50 States in 50 Days: Connecticut

Category: 50 States

Havona and the Stony Cooks strike gold again
Today’s Connecticut plate comes to us from Havona Madama and the stony cooks (who should form a band if they are not already). We have made great progress from last week with only 4 - count ‘em! - 4 states to go! Connecticut, a veritable Sybil of a state, is “the nutmeg state”, “the constitution state”,” the provision state”, the state where Lucy and Rickie moved when they left Murray Hill. Whatever you call it, Connecticut is both part of the New York Metro area and the Southernmost part of New England.
The name Connecticut comes from the Algonquian word "quinatucquet", meaning "upon the long river". It was first successfully settled in 1638 in what is now Hartford. Connecticut was one of the original 13 colonies and played an active role in establishing the federal government.
Connecticut is bordered on the south by Long Island Sound, on the west by New York State, on the north by Massachusetts, and by Rhode Island on the east. It is the 4th most densely populated state and has the highest per capita income of any state in the union though the city of Hartford has one of the lowest per capita incomes in the United States. Its economy is dominated by finance and the defense industry. Its agricultural output includes eggs, dairy products, cattle, shellfish and tobacco.
Some famous (and infamous) Connecticutians are Benedict Arnold, Nathan Hale, Eli Whitney, John Brown, P. T. Barnum, Harriet Beecher Stowe, Charles Ives, Wallace Stevens, Eugene O'Neill, Katharine Hepburn, Andy Rooney, Joanne Woodward, Mo Vaughn, Ralph Nader, Christopher Walken, Phil Donahue, Marlo Thomas, Mia Farrow, Jane Curtin, Patti LuPone, Meryl Streep, Michael Bolton, 50 Cent, William F. Buckley, Jr. and Glenn Beck.
Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin,Wyoming

Nancy McDermott