host2 www.parkslopeparents.com
serv2 www.parkslopeparents.com

J & R Television

https://www.parkslopeparents.com/components/com_jbusinessdirectory/assets/no_image.jpg
J & R Television

Description

We don't have a description for this business. If this is your business and you'd like to find out how to improve this page, please get in touch.

Reviews (33)

  • Yikes - Reliable oven repair person???

    Back in January when one of the burners on my Frigidaire oven broke I called J&R TV/AC (718-638-3040, https://jandrsales.com/, 7th Avenue in Park Slope) and made an appointment for a repair man to come. A few days later he came, assessed, and told me what needed to be fixed. He didn't have the part on him so we had to schedule another date for him to come to do the actual repair but that was only a couple of days later. Total cost with labor and parts was about $293. I paid about $900 for the oven at PC Richard back in 2016 and thought about buying a new one when I was quoted the repair cost, but the nice guy at J&R TV/AC explained with the pandemic-related supply chain issues, it would be best not to buy a new oven right now as the available selection would be limited.
  • Yikes - Reliable oven repair person???

    when this happened to our stove a couple years back, we called J&R appliances. I am not sure of their current availability; but at the time they were able to come over within a couple days and fixed it on the spot.
  • ISO: Lamp Repair Shop

    I recently had a lamp repaired at J&R TV/AC on 7th Avenue (108 Seventh Avenue between Union and President), https://jandrsales.com/. The lamp needed a new socket and rewiring and it only took a few days and is now working great.
  • Appliances - reco on brands/models and where to buy from?

    I second J&R. I buy all my appliances from there. Their installation fee is very reasonable and done right. I bought a washer/dryer combo that was under the sink, and the installer was able to take out a narrow cabinet to fit the W/D. I bought several air conditioners, stoves, refrigerators, dishwashers, etc. J&R guys don’t try to push products. They will tell you what they think are good products if you ask them, and their prices are better than big box stores, i.e. Lowe’s or Home Depot or Best Buy, and they really know their stuff. They have all the name brands you know and don’t know. I like that I’m not overwhelmed like I am when I am at big box stores. Plus, I like supporting local businesses whenever I can. They haul away the old appliances also, which is great. The store looks like a throwback of the 80s, but don’t let that fool you.
  • Recommendation for washer & dryer removal and installation

    have used J&R for this a few times over the years and would recommend them too they are very familiar with the local problems (suburban size machines often don't fit up or down stairs) and they're friendly and efficient right on 7th ave near president street (March 2021)
  • Recommendation for washer & dryer removal and installation

    Most places that sell will deliver, do basic install and haul away. If you want to shop local try J&R television on 7th ave. We got our fridge from there. We got our washer/dryer from Costco. Both did delivery and haul away. (March 2021)
  • Appliances shops - good experience

    We've also worked with J & R Television and bought smaller items from them and found it very pleasant to work with. (February 2021)
  • ISO handyman to unstack washer/dryer

    JR appliance on 7th Ave has a repair crew that will unstack a washer/dryer combo as part of the job. Unless you're under warranty, I'd recommend calling them. (January 2021)
  • Dishwasher repair?

    J&R Television on 7th Avenue b/w Union and President did an amazing and SO reasonably priced in-home repair on my dishwasher. Plus, love supporting this local family-owned business. (September 2020)
  • Repair - Dishwasher

    J & R on 7th Ave have lovely people who do a fantastic job, and charge a reasonable price. They fixed my dishwasher for next to nothing last year, and it's 10-years-old. (July 2020)
  • Air Conditioning Conundrum

    I believe J&R (7th and President) can get an air-conditioner with a slimmer profile that works with (at least some) window bars and also come install it for you. J&R is wonderful and we used them to permanently install a huge a/c several years ago and they were great! (July 2019)
  • Dishwasher Repair

    I strongly second the recommendation for J&R -- they fixed two separate issues with my 10 yo GE dishwasher for a VERY reasonable price, and could not be nicer people (it's a family business that's been in the Slope forever). J&R Television on 7th Avenue. (718) 638-3040 (July 2019)
  • Dishwasher Repair

    We just had J & R fix our dishwasher, and it was relatively fast and inexpensive. I definitely recommend them! (July 2019)
  • Best place to buy a washer/dryer?

    We have used J and R appliances on 7th ave for many years. After you do your research go to them and they will match the price you find. They also do warranties etc. they install and take things away for a small fee. They are all nice, professional and find a time window that works for you. Over the years at two different homes we have replaced 2 old dishwashers, 2 microwaves, 2 air conditioners and a washer and dryer with them. Sometimes they find an even better price. Plus I think it is important to support local businesses. My two cents. ( and no relation to them). (September 2018)
  • Recommendation: J&R Television and Air Conditioning

    I just wanted to post as we had another fantastic experience purchasing appliances from Ralph at J&R on 7th Avenue http://jandrsales.com We purchased a new washer and dryer - called with the model numbers we wanted and he beat the price of all the major “big box” stores, delivery was free, and they took away our old machines. Delivery was seamless, on time, professional, and incredibly talented (getting down a set of basement stairs with millimeters to spare!). Their inventory is not limited to what’s in their store - they can get any appliance on the market with a day’s notice. We’ve purchased everything from microwaves to fridges to ovens to washers/dryers from Ralph over the years - we’ve been very happy to buy local (and get a great deal and great service). No affiliation, just happy customers. (March 2018)
  • ISO Stove Repairman

    We were happy with the service we got from JR Appliance on 7th avenue. They twice repaired our Thermador stove and also worked on our disheasher. Plus, it makes me happy to support a local business. (January 2018)
  • Re: ISO: washing machine repair

    We usually use J&R for those types of repairs. Their service people are good, their prices seem fair, and they are honest.
  • Re: Where to dispose of old batteries

    J&R on Seventh Ave between Union and President will take them.
  • reviews for LOCAL BUSINESSES-SERVICES

    I highly recommend them. A really reliable place that has been in the neighborhood for decades.Wonderful, knowledgeable, honest service. We have used them mostly to purchase and install appliances, like a refrigerator, air conditioner and ovens. Their prices are competitive, and they are available for any questions we have. he old ovens we had presented particular challenges to replace (like rewiring from gas to electric) and they were able to recommend someone that was able to take care of the issues.
  • A/C installation/de-installation

    I know J&R installs and de-installs. (Don’t know about storage.) We call them every year. We also buy EVERYTHING from them (they’ll order whatever we select) because LOCAL, been here for DECADES, etc. Also, they’re great.
  • Re: Miele vacuum repair through J&R?

    J&R fixed our Eureka vacuum and did a great job.
  • SUMMARY: Appliance repair recommendations

    We use J&R on 7th Ave for appliance repairs and they are always quick and professional (and successful!!). (Reviewed Jan 2015)
  • SUMMARY: Appliance repair recommendations

    J&R on seventh avenue does a great job. Used them multiple times. (Reviewed Jan 2015)
  • Re: [PSP] Shout Out for J & R Appliance in North Slope

    I second that recommendation! I've had dealings with them on several occasions, and they're always friendly and helpful.
  • Shout Out for J & R Appliance in North Slope

    Just wanted to recommend J & R Appliance on 7th Avenue between President and Union. We were in the market for a new dishwasher and they price matched, offered free delivery and coordinated a great/reasonable plumber to do the install. They hauled away the broken dishwasher for $30. Ralph and Mario were friendly, responsive and made the experience relatively painless. A friend recently purchased one a dishwasher from Sears and when it arrived they balked at actually installing it - something about brackets and wood being needed. She had to hire Checklist Home Services to install it and Task Rabbit to take the old one away. A headache. J&R guaranteed that they would not walk away from my dishwasher install/ put in any needed brackets etc. The new dishwasher was in in under and hour. (For better or for worse, they were also playing Frozen on one of the TVs when we were there. My 4-year-old was rapt and wants to hang out there now.)
  • Re: [PSP] Re: Any recommendations for appliance repair?

    J&R on president and 7 ave has good reliable repair people and have been in the neighborhood for many decades. I don't know how their prices compare to others these days.
  • Re: ISO someone to help install window AC

    J & R on 7th. Local and great service. Highly recommended.
  • Re: Where to buy a dryer?

    I always call Ralph at J and R on 7th Avenue. Tell him the model you want, and he'll get it for you! Always the best price, and it supports local business! I've bought so many appliances from them over the years - they can order anything, even if it's not in stock in their shop.
  • Re: Kitchen renovation question

    We did our kitchen renovation ten years ago and got all the appliances from J&R on 7th Avenue in Park Slope. We dealt with Ralph, the owner, and he beat or met the lowest price on pretty much every appliance. He does not have anything on display, so you need to know what you want. We have purchased other appliances since, and always buy from Ralph. Aside from having competitive pricing, he is a nice guy, and has his own delivery staff. They come when they say they will be there and are competent.
  • Re: Kitchen renovation question

    I second J&R. They have also been great when we have needed a replacement part, repairs, etc...
  • (no subject)

    I second that. J&R have helped me out more times than I have time to go into. They are terrific. (November 2011)
  • (no subject)

    Many of you know the excellent local electronics store J&R on 7th Ave at Presidents (not at all the computer store in the city) but I wanted to give (another) plug for them because of their recent service when I had been lost in the woods of trying to buy a new cordless phone and encourage others to use them. Because I needed a few particular features that I couldn't find in the many stores I tried, J&R said that if I told them what I wanted they would order it (no shipping charges, if I don't like it I can return it with no shipping charges or hassle, buy local etc). Overwhelmed by the ridiculously vast selection of phones on the Panasonic website, I called J&R back, told them what I was looking for and they researched it and told me the benefits of the different models, ordered the right model for me at the website price (but without shipping charges) and it arrived in just days. Voila, I can talk on the phone at home again! Seriously, with the holiday shopping coming, I just want to jump on the bandwagon to say that J&R, and Brookes and many other local stores sell everything you could ever need without the hassle of big box stores or on-line shipping charges and all. I have no connection to them, it's just that I hate the glare of empty storefronts around here and wanted to dispel the myth that shopping local is always more expensive. November 2011
  • (no subject)

    We used the guys at J&R Television on 7th avenue for installation. They were excellent and inexpensive. (and we had bought our TV elsewhere!) Jan 2011