host2 www.parkslopeparents.com
serv2 www.parkslopeparents.com

Birth Day Presence

https://www.parkslopeparents.com/media/com_jbusinessdirectory/pictures/companies/logos/1506120901_logo_BDP_Logo.jpg
Birth Day Presence

Description

We don't have a description for this business. If this is your business and you'd like to find out how to improve this page, please get in touch.

Reviews (133)

  • Review from the Spring 2022 Birthing Survey

    The instructor was informative, open minded, and did a great job of engaging us even though it was virtual. I don't know if it was virtual just because of COVID but it was really nice being able to eat dinner while taking the class. That might sound trivial but I couldn't imagine having to travel to a class after working all day and being extremely tired from growing a baby in my body.
  • Review from the Spring 2022 Birthing Survey

    Robin Dohit through Birthday Presence / Boober The class was amazing! So empowering and helpful. Robin was an incredible teacher. I would recommend this class to anyone who wants to understand more of what to expect in the labor and delivery process and who wants to feel empowered with knowledge!
  • Review from the Spring 2022 Birthing Survey

    We very much enjoyed our class with Robin and would highly recommend her and Birth Day Presence. Informative, interesting, and not too long.
  • Review from the 2021 Birthing Experience Survey

    Leigh's childbirth class was so wonderful and helpful, even over Zoom. She has a magnetic personality and genuinely cares about your experience. She has moved to New Mexico though, so not sure what will become of her class in the future, but would recommend it for the time being.
  • Review from the 2021 Birthing Experience Survey

    Amazing, Jada is such a wonderful instructor and person. The class was incredibly thorough, and because of COVID it was virtual but we felt like we had everything except the hands-on experience.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    The birthday prénsele class was really helpful in preparing us for birth. The instructor was wonderful and listened to all our questions. We learned a ton of information in a way that didn’t feel overwhelming and it was fun. Highly recommend.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    Alicia Suarez/Express Childbirth class: We definitely came out of the class with new info, and I enjoyed the class. But it was too much for a single evening class, but that's all we could do with my husband in grad school.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    We did the 6 week course- definitely lots of info I didn’t know but I ultimately had a very different labor and delivery than what we discussed and prepped in the class. Still worth it . Robin was the instructor and we didn’t love her as she often went over and got distracted from syllabus by answering everyone’s random questions. She was very nice though.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    We had a positive experience in the one-day class at Birth Day Presence. I didn't really learn new information, but I would say that I left the class feeling more confident.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    Jen Blaxall - birth day presence - Great class, super informative. I ended up getting induced, so some of the spontaneous labor stuff didn’t apply, but I really liked her. And it turns out that a birth class works great on zoom!
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    The class was very good, although of course I would have preferred an in-person class. The class has, like many childbirth classes, too heavy a focus on avoiding a c-section. I ended up needing a c-section due to a partial placenta previa, so the c-section was planned a couple weeks in advance. I subsequently had several friends need c-sections after labor stalled. We all felt that we'd been given almost no information about preparing for cesarian birth or the specifics of recovery (both options in the hospital and at home). I think this is a failing of many childbirth classes. I felt that I was well-prepared with information on how to labor at home, when to go to the hospital and had a better understanding of the things I'd be asked to decide about--epidurals, labor positions, delayed cord clamping, etc. But since my birth experience was different than the type of birth covered in the class, it's hard to say how well prepared I'd have been with natural labor.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    Sasha was amazing, patient, and extremely informative. She eased our worries while still being realistic about what to expect in the days leading up to birth. She reviewed the basics of labor and more importantly how to navigate the hospital system while respecting and recognizing those who worked there. Wonderful being to be around!
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    We chose to do the 4 week class and it was a great pace at which to absorb the information. Our instructor was clear and informative. The small class made it possible to get to know the other couples and share our experiences.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    BIRTHING CLASS: Sasha/Birth Day Presence - Engaging and informative and we left feeling much more comfortable with what was to come!
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    BIRTHING CLASS: Birthday Presence with Sasha - Very useful! Certainly helped me feel more confident going into childbirth. I ended up with a c section, but it still was helpful for the labor part and knowing what to expect c section wise.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    BIRTHING CLASS: Birthday Presence - Excellent 4-week course.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    BIRTHING CLASS: Birthday Presence - 4 week childbirth education - Sasha Slocombe - class was excellent. It covered everything from labor to c section. I felt very prepared for childbirth after this class. Would highly recommend.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    BIRTHING CLASS: Birthday presence birthing class - can't remember the name. it was 6 hours long, and way too long. i found it kind of judgmental about breast feeding.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    BIRTHING CLASS: Sasha from Birthday Presence - Very warm, inviting, non-judgmental. Supported us after birth-class as well!
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    BIRTHING CLASS: Birthday Presence - Childbirth education, newborn care and infant cpr Great experience. The instructors for all classes were very knowledgable and approachable. It was also nice to be in an environment with other parents due around the same time as us. I felt significantly more prepared for childbirth after these courses.
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    BIRTHING CLASS: Great
  • Review from the 2020 Birthing Experience Survey

    BIRTHING CLASS: Sasha at Birth Day Presence - Sasha was great! She was very no nonsense and nonjudgemental and imparted a lot of important knowledge and coping tips. We enjoyed the four-week session.
  • Looking for Good Remote Infant CPR/Choking Class

    Vanessa Anton's class through Birth Day Presence was fantastic. Can't recommend it enough.
  • Looking for Online Birthing/Breast Feeding Classes

    My husband and I did a weekend intensive birthing class through birth day presence https://birthdaypresence.com. They did a surprisingly good job adapting to the online format and packed in a lot of great info. Very highly recommended. They have a lot of options, including breastfeeding and parenting classes.
  • Virtual lactation consultant?

    i highly recommend Jada Shapiro of Birthday Presence and her lactation support company called Boober. I believe she’s always been able to do virtual support, so she should be able to do this still. I got breastfeeding help in the early days with both my kids. It’s hard getting started, but so worth it.
  • HELLLOOOO??? Welcome May 2020 Families!

    Also, we took the childbirth class at Birthday Presence last time and found it very helpful. (January 2020)
  • CPR class recos ASAP please

    That's a tough situation. We did the CPR/choking save at Birth Day Presence and my nanny did it at Tribeca Pediatrics.
  • RECOMMENDATIONS: Birthing/ Lamaze's classes park slope area

    I really enjoyed my birthing class at Birth Day Presence. M
  • RECOMMENDATIONS: Birthing/ Lamaze's classes park slope area

    I would highly recommend the 6 week birthing class at birth day presence! It was the perfect balance of evidence based information and support!
  • 2019 Birth Survey

    Informative but I would've liked more "what happens after the baby arrives" information.
  • 2019 Birth Survey

    Great and informative.
  • 2019 Birth Survey

    Loved the teacher. Instilled confidence for sure. Take the 4 weeks class instead of the 1 day class. There’s so much info it’s too much for 1 day
  • 2019 Birh Survey

    My husband found this class to be more practically useful than I did. I was pretty aware of the changes that were happening in my body and had been educating myself throughout my pregnancy. My husband found it to be eye-opening; he said it made the pregnancy feel more real, and he was more appreciative of what was happening in my body. It definitely brought us closer together. I also appreciated how the instructor discussed epidurals / pain management in a non-judgmental way, although I think the emphasis was certainly on "natural" childbirth. In the end, I had to be induced, was on constant in-bed fetal monitoring so could not do any of the "positions" we had practiced, and had to get an epidural to manage the pain!
  • 2019 Birth Survey

    The class was good though I probably didn’t need it and would’ve learned what i could from books
  • 2019 Birth Survey

    We took a refresher class with Birth Day presence, prior to the birth of our son, since we had already taken the full class during my first pregnancy. I'm glad we took the refresher – it was just what we needed to help with some 2nd-time-around questions, and remind us of the birthing techniques that we'd forgotten all about in the 2 years since our first baby was born.
  • 2019 Birth Survey

    The class was definitely informative and helpful. In retrospect, even though they covered all options, I feel like it was still subtly biased against using pain medication. Which is perhaps not all that surprising, given where it was offered. Also, I've run into couples from the class since, and nobody actually had a birth experience like what we learned about in the class... but I still appreciated the overview of how birth naturally happens to better understand the theoretical process...
  • 2019 Birth Survey

    Birthday Presence 4 week Childbirth Education - I'm glad we spread out this class over multiple weeks, it was a lot of information to digest. I found the class helpful and thought it was fun to see a few emails from the participants after their births to hear about their experiences. The location was convenient to our apartment as well which was important at the time.
  • 2019 Birth Survey

    Very helpful and condensed into one weekend
  • Birthing Class

    My spouse and I both really liked our wknd intensive class at Birth Day Presence. I found it to be well-paced, informative, and unbiased.
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    This was a good course, though in retrospect, a one day course really would have been sufficient. I would have preferred a more “technical” approach to the class, but there were some lovely moments discussing what it meant to become parents. The course did lean towards those who were seeking a no epidural birth and I think a more agnostic class would have been more helpful. Also, more time about c-sections would have been useful as so many class attendees ended up having one, regardless of birthplan. Since this is the reality of our current healthcare system, more time addressing the realities of the c-section process and recovery is sorely needed.
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    Exactly what we were looking for. Very informative and well worth the money.
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    We did the Infant Care & CPR classes and loved them both
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    Good class- went a bit too in depth on certain topics that seemed to be common sense.
  • 2018 Birth Survey

    It was a LONG day, but great to get the information that we really needed in a compact amount of time. Recommended for people who want a practical birthing class experience.
  • 2018 Review

    I really liked the class at Birth Day Presence. It was thorough and the instructor was knowledgeable and warm.
  • [April2018Babies] Birthing/baby classes

    We took a birthing class at Birth Day Presence. We really liked it. It was a mix of information plus some practical exercises to help you through the process.
  • Child Birth Classes

    Also recommend BDP for child birth classes - we did the 4 week class which allowed us to absorb information and practice over the time of the course. The multi-week timeline allowed for additional opportunities to ask questions too. Our instructor was Jen Buice, and she was very good!
  • Child Birth Classes

    I also (highly) recommend BDP for child birth classes. They were great! I found the instructor to be very open and non-judgemental re: types of birth experiences and plans. I also liked theor infant cpr and safety class. It's pricey, but I still recommend it. We also took the breastfeeding/infant care class. I actually do not recommend it. There's way too much to know to fit into one evening class, and I found it overwhelming. If I could do it over, I would have stuck to my favorite book, "Breastfeding Made Simple," followed the author (Nancy Mohrbacher) on FB, and had my IBCLC (Maria Dugan, local to Park Slope, does house calls, and is fantastic: 347-844-2211). I did all of the above (re: breastfeeding) only realizing after the fact that the class was not useful to me. For infant care, I would have even skipped the book, "Happiest Baby on the Block, and watched their 30 movie. The "5 S techniques" literally saved us for the first 6-8 wks.
  • Child Birth Classes

    I loved the classes we took at Birth Day Presence.
  • Child Birth Classes

    My wife and I loved Birthday Presence. We did the weekend intensive and CPR. All great and felt much more prepared.
  • [March2018Babies] Birthing Classes

    We took a class when having #1 with Birthday Presence in the Slope and it was very informative!
  • Review submitted via the Park Slope Parents 2017 Birth Survey

    Informative and fun. This class made us much less nervous about the birthing process. Based on a September 2017 birthing experience.
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Birthday Presence -- great class, helpful to have a community. Based on a September birthing experience.
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Excellent birthing class. I would not recommend Infant Safety/CPR (cheaper elsewhere) or Breastfeeding and Infant Care (too much to cover to discuss anything at all thoroughly). Based on an August 2017 birthing experience.
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Helpful for first time parents to learn about what happens in birth the stages of labor, coping techniques, your options and things to consider. Based on a August 2017 birthing experience.
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    I highly recommend them for birthing classes. They were excellent! Based on an August 2017 birthing experience.
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    good Based on an august 2017 birthing experience.
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    My husband and I did the birthing weekend, Sat-Sun, and it was very helpful. We were new parents with no idea how to handle a newborn, nevermind give birth to one. It was also very non-judgmental (for example, those who chose to get an epidural vs. those who didn't--there was no judgment with either choice and in fact information was given about both). The partners were also encouraged to participate. It was all-around informative and I'm really glad we did it. Based on an August birthing experience.
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Helpful class on breastfeeding and newborn care for people who have no baby experience Based on a September 2017 birthing experience.
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Meghan Mahar / Birth Day Presence Park Slope This class was THE best. Meghan is a fantastic Child Birth Educator. My husband and I are really not into group things, and we were really not expecting much of this class but it really blew our minds. We learned so much and my husband was comforted as he learned which role he would have at birth. Based on a June 2017 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Birth Day Presence- Koyuki Smith My husband and I both thoroughly enjoyed all of the knowledge gained at this class. We covered a lot of the emotional and practical components of labor in a welcoming setting. Based on a April 2017 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Birth Day Presence - Caitlin FitzGordon Very happy with this class - helped me and my husband to feel calmer and more prepared. We learned some good coping techniques. Based on a May 2017 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    very informative, good for the partners, Based on a june 2017 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Just ok. The class was pretty unstructured and just didn't feel totally worth the time or money.
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Really loved them! My only regret is not taking more classes there. Based on a May 2017 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Good class, lots of useful info & techniques though maybe not necessary to have both a class and a doula in order to prepare for labor! Based on October 2016 birth experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Good class, lots of useful info & techniques though maybe not necessary to have both a class and a doula in order to prepare for labor! Based on October 2016 birth experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Caitlin FitzGordon at Birth Day Center Even though I felt like I knew a lot of the information presented, I'm glad I took the class because it gave me the opportunity to practice labor coping techniques ahead of time. Caitlin is a great instructor. Based on August 2016 birth experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Caitlin FitzGordon (Birth Day Presence) Caitlin was great! Loved her class and learned a lot. Connected with others in class and still spending time together now with our little ones. Based on November 2016 birth experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Birthday Presence Breastfeeding/Newborn Care Class Our class with Meema was great and very informative. We got a good overview of baby care basics and especially some tips on breastfeeding, which I think helped us get off to a really good start from the get-go and have a successful breastfeeding experience overall. Based on January 2017 birth experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Very good. Thorough. Weekend intensive was way more than enough! Based on Sept 2016 birth experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Good general overview but could have been more concise Based on a Feb. 2017 birth experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Birthday presence Kaitlyn. I can remember her last name but she was wonderful. Based on February 2017 birth experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    My husband and I attended the weekend intensive. It was a lot of information. At the birth, we ended up using only a small percentage of what we had learned, but the value of the class was in how it left me feeling at ease and like I knew what was going to happen and what I needed to do. After taking the class, a lot of my worry washed away, and I felt ready to move on to the next job of how to take care of a baby. I would recommend it. Based on March 2017 birth experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Very worthwhile. Highly recommended. Based on July 2016 birth experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Such a wonderful, warm experience! I learned a lot and the instructor spent a moment with me after class discussing a family issue / drama that had come up. She made me feel so much better. Based on July 2016 birth experience
  • Review submitted via the PSP Birth Survey

    Caitlin was out instructor. I attended the 4-weeks classes with my husband and I feel like we have learned a lot from it. Before then, I didn't even know what an epidural was, so it was definitely educational. Based on December 2016 birth experience
  • Re: Seeking Help for Friend with Severe Breast Engorgement & Pain 2 Week

    I would recommend Jada Shapiro at Breast Start,
  • Review submitted via the 2016 Birth Survey

    I did a private express class with Jada. She was very good but I'm not sure it was necessary in addition to the pre-meeting I had with my doula. Based on Nov 2016 Birth Experience
  • Review submitted via the 2016 Birth Survey

    Caitlin FitzGordon/Birth Day Presence I thought the class was informative, but could have been condenced into 4 - 1 hour sessions or 2 - 2 hour sessions. This was 4 weeks and 2 hours each session. There was a lot of focus on a natural child birth and pain management as if that was the only option for giving birth. The class did not touch on how you know you're in labor, what happens at the hospital, epidurals, other interventions/options until the last class. I respect everyone's decision for how they choose to give birth or if there are complications that deviate from your hopes/birth plan. I just wish the class felt a little more open to those of us who did not want a natural birth. The pain management techniques did work, but i didn't need 6 hours of it. Based on April 2016 Birth Experience
  • Review submitted via the 2016 Birth Survey

    Birthday Presence/ Childbirth 4 week & BirthBreastfeeding Newborn 101 I loved Birthday Presence. The class was a great environment for meeting and talking through experiences, fears and feelings with others who could understand. The instructor was incredibly non judgmental, super informative and my husband and I felt so much more confident and "ready" after the class. It also after 5 weeks of classes, gave us a lot to talk about and helped us to bond during my pregnancy and prepare as a couple for the baby which was unexpected but wonderful. While the childbirth class covers all types of labor, it does lean a bit more toward a no intervention/natural labor although that did not in any way take away from our experience or influence our decisions or plan. Based on july 2016 Birth Experience
  • Review submitted via the 2016 Birth Survey

    We took Newborn Care and CPR classes there. Both were very informative and fun. Based on April 2016 Birth Experience
  • Review submitted via the 2016 Birth Survey

    We took a weekend intensive class at birth day presence. It was illuminating for my husband especially but we came back feeling as if it was more of a "you need a doula or you're doomed" class in places. Most of the stuff that was taught including pain management techniques ultimately didn't apply to us as we had an emergency induction and I kinda wish there had been some talk about that in the class. Had we had a normal onset of labor, We probably would have used a lot of the information from the class but we still wouldn't have got a doula. Based on March 2016 Birth Experience
  • Review submitted via the 2016 Birth Survey

    This was a very useful class for thinking about the birth experience - what to expect, considerations for formulating a birth plan, and coping strategies for pain / labor. Highly recommend. Based on August 2016 Birth Experience
  • Review submitted via the 2016 Birth Survey

    We took an infant CPR class at Birth Day Presence. The information was useful and I'm glad we got a refresher on what to do in an emergency. I didn't love the instructor though. He was weirdly condescending in a way that I found unprofessional. Based on May 2016 Birth Experience
  • Review submitted via the 2016 Birth Survey

    The CPR class at Birth Day Presence was great! Based on March 2016 Birth Experience
  • Review submitted via the 2016 Birth Survey

    Jada at Birthday Presence launched on demand lactation consulting "Breast Start" and it was the most amazing experience after coming home and feeling a little unsure that things were going correctly. She came over within a couple of hours and completely sorted out our issues with me. It is the most worthwhile service and I cannot recommend it more! Based on july 2016 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the 2016 Birth Survey

    She helped me get my daughter to latch, and without her I don't think I would have been able to breastfeed. She came in the evening and on very short notice too. She was a little expensive, though, and she doesn't take insurance. Based on March 2016 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the 2016 Birth Survey

    Review: We never made it past the first class. We had a failed pregnancy before attending this class. In the first class, they separated the pregnant ladies from their partners. Each group had to share their due date, their biggest fear and what they were looking forward to. My previous experience was very traumatic and I did not want to burden 10 happy pregnant ladies with what happened to me. I was not prepared for that to be the opener (and did not like being separated from my supportive husband) and proceeded to cry for the next hour and a half. I was also only 26 weeks at the time and everyone else was 34+ weeks pregnant (which was not something posted on their website) so I felt like a weirdo. Member notes about insurance: No, but my insurance (GHI) is pretty terrible. Based on a January 2016 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the 2016 Birth Survey

    Review: I had a mixed experience with the birth class. It provided useful information preparing for labor and delivery but could have done with more info and less emotional exercises. Connecting with other expectant parents was great and we have stayed in touch after the babies were born. Member notes about insurance: I never tried to file a claim for the class so I do not know Based on a March 2016 birthing experience
  • Review submitted via the 2016 Birth Survey

    Review: I was having a lot of trouble nursing - I have inverted and flat nipples, and had struggled with my first for him to latch. With this birth, he was latching but I was in extreme pain and was cracked and bleeding. I knew I needed help and time is of the essence at the beginning. I found Jada Shapiro of Birth Day Presence and it was so easy. I'd tried with insurance to find someone and was given the run around (and when your hormones are surging, it's really hard to be navigating that). Jada made it so easy - I texted her, she responded and found a time to come by and help. Her Breast Start visit makes it so easy, which was just what I needed. I did work with the hospital lactation consultants, but what I found was that I really needed someone to stay with me through a feeding. While everyone at the hospital was really nice I just didn't get the level of support I needed. All her info is right on the home page of birthdaypresence.com Member notes about insurance: Insurance claims they cover lactation consultants but actually finding one that they cover is near impossible. My consultant didn't take insurance - she said she'd write up a receipt that I could submit. To be honest, I never ever bothered. Based on a January 2016 birthing experience
  • Review August 2011

    I LOVED our classes at Birth Day Presence, Jada (owner and doula) ran it, she was phenomenal, informative, and super knowledgeable about all aspects of pregnancy, birth, and infancy (they also offer infant care classes as well as CPR and other stuff.. plus a PSP discount which is always nice) I can't recommend her classes enough! My husband and I left feeling comfortable and confidant in our knowledge and more like a team with a plan then two people who had just read a bunch and didn't know how to implement any of it.. we'll see how it goes in Oct! :) good luck!
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Type: Childbirth Class Review: Great teacher, Caitlin Fitzgordon. Felt well prepared and i think the main thing the class gives you is calmer nerves. Insurance: we did not use insurance. Based on a June 2015 birth
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Type: Birthing Review: Great class, great group, great experience. Take the weekend intensive as opposed to the 4 weekly classes. Insurance: Not covered. self-pay. Based on a March 2015 birth
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Type: Childbirth Refresher Review: Kinda useless. you're better off re-reading your notes from your original class if you took some, or just googling. I needed to be reminded me the nity-grity, different stages of birth, pain management options (including drugs so you know the spectrum of otions) etc. whereas this instructor had us holding ice cubes and focusing on how we were going to deal with pain. Not very concrete. Insurance: Not covered by insurance Based on a Jan 2015 birth
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Review: All useful info even if we didn't get a chance to use it all. Some of it a little more touchy-feely than we needed. Insurance: Not covered Based on a December 2015 birth
  • Review submitted via 2015 Birth Survey

    Type: Birthing class Review: We really enjoyed this class. Comfortable environment to ask questions and listen to others. We didn't even know what to ask, so helpful that others had done the work for us! Insurance: N Based on a Sept 2015 birth
  • Review for Jada Shapiro (lactation services) of Birth Day Presence

    I'd like to review and recommend Jada Shapiro, who is a lactation counselor CLC at Birth Day Presence, and in particular her in-home lactation services. My husband and I took her newborn care class prior to the birth of our daughter at BDP and found in very informative. But the best take away was she stressed that breastfeeding should not hurt, and if it does, call her and she can come do in-home counseling. About 4 days after our daughter was born, I was in so much pain from breastfeeding, I wanted to give up. Instead, I called Jada and she came by the next morning to help. The difference is night and day. I believe I called her a magician. After talking about what's been going on, we worked on new positions and proper latches and after just about 15 minutes, we had our first pain free feeding experience. I was so happy, I almost cried! I know that there are so many new moms out there in the same position and want to let you know that there is real help, right here in our neighborhood.
  • Based on a 2014 Birthing Experience

    Birthing Class Member Review: One of the most useful events was the teacher demonstrating what a contraction could look like or sound like. She reviewed the steps of labor in great detail. The other VERY useful experiences was trying different soothing methods. This helped so I knew what to ask for in the beginning of labor. (Review submitted via the 2014 Birthing Survey) Insurance details: No, but I was able to cover it with FSA funds.
  • Based on a 2014 Birthing Experience

    Birthing Class Member Review: We had a great experience with out class through Birthday Presence. Although we live in Prospect Heights, we went to the class offered in Soho because of schedules. I have heard excellent things about the Park Slope classes though! It was special for us as a couple to spend this time together preparing for labor and birth. We did use some of the techniques we learned in class and just enjoyed the lines of communication that it helped us find. (Review submitted via the 2014 Birthing Survey) Insurance details: No it was not. We paid out of pocket.
  • Based on a 2014 Birthing Experience

    Semi Private Childbirth Refresher Member Review: We felt like we needed a refresher, and were fortunate to be paired with another couple who were looking for the same thing - so we did a semi-private refresher. Jada Shapiro came to our apartment, and quickly understood that both couples were hoping for a natural birth second time around, so we quickly went over stages of labor, and then focused on pain management. We used a lot of Jada's techniques during my labor! My husband and I also had a chance to talk about what we were going to try and how we would help one another as best as possible. (Review submitted via the 2014 Birthing Survey) Insurance details: I didn't check... didn't know it could possibly be covered by insurance.
  • Based on a 2014 Birthing Experience

    Childbirth Prep, Breastfeeding, CPR Member Review: Our class helped make me feel more confident and prepared. They also helped us open the lines of communication between my husband and me, so we went into everything on the same page. The class was small and allowed us to meet other families. We did the weekend intensive and it was a good way to get a lot of information efficiently. I didn't feel burnt out or overwhelmed by doing it all in two days. (Review submitted via the 2014 Birthing Survey)
  • Based on a 2014 Birthing Experience

    childbirth Member Review: Our childbirth instructor, Jen Blaxall Buice, was wonderful. I'm really adverse to the airy-fairiness of a lot of birth talk, and I found Jen really practical and evidence-based while also (dare I say) empowering. She helped me figure out what positions, etc., best worked for me, gave us an idea of what tools we would have at our disposal in the hospital, and recommended my husband read a doula textbook, which helped him feel so much more prepared. Even though I ended up with a c-section, I'm so glad we took the class. (Review submitted via the 2014 Birthing Survey) Insurance details: no.
  • Based on a 2014 Birthing Experience

    Member Review: Wonderful! Our instructor was Caitlin FitzGordon and she is amazing. Highly recommend this class, as it provides a community atmosphere. (Review submitted via the 2014 Birthing Survey)
  • Based on a 2014 Birthing Experience

    Birthing Class Member Review: This class was great. We liked the instructor and really enjoyed getting to know all the couples in class. It was a really wonderful tool for preparing us for the last few weeks of pregnancy, labor, and delivery. I wish it had covered post-delivery and postpartum stuff:I felt completely prepared for everything that happened until the baby was delivered, and completely uninformed about everything that came after. (Review submitted via the 2014 Birthing Survey) Insurance details: It was not.
  • Based on a 2014 Birthing Experience

    Member Review: The class was very helpful for both my husband and myself. I feel like I learned a lot and drew on some of the techniques during labor (Review submitted via the 2014 Birthing Survey) Insurance details: Nope
  • Based on a 2014 Birthing Experience

    Member Review: The class was helpful in hearing more about the stages of labor an what to expect / questions to ask. The instructor was very nice and knowledgeable. The class focused on pain coping techniques for having a natural birth. I knew I wanted an epidural so the class wasn't that helpful for me. I would say if you are not interested in a natural birth then to take the abbreviated class rather than the four sessions. (Review submitted via the 2014 Birthing Survey) Insurance details: I didn't think to check if insurance would cover it.
  • Based on a 2014 Birthing Experience

    Birthday Presence Park Slope Studio 182 8th Ave (betw 1st and Garfield) http://birthdaypresence.com/ Childbirth Education Member Review: The Childbirth Education class, while comprehensive, was not as in-depth as my husband and I hoped it would be. It provided an overview of natural childbirth and coping mechanisms, and briefly touched on breastfeeding and c-section births. We left feeling we had only scratched the surface of the various birthing modes and would have benefited from another class to get into the specifics of each method. The class ended up feeling like more of a 4-week group therapy session - discussing our hopes and fears about birth and parenthood - which was fine but not necessarily what we were looking for in a childbirth ed class. (Review submitted via the 2014 Birthing Survey) Insurance details: No insurance coverage.
  • Childbirth classes

    We went to the ones held at Birth Day Presence https://birthdaypresence.com/. They have classes in Park Slope, but we went to the ones in Soho (was more convenient at the time). It was well worth it. Our instructor, Koyuki Smith, was totally on the same page as us. Everything she spoke about she backed up with evidence and sources and none of it was "because I say so". She promoted natural birthing as much as possible while not pushing it.
  • Re: Activities and CPR

    Also we took CPR at birth day presence and would recommend.
  • Re: Birthing class recommendatio

    We loved the birth day presence classes with Anna Merril. I recommend doing the multi-week series, you learn so much and meet a group of parents-to-be in your neighborhood. I'm still good friends with many classmates and my daughter is over 2.
  • (no subject)

    We LOVED Anna as instructor for multi-week series at Birth Day Presence. She's welcoming, supportive, even-handed, was a huge help to us with specific questions / issues about my pregnancy. The space was nice, and best of all we met couples who we've stayed friends with now that the kiddos are born & growing up....
  • (no subject)

    I just want to share and recommend an outstanding doula I worked with recently. We had the good fortune to work with Lila Barchetto from Birthday Presence for the birth of my daughter 3 weeks ago. Lila was present, caring, direct, reliable, effective, and funny...all at the right times:) My husband felt very supported by her and has said he's glad Lila was there for him, too. Feel free to contact me if you have any questions. September 2012
  • (no subject)

    We also took the childbirth class at Birth Day Presence (the weekend intensive class). Our class was taught by Megan Mehar and we would recommend trying to get into one of her classes. Our birth didn't go according to plans (as if any of them do...), but we understood what was happening at each step along the way and were armed with what questions to ask and strategies for coping and pain management. A lot of the class is directed at birth partners and what they can do to support their partner in labor which was incredibly helpful. I'm not sure we could have dealt with a long and complicated birth as well as we did if we hadn't taken the class. August 2012
  • (no subject)

    We loved the course at Birth Day Presence; our teacher was Anna, whom I highly recommend. We took a course over several weeks, but I believe they offer weekend intensives. As an unexpected side benefit, we are now friends with several of the other couples we met in our session--our kids have been playmates from birth. Anna was a warm and supportive teacher, and helped us immensely through our birth experience. August 2012
  • Birth Survey 2012

    Review Date: April 2012 REVIEW: Lovely place; great classes.
  • Birth Survey 2012

    Review Date: April 2012 REVIEW: I think the class more than anything helped me calm down about the birth and be mentally prepared. I'm not sure I used anything from the class. But I learned some things about birth that I didn't know. Jada is nice and knowledgeable, though if she didn't know the answer she would say she would follow up and then she wouldn't. She is certainly in favor of natural birth, or at least trying--if you know you don't want natural birth up front, this is probably the wrong class for you. INSURANCE ISSUES: I didn't even try.
  • Birth Survey 2012

    Review Date: April 2012 REVIEW: Although we very much liked the venue, and the ladies who run Birthday Presence certainly provide a lot of useful services in our neighborhood, and seem to be very kind people, we were rather disappointed in our childbirth class. We found the class to be rather too careful not to make us feel uncomfortable. We felt that the instructors glossed over the realities of childbirth in a way that actually made us rather more nervous. We also felt that we didn't get as many tools (practical or psychological) as we would have liked for dealing with labor pain, and that the class didn't really delve into the issues of fear around birth in a way that might have helped me personally. INSURANCE ISSUES: N/A
  • Birth Survey 2012

    Review Date: April 2012 REVIEW: The breastfeeding class gave me great information on getting the right latch. INSURANCE ISSUES:
  • Birth Survey 2012

    Review Date: April 2012 REVIEW: Pretty good. A little crunchy for my taste but, helpful to hear the information and meet others in the class. INSURANCE ISSUES: n/a - had to pay cash.
  • Birth Survey 2012

    Review Date: April 2012 REVIEW: We took the child birth education class at Birthday Presence and dropped out after 3 or 4 classes. It had a group therapy feel rather than an educational feel. My husband and I are both psychologists, so we aren't opposed to therapy, it's just that the class didn't offer what we were looking for. Plus, it was expensive. INSURANCE ISSUES:
  • Birth Survey 2012

    Review Date: April 2012 REVIEW: Really fantastic. The class was a little touch-feely -- in a great way, I thought, though it might be a bit much for some people - but Jada also had a terrific grasp on the empirical work that's been done on childbirth both in NY and elsewhere. I'd recommend this class very highly -- my husband and I both learned a great deal. INSURANCE ISSUES: I don't believe they take any insurance (or rather, I dont believe any insurance I know covers childbirth ed classes), but I'm not certain.
  • Birth Survey 2012

    Review Date: April 2012 REVIEW: This class was informative, but I don't think it helped me to realize just how important it is to insist on your preferences when you go into labor. It focused mainly on coping with pain, but could have been more helpful in terms of preparing for the birth experience even if you choose not to hire a doula. INSURANCE ISSUES:
  • Birth Survey 2012

    Review Date: April 2012 REVIEW: My husband and I took the childbirth preparation class at Birth Day Presence. Our instructor was Rosalie who was fantastic, and it was a great class I recommend to everyone. It puts all options on the table, just so you know what will be available even if you don't see yourself wanting them in advance. Initially I thought the price was a little high (it's over $300 if I recall correctly) but for what we learned, it was worth it. INSURANCE ISSUES: It was covered by our insurance.
  • Birth Survey 2012

    Review Date: April 2012 REVIEW: We completed a childbirth class with Caitlin FitzGordon at Birthday Presence in preparation for the birth of our son in March 2012. Caitlin was a great instructor and helped build a lovely sense of community in our class. We got to know many other couples along the way as we learned about all the ins and outs of labor and possible pain management techniques. The class was well structured and Caitlin was a great teacher and facilitator. I recommend the class if you are looking for a holistic approach to childbirth education-it is a multi faceted class that focuses on much more than the labor process and pain management. Ultimately what we learned in the class and most especially the birth stories of our classmates were integral to our labor. INSURANCE ISSUES: I was able to use my flexible spending account (FSA) funds to pay for the course (reimbursement)-so not covered by insurance, but paid with pre-tax money.
  • (no subject)

    I LOVED our classes at Birth Day Presence, Jada (owner and doula) ran it, she was phenomenal, informative, and super knowledgeable about all aspects of pregnancy, birth, and infancy (they also offer infant care classes as well as CPR and other stuff.. plus a PSP discount which is always nice) I can't recommend her classes enough! My husband and I left feeling comfortable and confidant in our knowledge and more like a team with a plan then two people who had just read a bunch and didn't know how to implement any of it.. we'll see how it goes in Oct! (Aug 2011)
  • Need rec for an inexpensive doula

    I worked with Anna Merri, one of the co-directors at birthday presence who helped match me with a doula in training (who then charges less in fees): http://birthdaypresence.net/
  • (no subject)

    we LOVED Birth day Presence. (Recommended, October 2010)
  • (no subject)

  • (no subject)

    I found our class at Birthday Presence very informative. I also took a great Infant Safety/CPR class there. (Recommended 3/10)
  • (no subject)

    We loved our CB ed class at Birthday Presence, in Park Slope. We also hired one of their doulas, Meghan Mahar. She was amazing. For me the class was extremely helpful and empowering, because it provided an excellent overview of all possibilities and techniques. (Recommended 3/10)
  • (no subject)

  • (no subject)

    My wife and I did Birth Day Presence, and we were overall pleased and felt we got the information we needed in a comfortable and relaxed environment. If you have specific questions, feel free to ask them. (Recomended 2/10)