host2 www.parkslopeparents.com
serv2 www.parkslopeparents.com

Freda Rosenfeld, IBCLC, CCE

https://www.parkslopeparents.com/components/com_jbusinessdirectory/assets/no_image.jpg
Freda Rosenfeld, IBCLC, CCE

Description

Lactation consultant

Reviews (123)

  • OB/Gyn/Lactation Consultants/Peds knowledgeable about low milk supply

    I’m sure many other moms are going to recommend Freda Rosenfeld but I just wanted to chime in and sing her praises too. I also struggled with low milk supply with my first and went through a handful of pediatricians and LCs that made me feel like absolute shit or that I was harming my daughter by continuing to breastfeed. I was told many times to quit breastfeeding and just turn to formula because there was no way my supply would come up. (Nothing wrong with formula but I just knew it wasn’t time to give up yet) When I met Freda, (prepandemic) she immediately made me feel at ease. She cheered me on every day for almost 6 months. I was able to go from a low supply to a ‘just enougher’. I never built the huge freezer stash I thought I would have but my daughter grew happily and steadily. I ran into Freda when my daughter was 9 months old and I burst into tears of gratitude. I had my second baby earlier this year and I went into the pregnancy dreading the same breastfeeding issues. My OB, pediatrician and doula all assured me that milk supply comes easier with the second. Thankfully they were right. My milk came in much faster and easier the second time around but 5 months in, my supply tanked and my son’s weight gain stalled. I found myself back in the same cycle of doctors and specialists trying to diagnose the problem with everyone suggesting a possible tongue tie, that I should go get his tongue snipped to ‘give it a try’. I gave Freda a call and she helped me work my supply back up and referred me to a very cautious ENT that she knew wouldn’t snip and tongue tie just for snipping sake. I fully trust her and her network of colleagues and specialists. Freda is the warm, loving aunt everyone should have in their lives. Even though she see’s so many different problems every day, she is so sympathetic to every mom and their own personal journey. I can’t say enough good things to her.
  • OB/Gyn/Lactation Consultants/Peds knowledgeable about low milk supply

    I am sure so many people will tell you this but Freda Rosenfeld helped me immensely. I had issues with low supply with my first all the way up to a year. and being dismissed and not getting good enough advice early enough. Her website appears to be down, but her number is 718 469 5990. I'll also say that I had no issues with supply with my second and apparently that is pretty common. I did have other issues and Freda helped me with that, but I literally talked with her for a month with my first and she had the best suggestions as to how to increase supply. I'll add that while I 100% believe that some of her suggestions helped. I also think it helped my supply that I trusted her entirely and was not anxious. I saw three LC's before her.
  • Review from the Spring 2022 Birthing Survey

    Frida was really knowledgeable and super accessible. After my visit I called her every day and she always answered my questions and wasn't afraid to change things up if they weren't working. She put me totally at-ease as a first time mom committed to breastfeeding!
  • ISO recommendation for IBCLC

    I wholeheartedly recommend Freda Rosenfeld who has been recommended by others here. She does virtual and in person visits. I developed an oversupply (up to 42 ounces a day) from pumping for my NICU baby and she was very helpful and supportive on my journey to wind that down. Part of it was also my own fears of not having enough for my tiny babe but she was zero judgement and I eventually tapered and regulated. I actually initially saw her after he was not able to transfer milk - noted 12 hours postpartum. With her help he is still nursing like a champ a year later.
  • ISO: Lactation consultant

    We actually had a pretty negative experience with Freda despite all the hype — we followed her program to a T, did lots of follow up calls and a second visit but she ultimately stopped returning our calls when our baby started slipping in the charts into failure to thrive territory and wasn’t gaining, despite our offers to keep paying her for follow up visits. It was an incredibly stressful experience and thank god our pediatrician stepped in. Freda kept insisting our baby was just a naturally small guy. His later gains assured me of what I sensed was true: he wasn’t; he just wasn’t getting enough from me. Her reputation really clouded our judgment. I know tons of people are happy with her- but wanted to share a different experience.
  • ISO: Lactation consultant

    Freda is only doing virtual currently. I’ve had good experiences with her but admin is not her strong point. She’ll keep talking to you but requires you to be the one following up. Admittedly tough when you are desperate for resolution.
  • ISO: Lactation consultant

    I second Freda, she's amazing.
  • ISO: Lactation consultant

    I recommend Freda Rosenfeld who saved us both from an unnecessary tie revision but also got my NICU baby to latch well and so I was able to exclusively nurse (which was my personal goal). She’s amazing and well respected and 40 years of experience. Sees folks with PPE in her office in Ditmas Park and virtual visits. Also does frequent check ins on progress by phone.
  • Tongue and Lip Tie

    We had the same situation over diagnosed, we talked to Freda, she is amazing!!
  • Lactation Consultant Rec?

    I'd previously seen Freda Rosenfeld, and while she had some good tips and suggestions, she was a bit old school and also only does virtual, which led to incorrect guidance on flange size/tongue ties/etc.
  • Suck training for breastfeeding?

    Freda Rosenfeld is great and is in network with some insurances (or at least, she was in 2016).
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    Freda was recommended to me by my pediatrician/ she’s old school and seems to have trained a lot of the younger lactation consultants out there. We did one in home visit to work on latching and she was available for phone support. She’s not very tech savvy so it was sometimes hard to get in touch and care was not super personalized in follow up visits. I wended up switching to a denise, who I’ve only emailed with but she is thorough and gets right back and has had some great suggestions to help improve my milk supply. Denise is In network with Aetna
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    We worked with Freda to try to get from triple feeding that started in the hospital to exclusive breastfeeding. We really appreciated that she took into consideration what was feasible for us to maintain our sanity and get some rest. She was responsive and easy to reach by email and phone and, due to Covid, we chose not to see her in person though she did offer it. I suspect that an in person visit would have been helpful, but my supply did increase a fair amount working with her. Once my supply was up but still not enough to breastfeed exclusively, she talked us through our options to keep trying or stay where we were.
  • Lactation consultants doing in-person visits?

    I went to Freda Rosenfeld’s office last week (I used her for my first LO as well)- $250, worth every penny! I have not tried a virtual visit with an IBCLC but it’s hard to picture it being as helpful as a hands-on experience. Freda is extremely cautious and requires you to wear a mask and gloves for the duration of the visit.
  • Lactation consultants doing in-person visits?

    Had a positive experience with Julie Cardonick-Rosen who is doing virtual visits through Boober and getting another opinion from Freda Rosenfeld who is doing virtual and in-person (at her office only) visits.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    I didn't have a great experience with Freda. She messed up the appointment times, so I had to wait 30 minutes with a hungry baby. She did give me some useful advice but could have been more attentive to the specifics of my situation. I got the sense that she'd been doing this a long time and was slightly dismissive of some of my concerns. I found another lactation consultant after who I liked MUCH better (Grace MacNair)
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    She was good. Kind and knowledgeable. I didn’t increase my milk supplies as much as I would have liked but She definitely made me feel better in a painful/stressful time.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    Freda is famous and with good reason. She is straightforward, extremely experienced, funny, and holds you accountable. I will have her on my speed dial if we have another kid. Her support is worth every penny.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    We met with Freda twice and she was able to improve our son’s latch. Highly recommend!
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    My experience with Freda was just meh. She told me my problem was the baby’s suck. Turns out I actually have issues with low supply, which two successive lactation consultants successfully diagnosed almost immediately. Two good friends with very different breastfeeding issues went to her as well, and she gave all of us the same generic mouth-strengthening exercises and nothing else. Do not recommend.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    People rave about her and she was helpful, but then I was able to get more milk after a random chat with another consultant (don’t remember her name though).
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    We had a really hard time with the breastfeeding due to a shallow latch and my daughter was not transferring enough milk. It was incredibly stressful so we called LeighAnne and she initially diagnosed a tongue tie, then backed off on it (our daughter could stick her tongue out all the way) and then she later emailed me saying she thought it had to be a tongue tie. I was very distraught and felt like in absence of an obvious problem the default was to get tongue tie correction surgery. She also did not leave us with much instruction as to how to fix our problem long term. Fortunately I later got in contact with Freda Rosenfeld who was amazing and stuck with me until we got things completely sorted out. I would highly recommend her to anyone struggling. She was awesome.
  • Lactation consultant

    I went to Freda Rosenfeld before I had my baby and once after, and then realized she didn't take my insurance (Aetna). She's great but obviously the "free" insurance home visits are the way to go! (December 2019)
  • Lactation Consultant for Park Slope

    Just had huge success with a women in Ditmis park after a few not so helpful lactation consultants. I was referred to her from a friend and Highly recommend her myself. Good luck! Freda Lactation Consultant 718-469-5990
  • Lactation consultant

    I worked with Freda Rosenfeld, who was great. Highly recommend. There’s also a NY Times article about her if you google her name. Her number is 718/469-5990 and email is fredaibclc@aol.com. Think it was around 350 for a home visit, but cheaper if you go to her. She’s in Flatbush/Kensington. And she does unlimited follow up via phone/email.
  • 2019 Birth Survey

    Very knowledgeable. I had a complex breastfeeding problem that she was able to address.
  • 2019 Birth Survey

    Amazing!!! With my first child I wish we had gone to her. I had lots of trouble feeding and with supply. She knew to check and ask about so many things that could be related that I wouldn’t have thought of. Can’t recommend her enough!!
  • 2019 Birth Survey

     I definitely would have quit breastfeeding if I hadn't gone to Freda. I was in horrific pain and my baby was underweight to the point that the pediatrician was concerned, and I was feeling desperate. Yet in less than a week, following her advice made nursing work for us. What a gift.
  • 2019 Birth Survey

    What can I say about her that hasn’t been said, here and elsewhere? She is the real deal. The only dissent I’ve ever heard is that she’s intense, a little kooky, and you have to be ready for her support. As long as that’s kosher to you, she is a perfect partner who seems to be able to solve any problem. She was so helpful with my latch issue, and continued to be supportive as we problem solved in those early first weeks.
  • 2019 Birth Survey

    Freda was recommended by numerous people as well as our pediatrician, so when it was suggested I see someone to help my newborn gain weight breastfeeding, we called Freda. She came over very quickly (even though it was the day before Christmas) and the instructions she provided really worked. She got us on track to success and our son gained weight immediately. Highly recommend!
  • 2019 Birth Survey

    I'd heard so many rave reviews of Freda, so when we had some tricky latch issues, I went to her, and I'm so glad I did! She really took the time to evaluate our situation and get to the root of the problem. We were back on track with normal nursing within a week, and she stayed in touch for a while, to make sure everything was going ok. As so many others said to me, I'd highly recommend her for any type of breastfeeding issue.
  • 2019 Birth Survey

    Awesome! Freda was gentle and kind, and after meeting in person and giving me a plan to help my son feed better, also talked to me on the phone several times to make sure we were on track. I would recommend her for sure.
  • 2019 Birth Survey

    5 STAR: I could not have bf as successfully as I have without her.
  • 2019 Birth Survey

    A LIFESAVER! Freda knows what she's talking about. I'd encourage any new mom to make an appointment her ASAP (her schedule fills up quickly!). She got my 37-weeker to latch and helped me deal with oversupply in a manageable way. She's available every morning for phone consults - and she basically forced me to call her every day and check in. In hindsight, these were so helpful for me to gain confidence and know that we were on the right track.
  • 2019 Birth Survey

    Freda helped us bring a near failure-to-thrive situation into 92nd percentile weight within 3 weeks with zero formula. She instantly diagnosed suck issues and provided very active support while we executed her recommendations.
  • 2019 Birth Survey

    Excellent
  • Lactation consultant to help with pumping?

    I second that Freda Rosenfeld is the best !! She helped me and my sisters in law (I have twins so it was a double challenge !) I went to her home in kensington (?) She is so knowledgeable and very in touch and reachable by phone or email after the initial appt. I’d highly recommend ! Her #: (718) 469-5990
  • Lactation consultant to help with pumping?

    I second that recommendation! Frida has her classes with slope Pediatrics @ 60 8th ave
  • Lactation consultant to help with pumping?

    Freda Rosenfeld is amazing!!!! She literally kick started my breastfeeding journey, when I was really struggling... she is really precise and knows her craft! she has a wealth of knowledge in not just lactating but all things to do with baby and feeding too... I know she also runs these weekly drop in workshops at a paediatrician in north slope? I forgot which paediatrician thou...
  • 2018 Review

    I used Freda Rosenfeld for my daughter two years ago and she was great, came out fast and put me on a regieme where I had to call her every morning at 830 to give her an update and get new instructions. She doesn’t just do one consult and abandon you. She has a bit of a following. I didn’t try and claim on insurance but now I’m wondering why I didn’t...
  • 2018 Review

    I used Freda Rosenfeld for my daughter two years ago and she was great, came out fast and put me on a regieme where I had to call her every morning at 830 to give her an update and get new instructions. She doesn’t just do one consult and abandon you. She has a bit of a following. I didn’t try and claim on insurance but now I’m wondering why I didn’t...
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    Amazing. Detected reflux and swiftly got on it.
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    Freda is as good as they say she is. She saved us with our reflux baby with food allergies.
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    Freda is a hoot and great to work with. However, Freda is not one to suggest throwing in the towel, even when it might be for the best. I spent the first six weeks of my baby's life gulping down nettle tea and herbal supplements and enduring hourlong breastfeeding/pumping/bottlefeeding protocols every two hours. I was driving myself crazy, until my pediatrician took pity on me and gave me permission to stop. It was only after I told Freda I was throwing in the towel that she told me that she suspected I had insufficient glandular tissue, which makes it all but physically impossible to produce enough milk to sustain my daughter. I wish someone had told me earlier, and saved me and my daughter a lot of tears!
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    I hired Freda Rosenfeld after many great recommendations from friends and my pediatrician. I was very unsure of what I was doing and if my daughter was getting enough milk especially since she had just been released from the NICU after 3 weeks and we were getting a late start to breastfeeding. My daughter was on a feeding tube and picc line for the entire stay at the NICU. Looking back I realize that I really just needed reassurance from Freda. She gave me a few good tips but I realize now that I also need to trust my instincts. She is very responsive via email. I keep a copy of the Womanly Art of Breastfeeding next to my bed. It has been very helpful and given me reliable information.
  • 2018 birth Survey

    The best. We tried two others and Freda made it happen.
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    Freda was good, but did not come to the house (we went to her). She worked with me for about 6 weeks but I think the process could have been faster if she saw me in person more frequently
  • 2018 Review

    Freda Rosenfeld. AKA The Breast Whisperer.
  • 2018 Review

    I also recommend Freda! I’ve been working with her for the past few weeks with my now 7 week old who just “graduated” and it feeding great.
  • 2018 Review

    I talked with her every morning for almost a month. We paid $300 and she came to our apartment and helped me with my pump, showed use sucking exercises, etc. she was definitely worth the money. If your insurance accepts out of network, she gives you a receipt to submit.
  • 2018 Review

    Freda is a good LC. Your health insurance may cover her fee, so check into that. If everything is going well and the issue is you just haven't tried pumping yet, I would recommend giving it a shot on your own before spending money on an LC! This is a great resource: https://kellymom.com/category/bf/pumpingmoms/
  • 2018 Review

    Freda Rosenfeld. I saw 2 others before I found her. She is as good as people say.
  • 2018 Review

    I used Freda and loved her!
  • 2018 Review

    Freda - she came recommended by so many moms (thanks ladies!). I wish we’d seen her for my first kiddo. She is kooky, but has so much experience and was so helpful. She can come to you or you go there.
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    I also used Freda Rosenfeld but we didn't really click and I found - while she was extremely accessible - she wasn't really addressing my specific issues. Based on a August 2017 birthing experience.
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Freda always has multiple tips to help solve the problem I was facing. She is easy to get in touch with and is very responsive. I had difficulties BF but now I seem to enjoy it! Thanks to her advice and tricks. Based on a 08/2017 birthing experience.
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    SHE WAS A LIFESAVER!! I was not prepared for how hard breastfeeding would be and Freda definitely helped me get through it. Not only is she available for in-home visits but she makes herself available by phone and email for follow up consultations. Within a couple of days of working with Freda things were MUCH better and she's continued to be a resource as I started pumping and worked to get my little guy to sleep longer hours through the night. Can't recommend her enough. Based on a August 2017 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Freda is a miracle worker. I would have given up on breastfeeding without her help. After our initial meeting, I spoke to her nearly every morning on the phone for two weeks. I cannot recommend her highly enough. Based on a August 2017 birthing experience.
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Very good Based on an August 2017 birthing experience.
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Good Based on May 2017 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Helpful advice Based on April 2017 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Freda was amazing and I highly recommend her. My son lost a lot of weight in his first few days before my milk came in so the pediatrician recommended Freda to us. Within minutes of meeting my son and I, she determined that my son had a shallow latch and showed me some exercises to help him learn how to latch properly. My son started gaining weight and was back to birth weight when he was just over two weeks old. Freda followed up with us a few times to make sure we were on track and I'm planning to reach out again in a few weeks before I go back to work. Based on May 2017 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Freda is extremely experienced and very personable. Highly recommended. Based on June 2017 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Freda saved me. I was ready to give up breastfeeding completely after a week because of the excruciating pain, and now, four months later, I actually enjoy it. This is all thanks to Freda. I was able to get an appointment with her the day after I called, where she immediately sussed out the key issues and gave me some strategies to try. She had me follow up by phone every day to check in. For probably two weeks straight, certain things helped and certain things didn't, and she never expressed frustration or impatience. I also emailed her randomly a month later with a question and she answered right away at no extra charge. Based on April 2017 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Great Based on June 2017 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    super thorough, scheduled same day appointment Based on june 2017 birthing experience
  • [PSPJuly2017Babies] Breastfeeding tips-share yours

    The game changer though was going to see Freda Rosenfeld who gave me a care routine to heal nipples (olive oil after each feeding, bacitracin three times a day, and pump for 30-90 seconds prior to feeding to get milk coating on nipples and get them in shape). In addition she prescribed series of exercises for baby to improve his specific latch issues (he was a forceps baby) and stayed in touch constantly taking all the anxiety out of preparing for my overnight kidney stone surgery last week. During stay for surgery I received an onslaught of conflicting medical advice about breastfeeding and medications so was happy to have one voice I trusted. Her fee was about $200 which is some of best money spent. Pediatrician recommended a few consultants and when I googled Freda found her NY Times article and cried when she's quoted about how unhelpful books can be for figuring out your specific needs. Indeed I'm ready to throw The Womenly Art of Breastfeeding out the window.
  • [June2017babies] Lactation Consultant Recommendation

    I recommend Freda as well!
  • [June2017babies] Lactation Consultant Recommendation

    I second Freda Rosenfeld! She has been amazing to work with and incredibly patient with me and all my questions. I highly recommend her!
  • [June2017babies] Lactation Consultant Recommendation

    Freda Rosenfeld has been recommended to me by 5 different mums so I went to see her a couple of weeks ago. About 8-10 days later I was able to fully feed my baby. I totally recommend her.
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    She's a genius! Can't recommend her highly enough. Based on February 2017 birth experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    She was great - able to see us at the last minute. She seemed very knowledgeable and helped us to get a good breastfeeding routine established. Based on December birth experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    I had a great experience with Freda. For a few reasons, I couldn't breastfeed right after my son's birth, so I wasn't sure that I would ever be able to nurse him. But after a couple of weeks following Freda's advice, we successfully transitioned my son from the bottle to the breast, and it's hard to believe now that we had so much trouble at first! Freda was great about giving me a lot of feedback and had me calling in daily at first to update her on my progress. My one complaint is that it sometimes seemed like she wasn't really listening to what I was saying, but overall I am so thankful for her advice! Based on October 2016 birth experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    I wouldn't have continued breastfeeding if it wasn't for Freda. It's still a struggle after 5 months but I don't know how I would have gotten here without her. Based on October 2016 birth experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Came to my home and gave me lots of tips. Also available for several weeks after to answer questions by email. Very helpful. Based on July 2016 birth experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    The breast whisperer. Recommend her without hesitation. What she told us to do with our first son (he was slightly tongue tied initially) worked. Based on 08/2016 birth experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    She's a trip. Great wisdom and packs a punch. Best part was free follow up. She really knows her stuff. Based on aug birth experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    well worth the $200. Very quirky but so helpful. Based on February 2017 birth experience
  • Review submitted via the 2016 Birth Survey

    Freda is a Brooklyn legend. She's patient and observant and comforting. After the initial consultation, she makes herself available over phone and email to watch your progress and shift gears if needed (and it was in my case). I've used her twice and it was the reason I was able to keep going even when things looked hopeless - cracked nipples, bad latching, oversupply, milk protein intolerance, you name it. Based on July 2016 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the 2016 Birth Survey

    Freda was extremely helpful and available to talk on the phone as a follow up. When I needed additional forms to submit to the insurance company, she helped without delay. Based on April 2016 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the 2016 Birth Survey

    She helped me enormously over the phone over Thanksgiving for my first birth in 2013 and I didn't need to make an appointment or pay a fee. She was smart and comforting steered me in the right direction. Member notes about insurance: I would have had to pay out of pocket. Based on a February 2016 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the 2016 Birth Survey

    After some bad experiences with the lactation consultants at Lenox Hill, it was so refreshing to meet Freda (via our pediatrician, Dr. Amy Glaser), and work with her. Freda is an expert with decades worth of experience, but she does not push a particular agenda and can work with you to support your choices/needs for your child (ie, supplementation, pumping, etc). She is funny and warm and altogether entirely supportive, which is exactly what a new mom confused about feeding needs! Member notes about insurance: Out of pocked but she helped with reimbursement. Based on a March 2016 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the 2016 Birth Survey

    Review: She made an appointment with me quickly. She had some non convential ideas... Like evoo on your sore nipples... But she was fabulous!! She was totally reachable days after she made Consultation and was available even months later for a quick question!! She's the best!! Member notes about insurance: She does not a set insurance, but is happy to provide the paperwork so you can submit Yourself Based on a January 2016 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the 2016 Birth Survey

    Freda was very helpful and gave me a long to do list to repair my damaged, dry nipples and to try to get my son to stop clamping down so hard on my nipple that it hurt. It was a bit time consuming at first. She's reachable via email or phone after the initial consultation and I followed up with her a few times and she was always helpful and gave me new things to try. Member notes about insurance: She gave me a receipt but I haven't Tried yet to see if I can get any coverage. Based on a February 2016 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the 2016 Birth Survey

    Freda is acknowledged as the top of her field. I found some of her advice to feel counterintuitive and later on felt that it wasn't the right way for me to go. She is very knowledgable but also very, very busy and therefore time with her feels a little stressful. When you are at your most vulnerable with breastfeeding her mannerisms can feel harsh and rushed. She will answer your questions but you will feel like you have 3 minutes to ask everything and then you will be cut off. It is a style that might help in the end but go into it knowing you won't get someone who will ease all your worries. She will give you tools and that is very helpful. Member notes about insurance: Doesn't take insurance Based on a January 2016 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the 2016 Birth Survey

    Review: Freda is extremely knowledgeable and experienced. I went to see her when I developed nipple pain and a blister and she helped identify issues with my baby's latch. Her follow up is excellent and continues to give me advice via email and phone weeks later. Member notes about insurance: She gave me a form to submit to my insurance but they did not cover it. Based on a March 2016 birthing experience
  • re: [PSPDads] Lactation Consultant

    Yep - my wife saw Freda as well (recommended by Alex and Joanne) - she did give a form for submission to insurance but you have to pay her and submit for reimbursement with your insurance company (we have Aetna and it was straightforward).
  • [PSPDads] Lactation Consultant

    The one everyone talks about is Freda, "The Breast Whisperer." My wife had a session with her that helped us out quite a bit with various minor issues, and a few of our friends also had positive experiences with her. I do not think she's covered by insurance though.
  • re: [PSPDads] Lactation Consultant

    Our Dr. recommended Freda Rosenfeld and she was great. She does home visits and you can also see her at her place in Ditmas Park for slightly less $$. Because it was a Dr referral our insurance paid. She is pretty hilarious and has been doing lactation consulting for a LONG TIME so she is super experienced! You can call or email her. She is pretty good at getting back on her messages. Good luck!
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Review: Extremely knowledgeable, friendly, no nonsense, extensive expertise, reasonable rates. I sought her out based on reputation and her experience with brewst reduction Insurance: Extremely knowledgeable, friendly, no nonsense, extensive expertise, reasonable rates. I sought her out based on reputation and her experience with breast reduction Based on a 2015 birth
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Review: Freda was a godsend! My nipples were in such pain after poor latching in the hospital and my breasts were so engorged after my milk came in, plus I was in information overload trying to Google and find out how to solve my latching issues and help my baby access milk with the engorgement. Freda gave us a personalized plan, which was so helpful so my tired brain could just follow that plan and stop looking for more information. The plan healed my nipples in just a few days and got us set up for success. I saw her 3 days after our discharge from the hospital - now five weeks in, I feel like we have the hang of breastfeeding with minimal struggle and pain (and my baby had gained nearly two pounds at his one-month visit) and I am so thankful to have this one thing under control when everything else is still so haywire! Insurance: Freda was a godsend! My nipples were in such pain after poor latching in the hospital and my breasts were so engorged after my milk came in, plus I was in information overload trying to Google and find out how to solve my latching issues and help my baby access milk with the engorgement. Freda gave us a personalized plan, which was so helpful so my tired brain could just follow that plan and stop looking for more information. The plan healed my nipples in just a few days and got us set up for success. I saw her 3 days after our discharge from the hospital - now five weeks in, I feel like we have the hang of breastfeeding with minimal struggle and pain (and my baby had gained nearly two pounds at his one-month visit) and I am so thankful to have this one thing under control when everything else is still so haywire! Based on a 2015 birth
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Review: Freda was such an amazing help to me as I tried to figure out how to breastfeed twins! I had low supply issues, one poor latcher, and was extremely emotional at the time. She came up with a holistic plan to try and scheduled several follow-up sessions to check in. In the end, I had to supplement with formula (making me feel like a failure) but Freda and my pediatrician were incredibly supportive and helped me come to peace with what my personal experience with breastfeeding would be. Insurance: Freda was such an amazing help to me as I tried to figure out how to breastfeed twins! I had low supply issues, one poor latcher, and was extremely emotional at the time. She came up with a holistic plan to try and scheduled several follow-up sessions to check in. In the end, I had to supplement with formula (making me feel like a failure) but Freda and my pediatrician were incredibly supportive and helped me come to peace with what my personal experience with breastfeeding would be. Based on a 2015 birth
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Review: It took me a while (over 5 days) to get my milk in and our baby was little and losing weight. She helped me learn how our girl should latch, best position for me, and how to alleviate the pain from BF. We even had a few follow up phone calls and emails to discuss some issues i had. Based on a 2015 birth
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Review: Freda is a fixture among new moms in Brooklyn. She worked with me via phone for weeks after an in person consultation to get my daughter who had a low birth weight latching and later, off of a nipple shield. I found our weekly (and sometimes daily) conversations helpful. Ultimately Freda was not able to get my daughter off the shield however I sensed that I was a rare, unsolvable case Insurance: Freda is a fixture among new moms in Brooklyn. She worked with me via phone for weeks after an in person consultation to get my daughter who had a low birth weight latching and later, off of a nipple shield. I found our weekly (and sometimes daily) conversations helpful. Ultimately Freda was not able to get my daughter off the shield however I sensed that I was a rare, unsolvable case Based on a 2015 birth
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Review: Everyone knows Freda. I had a terrible time breastfeeding-- baby had a terrible latch that was hard to fix, didn't grow fast enough, I had thrush three times. Freda helped me through everything. She was a total lifesaver. I talked to her for three months. Insurance: Everyone knows Freda. I had a terrible time breastfeeding-- baby had a terrible latch that was hard to fix, didn't grow fast enough, I had thrush three times. Freda helped me through everything. She was a total lifesaver. I talked to her for three months. Based on a 2015 birth
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    We had difficulties establishing breastfeeding due to jaundice (sleepy baby / too tired to nurse, complicated by needing to be under "bili" lights as long as possible). Freda helped us make sure the baby didn't lose anymore weight in the short term with a nursing/pumping/supplementing with pumped milk (or formula if there wasn't a sufficient quantity of pumped milk) routine, and helped us improve the baby's suck as he recovered. I was an emotional mess when we met, but she was very calm and reassuring; we would've never stuck with breastfeeding without her help. (We're now 3.5 months in, and everything is going great! The tedious nurse/pump/supplement routine was only necessary for less than a week, with progressively fewer pumping/supplementing sessions as the week went on.) Insurance: We had difficulties establishing breastfeeding due to jaundice (sleepy baby / too tired to nurse, complicated by needing to be under "bili" lights as long as possible). Freda helped us make sure the baby didn't lose anymore weight in the short term with a nursing/pumping/supplementing with pumped milk (or formula if there wasn't a sufficient quantity of pumped milk) routine, and helped us improve the baby's suck as he recovered. I was an emotional mess when we met, but she was very calm and reassuring; we would've never stuck with breastfeeding without her help. (We're now 3.5 months in, and everything is going great! The tedious nurse/pump/supplement routine was only necessary for less than a week, with progressively fewer pumping/supplementing sessions as the week went on.) Based on a 2015 birth
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Review: Fantastic. Solved my issues within a week. Available for post issue consults. Insurance: Fantastic. Solved my issues within a week. Available for post issue consults. Based on a 2015 birth
  • Based on a 2014 Birthing Experience

    Member Review: I was having horrible breast pain from the beginning. Freda was able to diagnose the pain as thrush and recommended treatment which worked! I'm very glad I decided to call her instead of suffering through the pain. Insurance details: She does not take insurance but will give you a form to send to your insurance provider. My provider does not cover out-of-network lactation consultants so I had to pay for this service out of pocket ($250 for in-home visit). (Review submitted via the 2014 Birthing Survey)
  • Based on a 2014 Birthing Experience

    Member Review: Freda is wonderful; I've used her for two babies (both times I had multiple months of difficulty nursing). She comes to your home and is then available by phone pretty much indefinitely. I called her at some points daily, and she always had new ideas and Insurance details: She does not take insurance but you can submit for reimbursement. (Review submitted via the 2014 Birthing Survey)
  • Based on a 2014 Birthing Experience

    Member Review: Freda helped me with latch issues. She assigned exercises to do with baby and a feeding plan to help with bleeding nipples and encouraging a stronger latch/wider mouth. I believe these techniques helped over time in addition to baby just getting stronger/ Insurance details: She doesn't not take insurance, but writes out a claim form for you to submit to your insurance company if you desire. We did not have out-of-network benefits at the time so we did not submit the form. (Review submitted via the 2014 Birthing Survey)
  • Based on a 2014 Birthing Experience

    Member Review: Our son had a questionable tongue tie. I was not having much pain while nursing and he was gaining well, so we wanted to get a lactation consultants opinion on whether we should consider having it cut or not. Freda was very helpful and did a very thorou Insurance details: I was able to submit the documentation that Freda provided me and get reimbursed from my insurance company (Review submitted via the 2014 Birthing Survey)
  • Based on a 2014 Birthing Experience

    Member Review: If it wasn't for Freda I wouldn't have continued breastfeeding. I thought everything was fine, but it turned out the baby was losing weight. Freda to the rescue! She diagnosed him as being a "lazy sucker" and taught me exercises to do with him prior.
  • Re: Seeking lactation consultant in Brooklyn

    My baby has not arrived yet, so I haven't tested this. I intend to return if the need arises to Freda Rosenfeld, who was my savior with my first child. She is fantastic.
  • Summary: RE: Lactation consultant

    Freda Rosenfeld, she is the best. she is very busy though but you can get in her schedule early. She goes above and beyond her consult session. My son is now 3.5 months and I can tell you for a fact that I wouldn't have been able to nurse him exclusively if it werent for Freda's help and support. He is my second and I had all sorts of nursing issues with my first.
  • Summary: RE: Lactation consultant

    I saw Freda Rosenfeld. She was super helpful and will come to your house if needed. I had a lot of trouble, and she helped us so much. Good luck!
  • Summary: RE: Lactation consultant

    Frida Rosenberg, i am probably the 10th person to recommend her to you. amazing!
  • Summary: RE: Lactation consultant

    Freda Rosenfeld is very well-known in the area. There's a NY Times piece about her. She was wonderfully helpful to me.
  • Re: Lactation consultant

    I would highly recommend Freda Rosenfeld. I went to her house for a consultation but I know she does home visits too.
  • Birth Survey 2012

    Review Date: April 2012 REVIEW: Fredda was incredibly helpful in correcting a terrible bout with mastitis. I called her after suffering from mastitis for the second time and she was able to provide the perfect home remedies that cleared it up. I'm not sure what I would have done without Fredda! INSURANCE ISSUES: We did not use our insurance for our lactation consultant services.
  • Birth Survey 2012

    Review Date: April 2012 REVIEW: I have never had an especially easy time with breast feeding, though it isn't the worst I've heard either. I saw Freda at her house, where she took as much time as I needed. Then, for the cost of that one visit, she spoke to me on the phone literally every single day for two weeks after I saw her. I also emailed her pictures of my nipples so she could try to figure out what was going on. In the end I'm not sure she really figured it out (since I still have pain and my baby is 8 months old now), but she was certainly there for me. INSURANCE ISSUES: Oxford does not pay for lactation consultants.
  • Birth Survey 2012

    Review Date: April 2012 REVIEW: I called Freda in desperation after attending many classes and support groups in the hopes of getting help with some nursing issues, and every person I met had one agenda or another that didn't seem to help. Freda came to my house when I was about to give up on breastfeeding, and immediately made some very specific and accurate diagnoses - she gave me some practical exercises I could do with the baby to help her suck better, as well as diagnosing the two problems with my nipples and breasts, along with some very practical advice about healing my breasts, both herbal and pharmaceutical. She just knows more than anyone else I met along the way; but best of all she didn't seem to have a particular agenda. AND she is very funny, which really helps in this profession! INSURANCE ISSUES: She doesn't, but she does give you a form you can file with your insurance company to get reimbursed.
  • Birth Survey 2012

    Review Date: April 2012 REVIEW: Working with Freda was key to my successful breastfeeding. I had difficulties including severe pain for the first two months, and once I met with Freda I was on the phone with her often daily to strategize. She always had a new idea to pull out, and having someone to call whenever I needed helped give me the confidence that it would get better, which it did. I would recommend her highly. INSURANCE ISSUES: No, but she will fill out the form for you to send to your insurance company (unfortunately my insurance company, Aetna, does not cover lactation consultants).
  • Birth Survey 2012

    Review Date: April 2012 REVIEW: She's the best. It's not hype. Freda is accessible, has years of experience, listens to mommies including previous medical issues, the birth experience, as well as breast/nursing issues. She digests this information and together with a hands-on assessment of your baby's suck, gives homework that is concrete. Concrete is key here, as life with a newborn is tough, and I found "intuition" hard as sleep deprivation kicked in. Her phone-in times and email responsiveness make her accessible after you've met in person. INSURANCE ISSUES: Unknown.
  • Birth Survey 2012

    Review Date: April 2012 REVIEW: "feet on the ground" sensibility...Really Really helpful with a great attitude. Very easy to talk too and eased many of my concerns about the "right way" of breastfeeding...basically, she is extremely supportive (without any judgement) and a fun attitude. Made me feel very confident in my struggle. Great after appointment communication support too via phone and email. she'll make house calls or you can go to her.She responded quickly to my initial call as well INSURANCE ISSUES: no, but she will fill out papers for ease of filing claims...
  • Birth Survey 2012

    Freda Rosenfeld Review Date: April 2012 REVIEW: She's a Brooklyn legend and she is awesome. She came to my house after a huge snowstorm on the bus, carrying a hospital grade pump, gave me lots of great advice, spoke with me about nursing problems I was having months after she consulted with me. She is great, great, great. Highly recommend. INSURANCE ISSUES: My insurance did not cover lactation consultants so I paid for her services out of pocket. Worth every penny.
  • Birth Survey 2012

    Review Date: April 2012 REVIEW: BF didn't work out for us, but Freda was great. The fact that she does house calls was a lifesaver for a new mom immediately post c-section who lives in a 3-rd floor walkup (and wasn't supposed to leave the house). She immediately diagnosed the baby's issues, in a way no one else had. She was in constant contact after her initial visit. She constantly suggested new things to try when I had supply problems. Even though I ended up having to formula feed, I didn't feel badly because with Freda, I knew I had tried everything possible to make it work. INSURANCE ISSUES:
  • Birth Survey 2012

    Review Date: April 2012 REVIEW: Freda is great -- so helpful, so available, so funny and easygoing. My son had a tough time learning to latch and he lost weight very quickly after being born and Freda was totally instrumental in my learning to feed him. I really appreciated that after our initial visit she was available for a daily check-in and advised me over the phone free of charge. INSURANCE ISSUES: My insurance doesn't cover it, so n/a.
  • Birth Survey 2012

    Review Date: April 2012 REVIEW: She saved my boobs! I was in so much pain for so long. It turns out my baby was not using her tongue at all, just her jaw. She was very inefficient and each nursing took about an hour and was excruciatingly painful. When Freda figured it out (in about ten seconds) she said "it's amazing what a great job you've done. Look how big your baby is despite everything. That must have cost you a lot of pain!" I almost started crying in gratitude. A few simple exercises got her using her tongue within a week. I couldn't believe it worked but it did. INSURANCE ISSUES: I didn't have any problem with my insurance (Oxford). I paid upfront if I remember correctly, and she filed the paperwork for me to be reimbursed. (I think).
  • Birth Survey 2012

    Review Date: April 2012 REVIEW: Freda was amazing. She helped cure our latching problems with humor and confidence. She gave me confidence about breastfeeding. I think she is truly gifted. She also followed up on the phone in a genuinely concerned way. INSURANCE ISSUES: N/A
  • Birth Survey 2012

    Review Date: April 2012 REVIEW: Freda is fantastic. She can figure out any problem in seconds and she is an amazing resource in the first few weeks. INSURANCE ISSUES: She does not take GHI, but will give you paperwork to file on your own. I did not file it.
  • (no subject)

    Freda Rosenfeld also has a lot of experience with preme babies. (November 2011)
  • (no subject)

    I would highly recommend Freda Rosenfeld – her info is listed in the PSP listings. (she was also the subject of a New York Times article a year or two ago: http://www.nytimes.com/2010/02/21/nyregion/21freda.html?pagewanted=all). She’s in Ditmas Park (near a Q train stop); you pay a bit less if you travel to her, but she also does house calls and came to our North Slope apartment (although I am not positive whether she’ll do that for a first visit). She’s lovely and extremely knowledgeable and has a ton of common sense. Once you have seen her in person you will have later consults by phone unless you need hands-on help, so it’s very convenient. I came away from each meeting and phone call with my stress levels way down and with a lot of constructive and practical ideas. (November 2011)
  • (no subject)

    I have heard Freda Rosenfeld is one of the best in Brooklyn 718-469-5990. My neighbor and midwives love her. (reviewed September 2010)