host2 www.parkslopeparents.com
serv2 www.parkslopeparents.com

Guirguis Obstetrics and Gynecology Group of Brooklyn

https://www.parkslopeparents.com/components/com_jbusinessdirectory/assets/no_image.jpg
Guirguis Obstetrics and Gynecology Group of Brooklyn

Description

We don't have a description for this business. If this is your business and you'd like to find out how to improve this page, please get in touch.

Reviews (121)

  • Review from the Spring 2022 Birthing Survey

    Dr Guirguis delivered my daughter and was wonderful. I saw all of the practitioners at The Guirguis Group (OBGYN+midwife practice) over the course of my pregnancy and really like all of them. They had tremendous patience with all of my questions, were happy to have my doula as part of my team, and overall gave me the sense that I was in great hands. Their front desk staff is lovely. They are a little slow to respond to questions on their patient portal (a few days), and they have different hours every day of the week, which was hard to keep track of.
  • Review from the Spring 2022 Birthing Survey

    I had a wonderful experience with all of the providers at Guirguis. They were all kind, competent and had great bedside manners. They answered my questions and put me at ease during appointments. It should be noted that three of the providers (Dr. Jones, Dr. Swenson and midwife Gillian) recently left the practice. I can’t speak for the new midwife and doctor at the practice now but Dr. Peter Guirguis is wonderful and I also appreciate midwife Alexandra’s bedside manner.
  • Review from the Spring 2022 Birthing Survey

    Perfectly fine, low intervention, open to my questions but not hand holding. This coming from someone who had no risk / irregularities other than being over 35. In hindsight I was much happier with the service than during my pregnancy when I wanted a little more TLC, more patient-centered care. Complementing my OB care with a doula and other emotional support systems completed my care package. The actual delivery with Doctor Jones was great. Her bedside manner was excellent and I felt safe and secure and as in control as I could be.
  • OB/gyn recommendation at Guirguis ob/gyn group?

    I saw all of the female docs at Guirguis during my recent pregnancy and delivery. They are all wonderful. Alexandra Moskaluk, the midwife, delivered my baby and she was wonderful - great bedside manner, incredibly caring and knowledgable etc. Same for Drs Swenson, Skoczylas, and Jones. I wholeheartedly recommend all of them.
  • OB/GYN who takes GHI?

    I have GHI and go to the Guirguis group (on 3rd street b/w 7th and 8th Ave in Park Slope). I really like all the doctors!
  • recommended OB/GYN at Methodist?

    I also delivered with Guirguis Obstetrics and had a great experience. I found them on the advice of my doula and switched later in my pregnancy from Mt Sinai. Agree with all the points above, they have a low key approach that I appreciated and were low intervention. Had a wonderful natural birth experience that met my wishes and respected my decisions. Really enjoyed having both OBs and midwives in the group
  • Review from the 2021 Birthing Experience Survey

    I really like all of the practitioners at this group practice. I had great interactions with all of them and felt very comfortable. They were sometimes hard to get a hold of though. Wait times were far shorter than during my first pregnancy with them, but still variable from 0-45 minutes.
  • Recommendation Needed for Switching OBs in 3rd Trimester

    I moved from LA to BK in my third trimester and —after much stressful searching—went with Guirguis Group in Park Slope. It’s a group practice so you meet all the drs and get whoever is on call when you go into labor. I liked everyone, but was happy that Dr. Pete (Guirguis) was on call for me. He was thorough, warm, and very attentive to my birth plan.
  • Recommendations for Dr./practice delivering at Methodist

    I'm a patient with the Guirguis practice (mixed practice with midwifes and OBs). I've really liked them and they deliver at Methodist.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    Open and responsive team at Guirguis. Doesn’t pressure you to make certain decisions about your pregnancy and birth on most topics (though they do prefer vaginal birth over c-section if possible). Evidence based and provides lots of info and support on topics you want to know more about. Good about responding in their patient portal, easy to work with.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    They were absolutely great. I switched halfway through my pregnancy from a big practice because I felt guirguis was more accepting of me wanting a natural birth. They didn't force me to do any unnecessary tests and was able to labor /give birth how I wanted.
  • OBGYN rec

    I also went to Guirguis Group and loved it!
  • OBGYN rec

    Yup, Guirguis.
  • OBGYN rec

    I highly recommend Guirguis Group here in Park Slope. Every single person I met there was so nice and beyond helpful. My baby was breech so I actually had an unsuccessful ECV procedure + then C-section experience with them and they were really wonderful and supportive through the whole process. My friend goes there too and had a great birth experience as well. They were also supportive of my unmedicated birth plan (before we knew baby was stubbornly breech), Dr. Guirguis was very non-alarmist. I also saw they had great reviews on the Park Slope Parents site too.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    I like the style of care provided at this practice. They are pretty relaxed, listened to what I wanted, provided me with information and recommendations, and let me guide my experience. So A+ on clinical care. I will say that office management is pretty disorganized - it was hard to get in touch with a provider with their COVID hours, sched appts, and they forgot to tell me some things (like to get a tdap shot and how to reach them if I went into labor). So maybe a B or B- on things that happen between conversations with clinical staff.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    I like all the providers at Guirguis. I really wanted a VBAC and during delivery, Dr. Peter knew it and worked with me to make it happen. At all my visits, they listened to me, answered my questions, and had a calm approach to my pregnancy and birth, which is what I wanted.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    I went to Guirguis OBGYN for my second pregnancy. The office feels like an old-school Brooklyn practice. It's not fancy and does not have shiny, new equipment, but they get the job done. All that aside, the OBs are kind and attentive. I recommend making a point to meet every doctor at Guirguis because you never know who will be on the schedule when your baby is ready to come out. Biggest benefit of all – I live a 15-minute walk to Guirguis's office on 3rd Street, so it was incredibly convenient. Also glad I was able to deliver at Methodist for the same reason.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    I really love the staff and female doctors here; they are personable, respectful, helpful, and knowledgeable. The office is homey and friendly. I only had one check-in appointment during my pregnancy with Dr. Guirguis himself. While he was warm and affable, he treated most of my questions with responses like, "Don't worry, everything will be fine." I guess he has been around the block and that was his way of saying he thought the baby and I were healthy and it was going to be a low-risk birth, but I found it annoying and patronizing and really just wanted my questions answered. We switched to midwife care around halfway through my pregnancy (not because of Dr. Guirguis, but because I wanted to try for a home birth), so my experiences in his office were just during the first few months.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    I loved going to The Guirguis Obstetrics & Gynecology Group. I went to the Park Slope office most of the time but once went to the Bay Ridge office. On Fridays they only have appointments for pregnant women which will help with the wait. I found that Mondays were the most crowded in the waiting room. I ended up seeing every provider during my time there except the eventual midwife who delivered my daughter.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    Dr Skocylas delivered both my kids - my first vaginally and the 2nd was a scheduled C section since the baby was breech. She was very respectful of my more holistic and earthy nature/wishes even when we were faced with a c section (which threw me for a loop since my first was vaginal). I felt so well taken care of during both births and she’s a great communicator with not only her patients but with her medical teams including my doula.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    I started my pregnancy w/Guirguis- but ended up switching providers in Mar 2020. This was due to COVID restrictions not allowing birthing people to have support at Methodist (where Guirguis delivers). The people at Guirguis are GREAT in person- office staff, nurses and doctors alike. They are respectful and kind. My only complaint is their communication outsideof the office. If you don't need a lot of outside of office communication, then I wouldn't hesistate to suggest them.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    Dr Guirguis was our OB for the first two trimesters but we ended up delivering in Florida due to Covid-19. Our baby was ultimately born at 29 weeks, one pound and seven ounces. Dr. Guirguis had told us the baby looked a little small early on in the pregnancy, but not to the extent that he was at birth. I don't know if the size problem was something that should have been caught sooner or not.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    Overall, I was extremely pleased with the care I received with the Guirguis practice. They were definitely better at returning my phone calls then the practice I was with for my first baby and while I was decided to do a VBAC or scheduled c-section, I never felt pressured to go one way or another. Similarly, when I had some slight complications in my pregnancy, the doctors were proactive, but not alarmist. Dr. Pete and Dr. Skoczylas were my favorites, but I felt that everyone I saw provided me with good care. My scheduled c-section was a really positive experience (as opposed to my previous emergency one) and I really appreciated Dr. Pete and Dr. Jones setting a calm, positive mood--especially because it was in the height of Covid-19 and I was there by myself (aside from the actual surgery.) After the surgery I had some complications with my c-section incision healing, and I wish that the practice had been more responsive to me during that experience--it kind of felt like since the baby was out, I was no longer a priority. All that being said, especially compared to the previous practice I used for my daughter 4 years ago, I would definitely recommend the guirguis practice. The office ladies were warm and friendly and the wait was only sometimes very long. My appointments never felt rushed and I always felt comfortable asking questions or voicing worries.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    We had a great experience with this group practice. Throughout our pregnancy, we were seen by most of the practitioners and all were friendly, kind, caring, and supportive. The front office staff was always easy to deal with and flexible with scheduling. We would use them again
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    They were great!
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    Warm, attentive, positive experience. I felt cared for and supported.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    We had a great experience with Guirguis. We mostly went to the Park Slope office. The nurses and front office staff are very kind and friendly. I always felt like I was in good care - my concerns were validated and heard and the appointments never felt rushed. I appreciated that the doctors aren't alarmists and spoke to us empathetically and calmly about big and "small" things. My desire for a natural birth was validated and encouraged. The response time to portal messages were sometimes a day or two but phone calls were returned the same day. One negative was that we were rarely seen at the time of our appointment and could wait up to 45 minutes at times to go back.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    Loved them all. Very relaxed, low-key, and low-intervention.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    Been a patient since 2017. The office admins are sweethearts and all the doctors and midwives I've met have been friendly and professional. I was previously going to an OB in Manhattan, but in hindsight, they were rather "fear mongerning". I liked that the Drs. at Guirguis practice were laid back and professional. Yes, I was over 35 for my pregnancy, but everything else was normal so they didn't worry my unneccesarily.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    I always had a positive experience with Guirguis’ office. As a first time mom I would have like a little more structure and help with expectation management but overall they were always there when I needed them.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    Home grown feeling practice, easy to get appointments at desired times, enjoyed all the practitioners I worked with (especially the female midwives). If you want fancy rooms, 3-D imaging, frequent sonograms, this is NOT the place. I really enjoyed their low-tech, low-worry, minimally invasive approach - the front desk staff are sweethearts, the nurses were wonderful as well. I found their online portal especially useful for questions that arose, a practitioner would always get back to me within a day (and you can direct questions to specific practitioners as well, so like whoever last saw you or knows your situation, etc would give you a direct response).
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    I always had a positive experience with Guirguis’ office. As a first time mom I would have like a little more structure and help with expectation management but overall they were always there when I needed them.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    Heather jones in Giurguis practice Very supportive and encouraging! Held my baby during my 6 week checkup so I could get dressed
  • Experience with Guirguis office

    I spent two weeks over the summer trying to get my doctor on the phone for a specific reason and could not. I'd either get no call back, or I'd get a call that I'd miss, call back 3 minutes later, and the doctor was already in with another patient. I must have called 10 times and never ended up speaking to my doctor. Maybe it was worse because it was a time when a lot of people were on vacation, but it frustrating and completely turned me off to the group.
  • Experience with Guirguis office

    Hi! I had a similar experience after my first appointment at Guirguis and looked to switch practices because of it. However, I had a friend/patient who gave me some communication tips and I stuck with them and am very happy there now (currently in the homestretch of my first pregnancy). Tips: - don’t use their website contact info! Everything is out of date. Hours listed are not accurate, phone #s listed are not the best for getting through. Even provider names are not up to date! (For the Park Slope office: 718-768-8500 — Mon 7am-2pm, Tues 1-6pm, Weds 10am-5pm, Thurs 9am-2pm, Fri 9am-2pm, closed weekends)
  • Experience with Guirguis office (and Methodist)

    They’ve been really responsive to me (within 48hrs). As a healthcare professional, 24-48 hrs is the timeframe we aim for in responding to messages but things can get busy!
  • Experience with Guirguis office

    I’ve been going to the Guirguis practice in Park Slope for my current pregnancy, and though my visits and the docs are fine, I am finding they never return my calls, emails or patient portal messages. When I mentioned this to one of the doctors he wasn’t surprised and said that was something they do struggle with. Anyone else experiencing this? How is this acceptable for an OB office? I’ve read so many positive reviews of the practice through PSP which is why I’m there (I was at NYU for my first and it was all great) but I am questioning my choice even now in my 3rd trimester.
  • HELLLOOOO??? Welcome May 2020 Families!

    We're at Guirguis OB and delivering at NYP Methodist. It's a group practice and I've liked everyone I've seen so far. Waits aren't long if you get an early morning appointment, and the staff is friendly and accommodating. (December 2019)
  • HELLLOOOO??? Welcome May 2020 Families!

    I've been seeing the Guiruis Group here in Park Slope, and so far everyone has been very nice and friendly. I've met with Dr. Peter Guirguis, Dr. Swenson and I'm scheduled to meet the midwife in their practice next week as well. (Rotating practice) Also, I've scheduled appointments for first thing in the morning so no wait times. (December 2019)
  • obgyn rec?

    Another vote for the Guirguis practice! They delivered all three of my kids. (November 2019)
  • obgyn rec?

    I have been happy with Guirguis on 3rd too! (December 2019)
  • obgyn rec?

    Guirguis on 3rd street is great! The office itself is behind the times but the staff is amazing. Dr. Pete delivered [my baby]....he is the son of the original Guirguis that started the practice way back. The practice has 4 obs and 2-3 midwives. They are affiliated with Fem-Gyn just around the corner on 7th ave which does urgent care walk ins and sonograms. (December 2019)
  • obgyn rec?

    I am a big fan of Guirguis Obstetrics & Gynecology, they delivered [my daughter] and I went back for my IUD and other care there. (December 2019)
  • Seeking New OBGYN

    Guirguis is amazing!! I highly recommend! Doctors and midwives are kind, attentive, and knowledgeable. And so were the nursing and secretarial staff. They didn’t push interventions, as I’ve heard can happen. If you have specific questions feel free to message me!
  • OB/GYN recco

    I recommend the Guirguis practice. If you go on Fridays (OB only) wait times are not too bad.
  • 2019 Birth Survey

    Excellent! Exactly what I was looking for in a practice. Very laid back, helped me sustain a low stress experience throughout my pregnancy. I carried past 41 weeks, and they allowed me to wait to go into labor naturally. I so greatly appreciated it this.
  • 2019 Birth Survey

    Great! There were long waits, but it was worth the care and time they gave during my appointments. I never felt rushed and they’d answer all my questions. I saw everyone over the course of the 9 months.
  • 2019 Birth Survey

    Had a great experience with the Gurguis practice. I appreciated their low-intervention approach, and even though I needed extra monitoring at the end of my pregnancy, they were very calm and unalarmist. I liked that the practice includes doctors and midwives, but had positive experiences with all staff.
  • 2019 Birth Survey

    I saw almost all of the midwives and doctors at this practice and enjoyed my experience with each person. I especially loved Dr. Jill-Anne Swensen, and was lucky enough that she was at the hospital for my delivery! The one doctor I did not actually appreciate is the practice's namesake and founder. He was very rough the two times I saw him and I would not want to have an appointment with him again.
  • 2019 Birth Survey

    I had an absolutely wonderful experience and found the Guriguis team to be warm, supportive and attentive. I switched practices twice because I was uncomfortable (I was first at Spring Ob Gyn and then at Park Slope Midwives--both felt off to me interpersonally).
  • OB Recommendation Delivering at Methodist or NY Presbyterian Lower Manhattan

    I delivered and had a great experience with the Gurguis Practice (in park slope). They deliver at Methodist and are a small practice of rotating obs and midwives. The only downside is wait times can vary. Sometimes they were fairly on schedule and other times I waited for up to an hour.
  • ISO OBGYN in Brooklyn

    I second the Guirguis office on 3rd St. I see midwife Jill Swenson for wellness visits. She’s been totally lovely, respectful, thorough etc...
  • Dr. Guirguis

    I have been with Dr. Guirguis' practice since October and so far have been pleased with the experience. The team is a mix of OBs and midwives and you do have time to meet most of them before you deliver (although may depend if you start seeing them later during your pregnancy). Overall I have felt more comfortable with the midwives' approach during appointments, but I'm generally happy with the team. The main downside - aside from wait times at appointments - is if you really prefer to have a midwife for your delivery you can't "secure" this choice. It depends on who is on call that day. For this reason we are currently giving some thought to Park Slope Midwives because of our overall preference with having a midwife (over an OB) for the delivery. Following our visit to Methodist Hospital, where we confirmed that a lot of our birthing preferences could be accommodated (non-drug pain management techniques, delayed cord clamping, etc.), we asked the same questions to the folks at Guirguis. We still need to go over a few items but overall they are quite progressive. I have felt well supported during my pregnancy, but I have not had any issues arise so it has been very simple.
  • Dr. Guirguis

    I wanted a more relaxed, personal prenatal experience this time around (I’m expecting #2), so after reading lots of reviews on PSP and talking to other local moms, I decided to go with Guirguis over PS Midwives. I have been very impressed with their prenatal care and all of the doctors and midwives. I haven’t been able to consistently meet with one midwife (based on my availability), but at this point, I’d be totally happy to deliver with anyone at their practice.
  • Dr. Guirguis

    I'm about to deliver my second child with the Guirguis practice (due date was 2 days ago). I had my first child with their practice at Methodist in September 2015 and I also had a doula. Overall I am very happy with them. you see the mix of OBs and midwives as you have your prenatal appointments, you cannot choose who you deliver with. I find that their approach is really non-alarmist and conservative in terms of intervention, and they support things like delayed cord clamping and non-drug pain management techniques which we had included in our birth plan in 2015. They also worked well with our doula. When delivering my first, I hadn't gotten around to meeting one of their main OBs, Dr. Pete Guirguis (the son in the father/son team), and he actually delivered my daughter after laboring for many hours with one of their midwives. I was nervous about the necessary shift change, but honestly he was wonderful. Super motivating and a breath of fresh air after many hours.
  • Dr. Guirguis

    I had both of my children (and unfortunately two miscarriages) with the Guirguis crew. I cannot recommend them highly enough. They are a wonderful blend of being just hands on enough without making pregnancy and birth pathological. I always felt heard and valued and sometimes they shut down the neurotic parts of me that did not need an audience. I had two unmedicated births (my first with the help of a Doula.... Who the practice openly embraced). All of the practitioners are amazing in their own way and while I certainly had my favorites I knew I would be in good hands with whoever helped deliver my kids. It was really important for my husband to have an active role and they allowed him to catch both of our babies, which he will continue to talk about until eternity! Wait times could be tough but Meh.... Just bring a good book and buckle up.
  • Dr. Guirguis

    i had my first baby on Halloween with Guirguis at Methodist and had a wonderful experience with the practice and the hospital. I second most of what has been said—the midwives and doctors at Guirguis are great. They are very low-intervention and non-alarmist. I needed extra monitoring near the end of my pregnancy and they were very supportive and low key. My doula, who has assisted close to 600 births including about 100 with them, says that the doctors there are about as close as you can get to midwives. :) I ended up having my baby with jillian barovick, who was fantastic. She worked really hard to avoid a c-section, but I never felt under stress. Dr. Pete is also fantastic. wait times can be long but I would try to Schedule early in day.
  • Dr. Guirguis

    I had my second baby with Dr. Guirguis' practice and they were all wonderful. I cannot recommend them highly enough!
  • Park Slope or nearby ob/gyn recommendation

    I second the Guirguis group. Absolutely love everything about the practice, including everyone at both offices (Park Slope and Bay Ridge). I've been seeing them for five years now. I will also say that Dr. Paone delivered my older son because he was the doctor on duty at the end of my very long labor... I had never met him before but he was wonderful.
  • Park Slope or nearby ob/gyn recommendation

    We loved Guirguis OBGYN group in Park Slope, just a few blocks away from Methodist. I found them after two friends independently recommended them (both delivered their babies with them) and after reading great reviews on PSP. The practice is a combination of OBs and midwives and you have the chance to meet everyone before you deliver. I particularly liked Dr. Swenson, Dr. Peter Guirguis and Jillian Barovick (CNM) but the entire practice was great. Jillian delivered my son at Methodist and she was fantastic.
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    I love being a part of this clinic, the environment is warm and supportive and I feel the providers are professional and truly there to provide me with the birth experience I want to have. Peter Guirguis delivered my baby and I saw him for many appointments and I felt cared for and confident in his expertise. I also saw the midwife Jillian Barovick and she has a great attitude, knowledgeable, and warm.
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    I chose Guirguis because there were many PSP posts that they’re supportive of VBAC (they are). Like a lot of people who go to a practice with a lot of doctors, I had my favorites but couldn’t choose who delivered in the end. There are 7 OBs and midwives (funny factoid: 5 of the 7 have some variation of the name Jill). I saw Dr. Peter Guirguis (Dr. G the younger) for most visits and Dr. Jill SKOCZYLAS delivered via c-section. I don’t love her communication style though she did a great job sewing me up - the incision is a lot cleaner looking than my first one. Dr. G Senior has a super old school “I’m not here to chat with you” vibe, and Dr. G the yonger is the polar opposite. I liked the CNMs.
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    "I picked the Guirguis practice based on the reviews I read from PSP and because I wanted something close to where I live in Brooklyn. I spent two years between starting to try to conceive and having my first child - including a late pregnancy loss - and the practice was overall very supportive and helpful at meeting where I was in the stages of each pregnancy. I like that they are half OB and half midwives. It made me feel like they could handle medical complications while still having a woman-centered approach. In my experience with a low-risk pregnancy for my August birth, they were also very supportive of a low intervention birth and generally chill with me overall. My favorite person there is Dr. Pete because we saw him most frequently and he had the Monday esrly AM appointments at the park slope office. And we were lucky that he ended up being the person on cal to deliver the baby. He is a great listener and reinforced my priorities and hopes for my birth. However, it’s importent to rotate who you see because any of the practitioners could deliver you and you don’t want to feel like it’s a stranger. The only cons are communication and wait time. For communication, you will get a call back within the day for any kind of medical question you have, usually in the afternoon. They have an online portal but don’t use it regularly so it’s better to leave a message with the front desk. However if you miss the call and want to speak with a practitioner live, then you have to do the whole thing again. They also don’t do reminders for appointments, so you need to be on top of putting them in your calendar ASAP. For wait times, they were all over the place. I’d say that in general, the earlier in the day, the shorter the wait. And that the midwives has shorter waits than the OBs. Sometimes we waited five minutes and sometimes an hour. It makes it very hard to plan. At the same time, a few times we needed to be seen on short notice and they always fit us in. And I think that flexibility contributes to the wait time issue. "
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    I started out loving Guirguis. Super friendly staff and doctors. But the wait times have grown excruciatingly long for visits that usually lasted five minutes. By the end of my pregnancy (the second one with this practice), I had lost all patience waiting. The place could also use a rehab furniture and space are depressingly worn out. Recently made the decision not to return for gyn care going forward.
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    Great- they helped me prepare at each appointment and answered all of my questions.
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    I love the entire practice.
  • Local gynecologist?

    I've had wonderful experiences with the Guirguis practice in Park Slope on 3rd st off of 7th Ave.
  • Review from the 2017 Birth Survey

    Very happy with this practice overall—mix of OBs and midwives. They took my questions seriously, were very receptive to my priorities and my interest in a low-intervention birth, and seem like a strong team. I recommend avoiding Mondays when making appointments—seems especially busy at the start of the week. Based on a October 2017 birthing experience.
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Amazing group of physicians and midwives, gave very personalized care Based on a September 2017 birthing experience.
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Great team of MDs, nurse midwives and support staff. Based on a September 2017 birthing experience.
  • [Summer2016Babies] OB rec

    I was very happy with the Guirguis practice on 3rd Street
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    The 1-day class that my OB office (guirguis) offered felt more worthwhile, also because it included information specific to their practice, in addition to anatomy of birth and pain management techniques, and a tour of Methodist's maternity floors. That was taught by Alex Exley who was great. Based on a May 2017 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Guirguis has OBs and Midwives. Part of what I like about it. It's good to get both perspectives. Midwife Review Overall great. Love the office staff and I like that you see all of the providers. It's good for variety and that way no matter who delivers your baby, you've met them before. They were all good in different ways. Waits can be long but that's because you're never rushed. It had a nice community feel. Based on May 2017 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Jill-Ann Swenson, Lovely doctor with excellent bedside manners. However, other MDs in her clinic aren't as great. And unfortunately you can pick and choose unless you schedule c-section specifically with her. Natural birth is based on the clinic's rotation, e.g. could be another MD or a midwife. Based on a May 2017 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Liked the practice overall, definitely had a favorite doctr Based on a July 2017 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    I had an extremely positive experience with this entire office from the women at the front desk to the nurses to the doctors and midwives. Lucille at the front always checked on insurance questions I had. When I had a question for the doctors and called and left a message, someone always got back to me within 24 hours. I never felt rushed with any doctor (I met with all but one!). At my 6 week post partum visit Dr. Peter Guirguis remembered so many aspects of my traumatic birth experience. All of this greatness for the price of long office wait times. That's the only downside. Based on a May 2017 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Love this practice all the doctors and midwifes are great to work with. They listened to what I wanted during labor. Based on a June 2017 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Overall great. Love the office staff and I like that you see all of the providers. It's good for variety and that way no matter who delivers your baby, you've met them before. They were all good in different ways. Waits can be long but that's because you're never rushed. It had a nice community feel. Based on a May 2017 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Prenatal care: Pros: walking distance from my apartment; kid friendly (my toddler was often with me); delivers at Methodist; wait was usually short. Cons: the practice is quite large so I saw many different doctors and midwives, therefore never establishing a relationship with anyone. I felt the appointments were rushed and my questions not answered. It was blood pressure, weight, fetal heartbeat, see yah next time. I often left the appointments feeling anxious. My delivery was a different story!: The care I got from them in hospital was terrific! I had a calm and lovely birthing experience. Based on a June 2017 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Amazing! I loved this practice and continue to see them for yearly exams. Based on a April 2017 birthing experience
  • [April2017babies] OB/GYN or Midwife Recommendations

    I really liked Guirguis and associates. Half the practice are OBs and half midwives and you work with both.
  • Re: OBGYN reco at Methodist?

    I was very happy with Guirguis OB practice, non-alarmist, low intervention, and every stuff member is kind and caring. The only downside is that the wait times could get long towards the evenings.
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    I took the [childbirth] class offered through my OB. It was okay. I feel like my doula taught me most of it so I didn't need the class. However I loved the hospital tour! Based on 12/13/2016 birth experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Katherine Kelly She is a midwife with the Guirguis practice, and while she wasn't at my delivery, I worked with her a lot to treat nursing issues. She's very kind and knowledgeable, and willing to take time to work with you and answer all your questions. Based on February 2017 birth experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    I had a great experience with Guirguis OBGYN. I liked all of the providers there. Dr. Pete was excellent and very supportive as I suffered several early losses and was very excited for me when I had a healthy pregnancy. Dr. Bell was there for my delivery and he was great, very encouraging and reassuring to me as a first time mom. Based on October 2016 birth experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Amazing team. Dr Swenson and Dr Pete were the best. All staff was friendly even the receptionist. The billing lady became my friend and always helped me through my billing questions with patience. Based on 12/2016 birth experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Highly recommend! Based on 2/19/17 birth experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    I was very happy with my experience at the Park Slope office. The staff is friendly and there was little wait time from the expected start of my appointments. I liked that they rotated the doctors and midwives so I had the opportunity to meet with everyone. They made me feel comfortable and I didn't feel silly asking questions. Dr. Swenson delivered our baby and was my personal favorite. Based on February 2017 birth experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Excellent Based on November 2016 birth experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Dr Jill-Ann Swenson at Guirguis OB/GYN The team at Guirguis were all great, but Dr Swenson delivered me and I am grateful for a wonderful experience. She was patient and compassionate and really went the extra mile to help me have the delivery I wanted (with limited intervention), despite some complications- she wasn't one to send me to get a c-section when others might have done so. She also did a great job with stitching me up. Based on February 2017 birth experience
  • Review submitted via the 2016 Birth Survey

    Guriguis group (Peter Guirguis delivered our baby) Review: Excellent. I highly recommend. All midwives and OBs have excellent bedside manner. Based on May 2016 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the 2016 Birth Survey

    I was very happy with the practice, but my baby came so quickly no one from the practice made it to the hospital to deliver the baby. Based on February 2016 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the 2016 Birth Survey

    I have mixed feelings about this office. I loved many of the doctors, nurse-practitioners and midwives especially Dr. Jill Swenson and Gillian Hans. However, the wait times for appointments were unbelievably long. Part of this was caused by construction that was delayed, but I think it was their responsibility to reschedule appointments or find a second space to use temporarily. They had no respect for the time of their patients, many of whom have jobs and other children to get to. I also think the practice really needs to implement more technological solutions to things like scheduling and appointment reminders - they don't remind you of appointments, so if you have accidentally written down a date wrong (which happened to me once), you are just going to show up at the wrong time. Finally, I didn't have the best experience with Dr. Fayez Guirguis who ultimately delivered my son. I wound up essentially being coached through the pushing stage by a nurse and the pediatrician who was there (my son was a bit over five weeks early) while Dr. Guirguis literally stood there and was like "oh, ok, I guess you could try getting on your hands and knees." Then, at my six week appointment, I found the examination unnecessarily rough - I had more pain after that internal exam than I experienced during my recovery from my delivery. For people who want to deliver at Methodist there are not that many options, so I would still recommend considering them, just be advised to try very hard to get early morning appointments and hope that Dr. Jill or Gillian wind up being on call for the delivery. Based on January 2016 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the 2016 Birth Survey

    I've been with Dr. G's group since before I had kids (for almost 8 years now), for my first kid, and now my second. I love the entire practice: receptionists, medical assistants, midwives, and doctors. They are one of the few practices I've been to that will call pharmacies, insurance companies, etc. without you having to remind them a million times. Yes, the wait for my prenatal appointments was often long, but I understand that this is what happens when the vast majority of births cannot be predicted, and the providers are called away to attend them. The midwives and doctors are all caring, lovely people who listen to you and don't nag or judge. I like that the practice tries to make sure you see each provider at least once so that you won't have an unfamiliar face attending your delivery. It really helps you trust every member of the practice. Shawna King delivered my baby, and even though I had only seen her once during my pregnancy, my husband thought that she had been my primary provider because we got along so well. Dr. Pete is my favorite doctor and I intend on seeing him as my primary gyn provider now that I'm done having kids. Based on April 2016 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the 2016 Birth Survey

    I had a great experience at Guirguis. All of them, both the doctors as the midwives and nurses, are very nice people who know what they're doing. Based on April 2016 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the 2016 Birth Survey

    I had a great experience with the Guirguis practice. I liked every doctor and midwife with whom I met. They were very attentive, but not overzealous with testing, like the first practice I worked with for my firstborn's birth. They carefully talked through with me all my options (to v-bac or not, etc), and I felt like I was treated with a lot of respect and a participant in what was happening to my body. Also, Dr. Guirguis came in at 6 a.m. to do my c-section when I went into labor overnight. Based on April 2016 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the 2016 Birth Survey

    Really great. Everyone at Dr. Guirguis' office was friendly and welcoming. I always felt comfortable and able to ask a lot of questions. When my son decided to wait around for a week and a half after his due date, there was no rush to induce. Instead, we calmly discussed a plan that involved a more wait and see approach, which I really appreciated. And finally, when my son had some unforeseen complications a few days after birth, both Dr. Guirguis came to visit him in the NICU. We will always remember the kindness they showed him (and us) during that time. So all in all, I had a very positive experience with the doctors, midwives, nurses, and staff here. Based on February 2016 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the 2016 Birth Survey

    At first I was hesitant, given wait times and laid back approach of doctors/midwives about concerns. But it the end, I was very satisfied with everyone in the practice. They helped keep the pregnancy low stress by not overreacting to things that other practices likely would have made a bigger deal about and made me feel that my opinion and desires were a top priority. When it came time to deliver, while I had slight preferences about who is like to deliver me, I would have been happy with anyone. I had a great birth/delivery experience. Based on September 2016 birthing experience
  • Re: Looking for advice: Ob-Gyn vs Midwife

    I went to Guirguis and gave birth in Sept. Very happy with my experience overall! Dr Swenson (ob gyn) was oncall the first half of my labor and Katherine (midwife) delivered my baby. I like the Guirguis philosophy that you got to know all six of the doctors and midwives so no matter who is on call you to feel pretty comfortable. I really had good experiences with all staff. I had a very positive birth experience and was happy with my care for the full 10 months. The only downside is that there wait times can be long, I found that making appointments as far out as possible and aiming for the early-morning appointments helped a lot with this. The younger Guirguis has office hours that start as early as 7 AM (also he's super warm and helpful).
  • Review submitted by 2016 Birth Survey

    We really loved the Guirguis practice. For us, having a team of doctors and midwives was ideal. I appreciated how calm the practitioners always were with me. They never made me feel alarmed and always made me feel much less worried about concerns I had. Only negative comment I would have is that the wait times are sometimes long, but I see that as pretty common. Member notes about insurance: They took our insurance (Oxford freedom plan) and we had zero issues with that. Based on a March 2016 birthing experience
  • Review submitted by 2016 Birth Survey

    I was overall very happy with my care in this practice. Appointments can run behind, but I found that if I scheduled for early in the day it was usually not too bad. They are fairly low-key and laid back, which was a good fit for me with my second pregnancy. I had my first with a slick, high-tech Manhattan practice and this was more personal and more my speed. Having to go elsewhere for blood work was a bit of a hassle, but not a deal breaker for me. I liked all the providers with one unfortunate exception--Dr Fayez Guirguis, the founder of this practice, is very old-school, gruff and not particularly attentive. I was incredibly relieved that he did not end up delivering my baby. Member notes about insurance: I had to change insurance mid-pregnancy and they worked with me to sort it all out without issue. Based on a January 2016 birthing experience
  • Review submitted by 2016 Birth Survey

    We were late comers to Guirguis' practice -- our last OB switched practices and didn't take our insurance. We couldn't be happier. Katherine and Shawna are the two midwives and both are phenomenal in labor/ delivery. Dr. Pete and Dr Swenson are super caring and listened more than any doctor I've had before. And Dr. Guirguis has an old school swagger that's grandfatherly and reassuring. Very solid on all fronts. Office staff is lovely; nurses/ assistants are great. Member notes about insurance: GHI -- no problems Based on a Month 2016 birthing experience
  • Review submitted by 2016 Baby Survey

    All practitioners, midwifes and doctors, are very nice. You will rotate all of them and whoever is on call will come to your delivery. Member notes about insurance: Takes insurance, never had any trouble Based on a January 2016 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Type: Childbirth Class (4 hrs) Review: The class was helpful and informative although I wish we'd had time for a longer class where we would have gotten to know and connect with other expectant couples. Insurance: No Based on a June 2015 birth
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Review: They were great. Patient, cool, accessible, helpful, low-key, professional, supportive, unflappable. There are long waits at the practice, which sucks. Insurance: Yes. They are great on insurance, and no surprise costs. Based on a April birth
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    REVIEW: I had a great experience with Dr. Swenson- I arrived at the hospital basically fully dilated and was worried about giving birth without an epidural, but she encouraged me and we did it. I like her warm yet matter-of-fact approach. INSURANCE They take insurance. At one point they charged something to an old insurance company we had used in the past and that was a pain to clear up because the Dr. office said we had to do it ourselves. Was resolved, but irritating at the time- it was their error. Based on a June 2015 birth
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    REVIEW: Long long waits. Very nice staff and medical professionals. Very well known at Methodist. INSURANCE Yes. Good. Based on a September 2015 birth
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    REVIEW: Guirgus was very hands off which was good and bad. He left me be while I had a very nervous birth, gave me the space I needed which was amazing. But he didn't give much information while I was pregnant and I felt I had to ask many questions. Wait times at the office could be up to 2 hours, which was absurd. They were good about being on call. I sometimes felt my emotional concerns were shrug off. I'm on the fence about using them for my next birth. This hesitancy is because of the 9 months of appts wait time, not because of the birth experience. INSURANCE Takes insurance and they filed for me.
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    REVIEW: The office has 3 OBs and 2 midwives, all excellent. They are pretty laid-back, non-interventionist, and follow the evidence-based approach to pregnancy. One of the midwives offered me somewhat questionable advice about heartburn medication at one point during my pregnancy, but otherwise the care had been stellar. Care during labor was wonderful. A big downside of the office is that the wait times can often be crazy long (1+ hour). It is usually because they do spend as much as needed with each and every patient, so I dealt with it, but make sure you factor that into your scheduling. INSURANCE They billed the entire pregnancy in one bill after delivery, so there were no copays or billing to deal with during the pregnancy. They do ask to pre-pay an estimated copay before delivery. No issues with my insurance either. Based on a July 2015 birth
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    REVIEW: I loved the Guirguis practice. I felt comfortable with all of the midwives and doctors. Dr. Pete ended up delivering me, and he was great. Easygoing, clear communicator, interested to hear my preferences. I found all of their practitioners took an open approach to loaded issues, e.g., how long to wait after the due date before inducing? I appreciated that they gave me information but didn't force my hand. INSURANCE They took my insurance, which was UnitedHealthcare Oxford. Little paperwork and no problems. Based on a January 2015 birth
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    REVIEW: Loved everyone in the practice. They helped me through several miscarriages, didn't rush to aggressive treatment, but also took gradual measures that struck the right balance for me. Waits in the office are terrible, but well worth it for the treatment I received. INSURANCE I had Aetna and switched to United during the pregnancy, there were no problems with either being accepted. Based on a January 2015 birth
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    REVIEW: Everything about this practice is wonderful (perhaps with the exception of the outdated waiting room). The midwives, doctors, nurses, and receptionists are patient funny kind and available. I went to 42 weeks and was induced, but had a wonderful birth experience with Dr. Pete and would not change a thing about the way he and the midwives helped me through. INSURANCE GHI- had no problems Based on a August 2015 birth
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    REVIEW: I switched to this practice very late in my pregnancy when I realized (belatedly) that I did not want to give birth in a hospital in the Upper East Side. I'll always be grateful they accepted me as their patient (they did not have to), and some of the staff are truly excellent and warm and caring. However the wait times are simply unacceptably and consistently long and I did not have a particular bond with the OB who delivered my baby or the OB who subsequently saw me in the NICU and was wondering why I looked so distraught (my baby had had a rather sever, but ultimately completely resolved, complication). I thought both of them had a poor bedside manner. But again, several of the other staff are excellent. It's just luck of the draw who will be on call on the day. INSURANCE I had Aetna insurance, no issues
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    REVIEW: Dr Swenson was amazing. She comes from Dr Guirgus' Practice. They have been in the neighborhood for many years and have a great variety of care takers who are all willing to work with you on what you want your birth plan to be. They were caring and helpful (and cautious when necessary). INSURANCE Yes they took my insurance. Easy to work with. Great front office people as well. Based on a July 2015 birth
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    REVIEW: While Dr. Swenson was my primary doctor and the one that performed the c-section, during my pregnancy I saw every doctor and most of the midwives in the practice. At first, I was a little bothered by how little I saw her, but then it was explained that due to the unpredictability of childbirth, any of the doctors in the practice could end up in the delivery room with me and it would be best to know them beforehand. All of the doctors in the practice were very calm and reassuring at every visit. I had a few scares early on and was making daily visits and alway left feeling like I was in very good hands. INSURANCE I have GHI and had ZERO problems with insurance. I would simply pay a copay at the visit, if required, and that would be the end of it. Based on a January 2015 birth
  • Review submitted via the 2014 Birthing Survey

    Member Review: The Gurguis group accepted me at 29 weeks pregnant with a complication after my previous OB was asked to leave his practice! I was so thankful. Dr. Pete was so kind and gentle with me and expertly delivered my baby via c section when the complication led to a premature delivery. Review based on birth of 2014 baby
  • Review submitted via the 2014 Birthing Survey

    Member Review: Every doctor and midwife at this practice was very warm and supportive. The office doesn't look super fancy, but they are top docs. I had a complication and Dr. Gurguis (the elder) was wonderful. They are flexible and went with my needs and were very happy to work with my doula. I am so glad I went to that practice! Insurance details: GHI - very easy. Review based on birth of 2014 baby
  • Review submitted via the 2014 Birthing Survey

    Member Review: Great practice with both MDs and nurse midwives. They are supportive of mom's wants and needs for a birthing style, and are supportive of moms going as naturally as possible. Dr. Guirguis decided that I needed an emergency c-section after I was almost fully dilated because the baby's heart rate kept dropping, so I think it was good that he assertively made that call, for the safety of the baby. Convenient that the Park Slope office is right down the street from Methodist Hospital- good for Park Slope moms who want to stay local. Wait time in the office for appointments did go up to 2 hours for some of my appointments, partially because they only have 2 examination rooms. Insurance details: No insurance issues with Aetna, they took it. Review based on birth of 2014 baby
  • Review submitted via the 2014 Birthing Survey

    Member Review: Dr. Swenson wound up delivering my daughter but all of the doctors and midwives in the practice were fantastic during my pregnancy and I would have been happy to have any of them deliver me. I like that all of the doctors are very calm and relaxed even though I had a risk factor. Insurance details: I have BCBS and had no issues. Review based on birth of 2014 baby
  • Re: [PSP] ISO: Recommendation for OBGYN in or near Park Slope

    Absolutely loved guirguis' office. I had a pretty eventful pregnancy (seizures, massive water gain) and an intense labor (let's just say there were unusual complications), and Dr. Peter Guirguis was amazing at supporting me the entire time. I would not hesitate to go back for my next baby. (November 2014)
  • Re: [PSP] ISO: Recommendation for OBGYN in or near Park Slope

    My wife and I ADORE Dr. Swenson. She is part of the Guirguis practice. I cannot praise her enough! (November 2014)