hospital which I’m glad we did so early.
  • 2019 Birth Survey

    Nurses were great, labor was great, roommate was not so great. If you can afford it, I'd get a private room.
  • 2019 Birth Survey

    Very happy with the hospital
  • 2019 Birth Survey

    I had both my kids at Mt. Sinai and was very very happy with the care. The nursing staff was wonderful. I felt that I was in competent hands both times. I had relatively straight-forward labor and deliveries, but did get an epidural both times and was very happy with how quickly it was administered. My only criticism is that the shared rooms suck. If you have the means to pay for a private room, I would do so. We did it with our first and it was lovely.
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    She was amazing and works in the hospital (on Catherine or Catherina hospital Lactation Consultant)
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    Great facility and staff. The only criticism is the private rooms are ridiculously expensive. My baby needed to be in the NICU and the staff were very considerate and caring with my situation.
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    I was overall not happy with Mount Sinai. While the essential things were done, the postpartum nursing care was very inconsistent. They barely even checked on how my baby was feeding or doing in general. Maybe because this was my 2nd?Some of them were great, but some were awful. This sort of inconsistency was surprising to me. I had a much better postpartum experience with my first birth at Cornell, but the Village OB team was so amazing that it was worth delivering at Mt Sinai.
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    I was induced - so I had a fairly laid back experience. My labor room was ready upon arrival. We opted for a private room and I had no problem getting one. Some of the nurses were better than others - but the good nurses were angels.
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    Again brilliant. Although I was expecting a little more comfort given the prove of healthcare (I am European) but it was a normal hospital.
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    7 out of 10 - I had to change rooms after giving birth 3 times. First room was crazy noisy, second room was falling apart (I opened the closet door to put my stuff inside and it fell over me!). Third room was ok and they gave us an upgrade with Central Park view because of all the inconvenience.
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    My labor and delivery was fast. I had no time to take in the delivery room...it was fine and functioned exactly as it needed to...I delivered the baby. The staff was kind. I had a private room, which was bare bones. I think it is the last room there that has not been renovated.
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    We had a great experience at Mt. Sinai East. There were a lot of patients that night but all of the nurses were very attentive and available to meet all of our needs. Based on a 09/17 birthing experience.
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Overall we had a great experience at Mount Sinai UES. The staff was all very friendly and helpful and I felt my baby and I were well taken care of. It was a bit of a whirlwind - felt like a quick in and out. And only negative we was it was overcrowded. For our first night we ended up in a crummy overflow room because the maternity ward was full. But had a nice private room for night two. Based on a September 2017 birthing experience.
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    We had a great experience at Mt Sinai UES. The L&D and recovery nurses were all amazing. They were kind and supportive, helping us get breastfeeding off to a good start, and were especially helpful with my post-partum care. The hospital room was clean, staff we interacted with were nice, and they had sweet touches (a birthday cake for the baby, discharge gift bag with Honest Co & L'Occitaine travel size products, etc). Based on a October 2017 birthing experience.
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Great Hospital Based on a August 2017 birthing experience.
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    I was very happy with my delivery experience at Mt. Sinai East. The nursing staff were caring and helpful. The lactation consultants were great (very pro-breastfeeding environment). The nurses were respectful of my wishes around EBF, and bathing the baby (I wanted to retain the beneficial bacterial biome provided by a swab after exiting the OR for as long as possible). I had to have a gentle cesarean, performed by my doctor from Village Obstetrics, as my child was breech. They were able to perform delayed cord clamping, and baby was skin to skin in the OR -- essentially the gentle C was a great experience. All the attending staff in the OR were kind and efficient. Additionally, I need to eat gluten-free and my meals were easily accommodated. One tip -- do opt for a private room if possible. It will help immensely. Based on a September 2017 birthing experience.
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Satisfactory. Parts of the experience was sub par. Some nurses were great, some not so great.. I was lucky that I got breast feeding on track right away but they didn't have great lactation consultants or help if you needed it. Based on a July 2017 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    I had a really great experience here. The intake was a little bumpy (partly my fault because I waited too long to go to the hospital and was in a great deal of pain by that point and not planning for a natural birth), but after that the nurses were all wonderful and attentive. They made me feel at ease, answered all my questions, and helped me with breast feeding. We did pay extra for the private room, which I think was absolutely worth it so my husband could stay overnight. Would highly recommend giving birth here. Based on a March 2017 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Had a posting experience here- they are more traditional/medical than birthing centers of course, but I found them to be very supportive of my working with a doula, skin-to-skin, water during labor, delayed cord clamping, and other requests. Nurses were very kind and skilled. Based on a July 2017 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    I was very comfortable with the facilities at Mt Sinai (Upper East). They had lots of food options for my stay and the newborn/breastfeeding classes were useful as well. My labor had no complications but I was very pleased with all the staff and our treatment through labor. We were able to afford paying extra for a personal room and I would highly recommend if you can do the same. The privacy and extra space were very welcomed after a tiring labor. Based on a April 2017 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Very mixed. I had an epidural gone awry which led to an excruciating spinal headache. They were able to treat it, eventually but it took three different procedures. Very mixed nursing staff - some were entirely attentive and attuned and others were not great (which was especiayhard when I was suffering the spinal headache) Based on February 2017 birth experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Suffice it to say that I'll be going elsewhere for my next baby Based on July 2016 birth experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    I had a mixed experience at Mount Sinai. My first nurse was not supportive of my decision/desire to have a low intervention birth experience. She was condescending in the way she spoke to me and continued to push for medical intervention even when it was not necessary. For instance, she wanted to speed up the process and increased my dosage of Pitocin faster than I was comfortable with. She also repeatedly asked me if I wanted an Epidural and told me not to be "a hero". After speaking with the head nurse, we were assigned a more naturally-inclined nurse for the next shift of my delivery. At that point my doctor has arrived and the birthing experience was much more pleasant. At that point, I had received a lot of Pitocin and was in a lot of pain and took the Epidural. The facilities at Mount Sinai were adequate. The delivery room was quite small and there was not a lot of room for more than the doctor, nurse, and my husband. We were not able to get a renovated recovery room so our "private room" with no private bathroom was outdated and not very comforting. We left the hospital after the required 24 hours in order to feel more comfortable at home. Overall, I don't know if I would deliver there again. I would like more support for a "natural" birth next time and to be surrounded by professionals who value the birth experience and don't treat it as an inconvenience when it takes too long. Based on December 2016 birth experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Good treatment by the nurses. A few surprising charges after the birth. Based on 2/6/2017 birth experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Great facility and not over crowded. Helpful and caring nurses. Some of the room views are of Central Park! Based on December 2016 birth experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Mt. Sinai was a wonderful place to give birth. I had a c-section. My nurses were amazing. So caring and helpful. The lactation support could improve - you attend a small group session the day after you give birth and as long as you attend this session they will come to your room the following day. Due to the c-section I wasn't feeling really up to the group session but had no choice but to attend in order for someone to come help me one on one. Based on September 2016 birth experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    I had wonderful nurses, and everyone took very good care of me and my newborn. We only spent one night in the hospital, but it was very restful. My husband had to reserve a private room after the baby had been delivered, but he did not find it difficult. Also, while we did not need the NICU this time, we did with my last baby. The NICU doctors, and especially nurses and lactation consultants were absolutely amazing at both caring for my baby and teaching me. The silver lining to needing a NICU in the first place is that I left the hospital feeling very confidant about nursing and the basics of caring for a newborn. Based on January 2017 birth experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    We were at Mt Sinai because it's the hospital where our doctors were -- we picked the OB first and then the hospital, not the other way around. It was fine, not great (though I have nothing to compare it to). I was surprised at how tiny and cramped the private room was, given the exorbitant cost. The labor nurses were all good, but we had a doula so i wasn't very focused on them. The postpartum nurses were hit or miss - some were great, some were not so great. We had one lactation consultant who I really disliked who was very aggressively pushing formula early on when we didn't want it, but eventually had two others who were wonderful and boosted my confidence. Rooming in was encouraged but I didn't feel judged when we sent our twins to the nursery to get sleep. Based on February 2017 birth experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Good. Based on Feb 2017 birth experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    We had a relatively uncomplicated pregnancy, but Mount Sinai specializes in pregnancies after 40 and twins. The hospital was fantastic. Everyone we interacted with, from intake to nurses to lactation consultants - was at the top of their game. It was a bit of a trek for us to get to from Brooklyn, but well worth it, in my opinion. Based on January 2017 birth experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Wonderful experience there as well, nurses were awesome. Based on August 2016 birth experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    The hospital staff were nice enough. There were nurses I liked better than others. You have to pay for a private recovery room which I think is ridiculous but we paid because I wanted my husband to be able to sleep at the hotel with me and our baby over night. They give you all the information in a folder but I didn't actually read it until we got home so there were quite a few things that I missed out on so communication could have been better. Overall the experience was good but I have nothing to compare it to. Based on December 2016 birth experience
  • Review submitted via the 2016 Birth Survey

    Great Based on january 2016 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the 2016 Birth Survey

    Great experience all around Based on April 2016 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the 2016 Birth Survey

    Recommend? Highly recommend Review: Every one of the members of the hospital staff we interacted with were professional, kind and helpful, most went out of their way for us. It was a great hospital experience. Based on a March 2016 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the 2016 Birth Survey

    Recommend? Recommend Review: Great nursing staff, everyone was really friendly and helpful. Advice: If you want a natural birth, have a doula. Member notes about insurance: Yes, no issues yet. Based on a March 2016 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the 2016 Birth Survey

    Recommend? Highly recommend Review: I went to the hospital for a simple shot at 33 weeks and was told that I needed to be admitted right away for severe preeclampsia. I was by myself at the time and the staff were extremely attentive and caring. My situation was stressful enough, but the nurses were so great and the doctors were so informative that I wouldn't want to have any other staff get me through that time. I was constantly updated with my results and treatment plan. The doctors made every effort to make me comfortable despite my fear of having to deliver early. The postpartum nurses were AMAZING. I felt as though all of them were my cheerleaders with the goal of helping me get well enough to visit my baby in the NICU. And the NICU staff couldn't have been more wonderful. They supported my partner and I in learning to care for our daughter even before she came home with us. They gave us tips on taking care of a premie. To this day I feel as though the staff were all a tremendous part of making my experience a positive one despite the many complications. Advice: Take the hospital tour so you're familiar with the different wards. Based on a March 2016 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the 2016 Birth Survey

    Recommend? Recommend Review: I could write a novel, but I'll keep it short. Mount Sinai is a big hospital with a great staff. But it's still a big hospital. I frequently had to remind nurses not to try to push an epidural on me. (I needed one in the end, but I wanted it to be my decision). However the nurses were really great. The labor room was small. There wasn't much room for my husband and doula both for the 25 hours we spent in there. Delivery with my doctor (a member of the faculty practice at Mt Sinai) was great. They allowed for delayed cord clamping and saving the placenta. After the baby was born we were left alone for a while to bond. The postpartum room was a little bigger and had a nice view. The private room we had was absurdly expensive, but necessary for m to have my husband overnight. The pull out chair he slept on was very uncomfortable. But the staff was really wonderful. They were helpful for teaching us how to put a diaper on. They left us alone when we asked for some quiet time. They explained everything to me clearly (so necessary when my brain was total mush). They were real baby lovers. We felt very well cared for. Advice: Have a doula. I can't imagine trying to navigate this place without the emotional support and advocacy of a doula. Member notes about insurance: Insurance has not been a problem. Based on a February 2016 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Recommend Based on a 2015 birth.
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    We had a wonderful experience at Mount Sinai hospital for our birth. The nurses were fabulous and we felt like we had wonderful care. The birthing room was very small, but was fine for my situation. I had a high risk birth, so I was constantly hooked up to the machines. If I had wanted to move around a lot, it would have been less ideal. Plus, not all the rooms have a shower. After the birth, for us, it was definitely worth the splurge for a private room even though they're insanely expensive (even for private rooms at other hospitals in NYC). The biggest factor is that they don't let partners sleep over in the shared rooms. All of our postpartum nurses were great and answered many questions we had. The lactation consultant was very helpful--I recommend asking her to come to your room separately after the group class if you have any questions. She was especially helpful one-on-one. Recommend? Highly recommend Insurance: I have BCBS and had no issues.
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Review: We had planned to be in the birthing center, but due to complications, ended up in labor and delivery. The delivery room had a jacuzzi tub to labor in which was great. I was with my midwife for most of the labor which was great, however when things started to go bad and my baby's heart rate was slowing, the team of drs and nurses who rushed in left a lot to be desired. For the most part, they treated me like I wasn't in the room. I was given an episiotomy without being told. That said, my emergency C-section was done incredibly well and the care of the nurses and doctors during my hospital stay was amazing. They had lactation support groups and a specialist which were very helpful. I would certainly deliver there again. Recommend? Recommend Insurance: Yes. Insurance was easy. Based on a 2015 birth.
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Wonderful care! The staff were amazing during my super-weird labor: by the time I arrived at hospital, I was having 15-20 min long contractions with only 15-30 seconds in between, and went from 0 to 8cm in 2 hours before arrival and up to 10cm within another hour (fast, but SUPER painful - yay epidural). There were no delivery rooms available when I got there, so they put me in the C-section recovery area, but a delivery room opened up quickly. The delivery nurses were awesome and so encouraging! Only thing that really bugged me was having to give permission for the epidural while in labor - would like to have been able to sign ahead of time (my IV line was tricky and bleeding because I had no breaks between long contractions, so I literally signed the release form in blood). Fast labor, otherwise. They even gave my new daughter her first birthday cake. Recommend? Highly recommend Insurance: Horizon BCBSNJ was well accepted - no issues Based on a 2015 birth.
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    The nurses were great and so accommodating. Lactation consultants were super helpful as well. Recommend Based on a May 2015 birth.
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Birth experience was excellent. L&D nurses were excellent. Post delivery nurses and care was just okay. Private rooms were nice and well appointed. Did not get great use of LC's. Recommend? Recommend Insurance: Insurance (Aetna) was easy. Based on a March 2015 birth.
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Overall we had a very positive experience. There was a range in the quality of nurses we had, but some were excellent. The rooms were nice- clean but small. Recommend Based on a July 2015 birth.
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Review: They were ok. There was no A/C for my july birth-- it had broken. So they just opened a window. And then right after I gave birth a bee flew in and the nurse had to kill it with her shoe. The private rooms are super expensive. Recommend? Recommend with reservations Insurance: Yes and it was fine. Based on a July 2015 birth.
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Recommend with reservations Based on a November 2015 birth.
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    It was a bit more "medical" than I had hoped for but after I gave birth the staff/nurses couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. Highly recommend yes. All claims were easy. Based on a July 2015 birth.
  • Based on a 2014 Birthing Experience

    Member Review: Birth experience was good - everyone in labor and delivery was very nice and was able to get epidural very quickly after arriving. The nurses on the maternity floor were amazing - so attentive and willing to show us how to take care of the baby. Lactation consultants were helpful but did not come by on the first day...I should have asked to see someone right away instead of waiting 24 hours before getting help. Do you recommend? Highly recommend The private room (although expensive) was definitely worth it. Ask for extra supplies to take home- don't be shy!! Ask to have a lactation consultant come for one of the first feedings. Ask the nurse to let you view the baby's bath. Insurance details: Yes they take insurance. Filing claims has not been a problem but the hospital did ask us to pay half the estimated bill before the baby was even born which was a bit off putting. (Review submitted via the 2014 Birthing Survey)
  • Based on a 2014 Birthing Experience

    Member Review: Anesthesiologist was great (yes, I did, but I waited as long as I could). I highly highly recommend getting a private room. Once we settled in there, the nurses were top notch, the service was great, I had access to the lactation consultants as much as I needed. Even the food was tasty. Do you recommend? Highly recommend Again! Private room! Insurance details: Smooth (Review submitted via the 2014 Birthing Survey)
  • Based on a 2014 Birthing Experience

    Member Review: Mount Sinai was a wonderful birthing experience. Everyone from the patient care associates to the attending physicians was very friendly, good natured, and thorough. They answered any and all questions I had throughout the process, and gave me time to consider any options in my care so I did not feel rushed. It truly seems to be a place where the staff enjoys working and taking care of patients which makes the experience of postpartum so much more pleasant. My nurse even gave me a big hug and we took a picture together when I checked out! There was a lactation consultant on staff who visited my room soon after the birth. They offer classes each morning, and she also rounds to each room to provide individual attention throughout the day. Her advice and patient demonstrations on breastfeeding was so helpful. She showed me how to hand express as well as various ways to hold my daughter to make feeding more comfortable. She also stopped by just to see how we were doing on my last day, which I thought showed true compassion. The single rooms are lovely, but very $$. I was in a double room and it was perfectly lovely with an amazing view of central park! The floors were pretty quiet at night and the nurses and care associates were very responsive throughout the night to any request. The food was, for hospital food, actually pretty good! THey also ordered meals for my husband even though he wasn't staying overnight so that we could have dinner together. I would highly recommend Mount Sinai Hospital. Do you recommend? Highly recommend Insurance details: Aetna (Review submitted via the 2014 Birthing Survey)
  • Based on a 2014 Birthing Experience

    Member Review: I really enjoyed my experience at Mount Sinai. The nurses are compassionate, the facilities are clean and the views of Central Park are really pleasant. I highly suggest getting a private room. My insurance, Aetna, ended up reimbursing me for this cost. I went through 12 hours of labor before having an emergency c-section, and those hours were as pleasant as they could be as I had a very effective epidural. The surgery was very quick. I was a little frustrated with the amount of time I had to wait in the post-surgery center and was anxious to get into my private room. I'm not sure what caused the delay, but it was a little painful to be stuck in there with other patients during recovery. The lactation consultants were great and they hold breast-feeding classes each morning. The nurses are also happy to take the baby to the nursery so that the mom can get her rest. They were also quite responsive with requests (such as for pain meds). My biggest complaint is that they did not sufficiently warn against the rick of constipation while taking percocet, and did not require a B.M. before leaving the hospital. This created some serious problems when I got home. Otherwise, I was really comfortable in the hospital room and would have liked to have stayed even longer. Do you recommend? Highly recommend Get a private room. It's worth the cost. Insurance details: Yes, they accepted Aetna and I had no problems filing any claims. The hospital took care of everything. I was even shocked and happily surprised to receive a reimbursement check for the private room from Aetna. I didn't even submit a claim for this. (Review submitted via the 2014 Birthing Survey)
  • Re: How was you delivery at Mount Sinai?

    I just had a successful VBAC there on July 14th--thanks to my amazing docs, not necessarily Mt. Sinai. It's pretty rigid, in terms of what they will let you do in terms of laboring. I got away with a lot because it was on a weekend--my doctors prefer that their clients go there in very active labor if it's during the week, as they won't let you do much in terms of walking out of the room, getting on a birthing ball, etc. But that's also because I was on continuous monitoring due to the VBAC. In general though they are pretty rigid, but the staff and nurses postpartum was amazing...I can't breastfeed, but the woman in the room with me was having problems with her newborn latching and it seemed like they called in an army of lactation consultants to help her..they didn't give up until she was breastfeeding successfully...but if you want a hospital that encourages unmedicated childbirth and is supportive on that road, it's not that. They were asking me if I wanted an epidural every 10 minutes.
  • Re: How was you delivery at Mount Sinai?

    Wonderful! Hopefully your little one won't need anything extra, but just in case, the NICU was fantastic to us also :). Best wishes!
  • Re: How was you delivery at Mount Sinai?

    Amazing! Flawless!
  • (no subject)

    I was also very happy with Mount Sinai.
  • Birth Survey 2012

    REVIEW: The staff is just amazing, and the newly renovated floors are excellent. It's a high-quality facility, no question, but so are lots of hospitals in NY -- I think the quality of the OB is actually what's most important. That said, the Sinai nurses, lactaction consultations, etc. were top-notch. INSURANCE ISSUES: A huge pain -- our daughter's almost five months and we've just stopped being billed for random things. Also, you have to pay extra, and it's exorbitant, for a private room (critical so that your partner can stay over after the birth -- otherwise they have to leave after visiting hours end). Review Date: April 2012
  • Birth Survey 2012

    REVIEW: Check in was difficult--the women at the front desk act like you're coming in for a papercut and give you a pile of paperwork even if you preregister. The actual birth was pretty great, though. the delivery staff was phenominal--listened to me, supported me, advocated for me, and were very physically present. The anestesiologist seemed angry to be there--too bad since he has such a fun job. The nursing staff during my stay was terrible--they seemed to be annoyed that I was there, resentful when I asked for basic things, did not explain pain medication, and was generally rude and uninformed. The other hospital staff was very sweet, though (cleaning staff, food services, etc). Breastfeeding--not so much. Formula was definitely pushed and I was very much left on my own to figure out breastfeeding. INSURANCE ISSUES: Not good. My son is 4 months old and they are still processing paperwork... I was admitted for contractions once mid-way through my pregnancy and I had to fight that claim tooth and nail (with the help of my lovely OB!) Review Date: April 2012
  • (no subject)

    My ob/gyn is Karen Brodman-Grimm from Mt. Sinai. I highly recommend her. She runs on time, is calm and assuring, doesn't overtest, etc. Had some difficulties and she saw us through.
  • (no subject)

    I delivered my son at Mt Sinai in summer 2008 with Dr Alan Adler. I saw him at his practice on the Upper East Side near where I work but he also has an office on Ocean Parkway in Brooklyn. I felt very safe in his hands and I ended up having a planned c-section because my son was breech. The delivery was swift and my recovery was excellent. There is a female doctor in his practice also. I still attend his practice for routine checkups. Alan Adler MD : 212-535-9607
  • Birth Experience May 2009

    I delivered in May of 2009, so a little over a year ago. My nurse was Helen O'Keefe, she is immortalized in some very early pics of our baby! I don't think you can choose your nurse but maybe you can ask your OB about it. If you plan on using a doula, there is some mixed info out there. Sinai allows doulas, they used to have a list and you could only use doulas on that list, but this is no longer the case. When we went into triage with our doula they tried to not allow her in because the "rule" is that only one person may accompany you. However I screamed and yelled (easy to do when you are labor, haha) and it all worked out fine. The woman who was checking us in didn't know that doulas could also come, so another more senior person (a nurse I think) stepped in. We had to go into triage first because there wasn't a free bed in L&D, but as soon as one opened up they moved us. Triage was kind of annoying (they ask lots of questions, monitor you, make you give a urine sample, etc) but things were better once we moved. Definitely take the tour, it will help you get your bearings for the big day. They have a big binder of menus if you want to order in yummy takeout once you are up in maternity. The food wasn't great so I did this a few times. Oh yeah and I saw the comment posted about the non-renovated floor. I really am kind of a diva about these things and honestly, it was totally fine. I was on the window side so could see the park, which was pretty. I think the renovated floors have flatscreen TVs but really, you don't have time to watch it anyway between the baby and visitors and trying to catch naps. The one thing I would say is that maybe if I had a c-section a private room would have been nice. They have cheaper private rooms on the non-renovated floor. When I gave birth they cost $500/night. Still kind of a lot, and I think they tend to sell out first.
  • Review:July 2010

    My son was born in Mt. Sinai and I had a very good experience. I wanted a natural birth which I had to discuss with the anesthesiologist but he was fine with it (even though he did not recommend it). Down the hall there was another lady who did a natural birth as well. I had my doula there which really helped. They left us alone for most of it which was great. The nurses were very nice so I really have no complaints whatsoever. The rooms are great (especially if you get a private one that overlooks Central Park). I would recommend though that you stock up on big hygiene pads, and things they provide you with to clean down there (it is some sort of spray) for your arrival at home, because they did not give us a "care package" when we left so my husband had to go and find all that stuff in the pharmacies around Park Slope which was a huge inconvenience.
  • 2008 Birth Experience (posted July 2010)

    We had our first son at Sinai in 2008 and it was an amazing experience. The staff in both labor & delivery as well as recovery were amazing. We were admitted quickly, attended to regularly, and had a great experience. The only downfall was the anesthesiologist (but apparently this is a common complaint, I'm happy to share more details if you are interested). I loved my labor nurse and she even came to check on us when we were in recovery a few days later. In fact, we loved our experience there so much that we are delivering there again in just over a month with #2.
  • Review from July 2010

    I had a good experience there, mainly due to the fact that my obgyn let me deliver at my own pace and without drugs. I had a long delivery and I think a lot of other doctors would have proceeded to a C section. The nurses on the recovery were so-so, and if there is any way you can afford it, I would recommend paying extra for a single room. I was exhausted by labor and had to be awake all night not only b/c of my baby (which I gladly attended to), but because of other babies/ moms in the room. So I could not rest at all. Apart from that, all OK. Good luck to you and your baby, your body will know what to do, it's a miracle
  • Review posted July 2010

    I delivered there and had a mostly good experience. I would say bring an eye (sleep) mask and earplugs because like any big hospital it can be loud and those will help you sleep. We didn't get a private room and I was on the "old" (non-renovated) floor and honestly it was fine. I had roommates both nights but a nice chunk of one day free so that was great when I had visitors. They kept the bathroom super clean which is key after delivery. My room didn't have a shower but I went to the shower room on the floor and it was soooo nice to finally bathe I didn't mind the short walk. (It's good to have flip-flops in case you end up on that floor- I think on the newer floors the rooms have their own showers.) The nursing care in both L+D and maternity is excellent, and I think that is one of the things that sets Sinai apart just from hearing from other moms who have given birth at other hospitals. It's really the nurses and aides who care for you and your baby postpartum. I think Sinai also has the largest number of LCs on staff. Also I was able to do an unmedicated birth with a doula, which was important to me. (Though triage tried to kick her out at first- it was sorted out though.) In fact, my L+D nurse had been a midwife in Europe so she had a lot of experience and was very helpful throughout the whole thing. My one HUGE complaint is that after delivering I became anemic and the lab screwed up my blood samples 2x (once it got lost, once it clotted before reaching them) so basically for bureaucratic reasons I couldn't get up to maternity for quite some time and was left waiting in L&D (I had the baby with me though). They wouldn't move me to the floor until they got the blood test results. I think if we hadn't been so overwhelmed we would have harassed them more but I think again, just one of the problems with a big hospital. I did tell the guest services lady who came around asking our opinions when we were being discharged. Oh, and if you need a pediatrician to see your baby while he or she is there we really liked Ramon Murphy and his practice. You just call and ask them before you give birth and put it on the form. Otherwise they assign you to someone. I think also they are one of the few places in NYC with the high level NICU should one need it?
  • Review posted July 2010

    if you have a couple extra bucks book a private room for after the delivery. the delivery room was not terribly cozy but it overlooked the park. My wife felt the nurses were not as attentive as she would have liked (this was 7 years ago) and a woman screaming for drugs while in labor is impossible to please, :) (sorry). Overall it was a great experience.
  • Birth Experience from Jan 2009

    (Posted 7/2010) I chose Mount Sinai as the hospital to give birth to my 18 month old son at the recommendation of several physicians who I know and trust. The second choice would have been NY Presbyterian, which has also come highly recommended. As far as our experience there, I'd say it started out a little rocky but it ultimately ended up being the right choice for us and I would go there again. They do tours of the maternity ward by appt and they also include one if you sign up for any of their classes. We took all three of the classes they had available and while you will most likely be able to educate yourselves on your own without taking the classes, I still found them to be comforting because we got to know our way around a little bit. I think that just like in any hospital, there are great nurses and tired nurses so I think the fact that my son was born at night on a holiday weekend may have made our first night in the hospital a little less than ideal. It was hard to get a nurse to respond to my calls and I was reluctant to keep calling since I was sharing a room with a woman who had had a c-section (didn't want to bother her). The private rooms there are more expensive than at other hospitals and they are strict about visiting hours which applies to dads too. In our case, since our son was born after visiting hours, my husband only got to stay with us for a couple hours before he had to go home. It was a bummer because I think if he had been there, I would have felt a little less helpless on our first night there. That said, although that first night was a little scary/lonely, every nurse who I interacted with starting in the morning was totally attentive, helpful, etc. Where it made a huge difference was the morning I was getting discharged. The nurse came by to take my son back to the nursery for his pre-discharge newborn screening. They were gone for over an hour and just as I started to worry, our pediatrician came by to tell me there was a problem. It turned out that these two nurses/angels in the nursery noticed that our son's feet were looking a little discolored so they checked his blood pressure in the lower half of his body and found that blood was barely pumping down there. They called in the pediatrician, who called in the cardiologist, who called in the surgeon and long story short, we found out he had two heart defects and was scheduled for open heart surgery the next day. It was a shock to say the least but not only were the doctors super, super caring, attentive, and patient, the nurses took such good care of our son and us. I was grateful that he was born in a hospital that was able to take care of him there rather than transfer him to another facility. We were told that his one of his heart defects is fairly common but isn't normally caught until the family is home for a few days and the baby has gone into cardiac arrest. In our case, because the nurses noticed something wasn't right, it was caught before any physical damage was done to him and any long term emotional damage was done to us. I'm still in touch with those two nurses and will be forever grateful to them and the others there. Oh, one more thing, whether you're getting a private room or not, be sure to request a room on either the 7th or 8th floors. They have a maternity ward on the 5th floor too but it's not renovated like the others. Also, if you aren't getting a private room, see if you can request a room on the window side. Makes a huge difference since it overlooks the park. In my case, I had the door side so I just had a view of the hall. It wasn't horrible but I was definitely jealous of my suite mate. Hope this helps!!
  • Birth Experience May 2010

    We had our younger son (age 4) at Mount Sinai and I remember the experience bein a positive one. No pressure to take the epi - my wife chose to take it. Hope this helps Good luck